We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely remote location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

after reading other reviews we expected mediocre service and expensive food - which is weird because the service was exceptional as was the food- each employee treated us like honoured guests and each meal we had at the restaurant was wonderful- we took advantage of the float planes for access to mountain biking trails as well as went on a trail ride- we were there on Labour Day weekend which turned out to be their busiest ever so resort was full- only complaint was that a few of the other guests were up late and a bit noisy in the halls- nothing that a pair of ear plugs could not deal with though- as far as the access roads the recommended route from Pemberton is a rough road best done with a 4 x 4 and not that much shorter- consider instead the route through Lillooet- takes about an hour longer but scenery great and very few gravel sections

Room Tip: there is a suite with king bed + 2 singles for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    18
    3
    10
See reviews for
57
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Last month my partner and I stayed at Tyax for two nights. When we arrived we were greeted by an lovely and helpful young lady at the desk. The room was nice, the weather was decent however it was overcast one of the days so we decided to stick around the lodge. We very much enjoyed the spa, it was relaxing and the spa staff were very friendly giving us a tour upon arrival. We especially enjoyed sitting in the hot tub with such an amazing view. It was when we were finished we decided to head to the restaurant which is where the problems lie. We loved the food, hated the service. It took several minutes for us to get any service at all even though there were only two other tables sat in the restaurant. We strangely had the General Manager serving us- maybe due to being understaffed? He came up to us and asked "what you like". We seem to be more of an inconvenience than anything else. As he came up to the table we found him to be very rude. When asking for clarification on some of the menu items we were cut off several times throughout the conversation with the unhelpful response of we would enjoy everything on the menu, we found him to be very condescending. We also witnessed him shouting at the bar staff which definitely put a damper on the atmosphere. However the next night we had a different server who was lovely although we did notice that there was no music playing which we found rather strange for a restaurant. Overall we enjoyed the facilities and had a good experience minus our encounter with the manager on duty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Have been vacationing in the Goldbridge area for years and make a trip to tyax at least once a year. It's under new management which seems to be working as the rooms have been renovated and the food is much better. The area is unreal and the lodge is something to see. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you have good tires and 4x4 to travel over the Hurley road from Pemberton. Route 40 is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSteele2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We drove up to Tyax from Ladner and took as many of the backroads (Hurley Pass included) as we could. A bit hairy at times! This is a four x four SUV dream trip! The prize at the end is worth it!

The resort was friendly and clean. Our room opened out to the lake on the ground floor and we couldn't ask for a better spot! Sunset and breakfast with spectacular views with incredible peacefulness. This is a great location for rest & relaxation. Canoeing, hiking, cycling, horseback riding. There are also campsites on the grounds for those looking to "rough it" a bit - with amenities close by.

We stayed for 2 nights. I would describe the service laid back but attentive and have no complaints. All of our meals were absolutely delicious and I can say I am a bit of a foodie with a fussy palate. It was a pleasure to sit on the deck with a glass of wine and hear almost nothing.

My only regret was that we were unable to take the plane up to the glacier as it was having mechanical problems. Another time. You just can't beat it for BC wilderness with a bit of refinement.

Room Tip: Of course you should ask to be on lakeside. We liked being on the ground floor and sitting on the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmaxthebabycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We drove from Whistler, it took us four hours to get there via Lilloouet. The road was nice, partially unpaved and washed up but it was nice, we enjoyed. We were traveling from Barcelona (Catalonia - Spain) with our two daughters. We had two rooms (109 and 101) both with lake view, the rooms were big and comfortable. Unfortunately room 101 was located in front of the laundry and the noise of the washmachine was disgusting, we talked to the General Manager and they did not find any solution, they gave us a discount but what we didn't want a discount we wanted to get relaxed and it was impossible, when you got out of the room we found vacuum cleaner and all the stuff used to clean up the hotel, disgusting...the service was very bad, young people without experience, they didn't inform us about anything, sometimes rude. Having said that the location is unique, nice lake with kayaks, paddle surfing, canoes...the horseback riding was spectacular and the guide was very kind. They have also bikes, airplane...a lot of activities available. I would rate as a 5 star for the location and facilities and 1 star for the service, as an average 3 star...if you go avoid room 101 !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raimon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having booked a Canadian trip that was organised for us, I did Check out the hotels on trip adviser, the comments from people about this hotel said a rocky road to & from Tyax but well worth it when they got there. It took us 2 hours to drive up & over the Hurley, as the locals called it, it was like a dirt track but 100% worse. there wasn't a bit of the road that didn't have rocks in it & to be honest if we had know this we would not have drove all that way for a 2 night stay. there is nothing wrong with the Tyax in fact it was lovely, & it wasn't just getting there, after 2 Nights we had to dive down the other side of the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susybwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdjfkjsdhf
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Every aspect of this resort was fabulous. This is not a stuck up city property, but still manages to provide thoughtful, respectful, professional service without being obsequious or annoying. The staff is exceptional, and was able to adapt easily to the needs of my 5 year old to those of my 70 y/o blind father. The activities are perfect for the lake, the setting is typically BC-knock-your socks-off beautiful, and the building is understated, clean and attractive. The access via the Hurley FSR requires commitment, and 4x4, but it helps to keep out the riffraff.
Best holiday in years.

Room Tip: Go with the lakeside rooms, unless you're pounding yourself senseless on the trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Property: Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing