We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
629
Reviewed July 7, 2006

After a hard 2 hour plus drive up a gravel track in a vehicle that was not really suitable for this sort of drive, we arrived at this beautiful, giant log cabin. Unfortunately we only had two nights to enjoy this outstanding place and the full day we had at the resort it rained non-stop!

The room was surprisingly spacious with a double bed, single bed and sofa bed. The bathroom was a little small but quite well designed. Cleanliness and general housekeeping was of a very high standard.

The food was very nice, main course consising of a roast meat and vegetables. My wife is vegetarian and although the chef was not prepared on the first night, the second evening he prepared an individual quiche for her which was much appreciated.

This is a fabulous place for activities and we would definitely have made use of many had the weather been kinder. The heavy rain brought down many rocks and trees which made the trip down from Tyax more like 2.5 hours much of which was spent weaving in and out of the rockfall. We also noticed that some of the 'roads' had been closed.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2006

After the initial shock of the road condition from Lillooet (partial gravel track in places!), we arrived at this wonderful remote resort in the middle of the mountains. We had 3 nights with a lovely room and balcony overlooking the Lake.There was no coffee maker in the room but coffee and tea were always available in the lounge (even early morning before breakfast). We enjoyed the food even though choice was limited. We spent time walking , canoeing, playing tennis and riding, only having to pay for the riding. The staff were very friendly and the owner and his wife made us feel very welcome.
We drove into Goldbridge one afternoon(approx 20kms), which is worthwhile if interested in the goldrush. There is also a good tourist information centre and a general store plus petrol!
Next time would travel in a 4x4 not saloon! Would definitely recommend a visit to Tyax.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham, WA
12
Reviewed January 21, 2006

Tyax is a rejuvenating experience for those who want to get away for a weekend or a week. The amazing lake setting, activities, and hospitality is just the beginning at Tyax. Winter or Summer, Tyax is a great getaway for those who want to escape the busyness of the city life. The luxury options for travel from Vancouver are a great way to go via float plane or helicopter. I drove up from Washington State, and I'll surely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

I stuck my neck out on this, we took a 'standard' fly-drive tour itinery and modified it to include 2 nights here, the family mood would have been frosty if I'd been wrong. Fortunately, I wasn't. This was a major highlight of the trip, we even discussed a third night when all accommodation had been pre-booked.

Setting is spectacular beside the lake, the big log building & its lawns contribute to this.

Room was big, nice and simple decor, & the only place the boys each had their own bed, albeit one as a pull-out. We were on the back of the building, ask for a lake view room if available.

For the 'middle of nowhere', food and facilities were excellent. Dining was buffet style, up to 3 meals per day. We'd had a bad experience of this elsewhere but here it was nigh on exemplary - good food, good service (the Aussie lad doubling as barman was particularly good company), in a spectacular high ceilinged room.

Dining hours seemed restricted, by the second night has sussed out why and were one of the first in. After a good meal & wine, you then take canoes & go bear hunting..... No success, but the boys saw one our last morning - Blacks and Grizzlies all in the area.

'Things to do' are endless - canoes, boats free to guests so lots of time on the water; boys swam, we walked, all rode horses and we all felt we'd barely scratched the surface of what was on offer - though a lot of it is expensive.

Theres been a lot of comment about access. The roads in aren't easy, the 'good' one partially metalled, the other one (the forest service road) a very juddery gravel track. We managed both in a standard hire saloon, just allow time to take it slowly & enjoy views which coach parties won't see.

The resort wasn't perfect, some of the room fittings were starting to look shabby and refurbishment will soon be required to continue justifying the prices, but I'd like to think we'll be back. Christmas looked interesting....

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bermuda
12
Reviewed August 9, 2005

We visited Tyax resort with our 2 year old daughter during a tour of British Columbia. Unlike the previous reviewers, we loved the road over the mountains to reach Tyax from Whistler, we hired a 4x4 and it made the ride fun, if a little hairy when facing fast pick-ups coming from the other direction. The resort itself was probably top notch 10years ago but was in need of refurbishment, especially the games room. The view was beautiful and the rooms spacious and it was a lovely place to come to unwind for a couple of days. However, it was not suitable for a toddler. Activities included in the price ($160canadian/night - not cheep) were kayaking, row boats and pedalos, tennis courts (but not the racket and balls..) and horse riding for children - however after one ride on a tempremental shetland under our sole control (we are not used to horses...) was enough! The other activities were pricey and we felt that as the resort was so remote they could charge what they wanted as there was nothing else to do.

We opted for the all inclusive package as far as food was concerned and paid $70 a day, the food was good. There were not really enough waiting staff but those working were very good (although rushed off their feet!).

We actually wanted to leave the resort after 2 days to return to Whistler but would have had to pay for the third night we'd already booked.

Although we were not that impressed with the resort, I would recommend it for mountain bikers and walkers. My favourite experience was when the resort contacted a babysitter for us and we were able to take a beautiful mountain bike ride through the forest and up the mountain - armed with bear spray (unfortunately or maybe fortunately we didn't see any of the grizzly families). The climb (1/12hrs) was exhausiting but the zoom downhill made it all worthwhile. The float-plane ride and mountain-bike back is also supposed to be awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
14
Reviewed July 30, 2005

First and foremost, our family will make a return visit the Tyax Resort in the future. We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week visit once we got there (more on that later). This place is so peaceful and relaxing. The only sounds we heard were the occasional comings and goings of the resort's float plane or very small outboard motor fishing boats. This is because the resort is in a very remote location; hence, the time and effort required getting to it. But the scenery will bring to life the best calendar or postcard photos of snow-capped mountains reflecting in a clear mountain lake. We enjoyed our peaceful, post-breakfast morning canoe trips on the "glass-surfaced" lake, and our late morning and afternoon tennis matches. The tennis court is adequate with a slow playing artificial grass surface. (A hard court surface would likely not survive the winter/summer temperature variations, which is why all of the walkways are gravel.) Our three girls had a great time riding the horses, and knew all of their names after just one ride. They really enjoyed getting to know Alli, the resort’s wrangler. She took time to education them about horses and how to be safe around them. She was so good with them during our first ride that we had little concern with Alli taking them on a solo ride later in the week. The food was good, but perhaps on the pricy side (but then again we spent about the same on meals during one of our trips to Disney World). The barbeque cookout provided an opportunity for guests to visit with each other and our hosts, Gus and Marita, their sons, and the resort staff. Most guests were from European countries, followed by Canadians. Having lived ourselves in Europe several years ago, we enjoyed being in an international and multicultural setting. Our rental car drive from the Vancouver to Tyax took 5-6 hours (including meal/snack and “comfort” stops) given that we had to drive through the center of Vancouver, and endure road work delays along the two-lane Sea-to-Sky highway to Whistler. At Premberton, we took the Hurley River Road route (which is a Forest Service gravel road through Gold Bridge and only open during the summer) versus the route through Lillooet. Our Ford Crown Vic rental car really had no issue on the Hurley River Road, but an SUV would have been better. The car never hit bottom on the rough road, but we did have to go very slow as some points. On the return trip, we took the route through Lillooet, which added ~2+ hours to our trip back to Vancouver. The scenery was great, but given what we know now we would have taken the Hurley River Road. Traffic was very light along both routes.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2005

We recently returned from a one-week stay at Tyax, and it was outstanding in every respect. To start with, the setting is simply spectacular -- the beautiful lodge is on the shores of a secluded mountain lake, surround by snow capped mountains. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were large, clean, and very comfortable, and the balcony overlooking the lake provides a great view. The food was excellent, with a wide variety of home made treats (although spending a week at a place that makes six differnt types of cakes and pies every day is downright dangerous). There is plenty to do, including hiking, fishing, boating, and sports of every kind.

It was a perfect family vacation; we strongly recommend Tyax and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $204 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing