We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Nearby Hotels
Pemberton Hotel(Pemberton)
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pemberton Valley Lodge(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De Oro(Lillooet)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reynolds Hotel(Lillooet)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sweetwater Lane Farm B&B(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Log House Inn(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hitching Post Motel(Mount Currie)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Lillooet)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
120
53
20
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
53
20
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloat planehot tubtwo nightssteam roomspruce lakeremote locationgravel roadlake viewbritish columbiaan adventurebeautiful placetake your timefood was greatsnow capped mountainshour drivepool tablerooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 207 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Absolute stunning venue, worth the drive from Vancouver for sure. The room was spotless and everything looked great, but when we went for dinner, the kitchen seemed helpless in coping with the dinner crowd. Our dinners were scrumptious, but the wait was interminable. The next morning's breakfast took 45 minutes..... absolutely unacceptable,and after a brief chat with one of the guides/hosts, the breakfast was comped. Yes, they have a potential for a world class getaway resort, but boy, you have to keep your diners happy, especially when there is no alternative for miles. On a plus note, take the float plane trip for sightseeing or mountain biking..... worth every penny. we'll go back, but we'll definitely do our homework first vis a vis the kitchen situation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fresno888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After a 6 day backpack trip into a very remote area of the South Chilcotins Tyax Wilderness Resort was the perfect way to treat ourselves. We were very impressed with the renovations since we had last visited over 4 years ago. Our lakeview room on the first floor looked out onto the lovely front lawn and spectacular lake and mountains. The decor was tasteful and comfortable and the beds were heaven after 6 nights sleeping on a thermorest. The large soaker tub was also a treat. Delicious meals were served in an amazing high ceiling dining room overlooking the lake. We took advantage of the free canoes and paddled around the lake in the morning. All the staff from the front desk to the bartender were very friendly and professional a welcome change from our previous visit 4 years ago when the staff were unfriendly and uncaring. The new owners have done a fantastic job and if you're looking for a wonderful place to be pampered in the wilderness Tyax Resort is worth every penny!

Room Tip: It's well worth it to pay the extra for a lakefront room, the view is spectacular!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Just returned from Tyax where we stayed for 4 days. Initially when you arrive you are blown away by the resort, location and the utter tranquility! However, don't be fooled, its not as quiet as you would think. There is a campground beside the resort which seemed to be fill of screaming kids most of the day; and it was almost impossible to get away from. The room and resort were stunningly beautiful and I have no complaints at all about that. However, one night I was kept awake by adults who were clearly drunk, loud, slamming doors, running through the corridors, whistling etc; and the last door slammed at 3am. I did not feel comfortable talking to them myself and attempted to contact the front desk to deal with it. However, they close around 10am so basically you are hooped!! I talked to them in the am and her only reply was she would talk with the bartender. the next night it went on until midnight, still a little late for my liking. I really feel I shouldn't have had to pay for that night seeing as they weren't able to address the problem while its happening. The food was super, however, I think they really need to either have a larger menu to choose from or change the selections more often. It got a little 'old' by the 4th day. Housekeeping was generally acceptable, however, I put my dirty towels in the bathtub as they tell you to do if you want them changed, and the housekeeper just hung them back up, and they were clearly dirty. So, it's a lovely resort, but when asked if I would go back again, I probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinDou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Tyax. The hotel had only been open a few weeks for the start of the season and was still very quiet. Consequently we were given lake view rooms which were outstanding. The view of the lake and mountains was a treat to wake up to every morning.
The room was spotlessley clean, modern and well maintained whith very comfortable beds and pillows which were appreciated at the end of long active days.
We used the resorts kayaks which are free to use and spent hours paddling around the lake viewing the local wildlife.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and eager to please and the food was of a high standard.
The spa facilities are very good and we ended one day soaking in the hot tub which is situated on the grass in front of the lake - bliss!
I would also recommend the sea-plane flight over the glaciers - beautiful scenery.
It is true that the journey to Tyax along Carpenter Lake Road is a bit scary for those of a nervous disposition (as I am) but we took the drive carefully and it was well worth the journey to spend time in such lovely surrounding and in such a comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Splash out for a lake view room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

great setting, lovely chalets...but the care to summer guests left a bit to be desired....no followup once we checked in to see if things were ok, very hard to get a good map or sense of where hiking or different bike trails were at, as the focus is on the winter revenue stream. If the lodge truly wants to make summer guests want to return, they need to step it up on having staff available and well versed in the many many opportunities in the area to enjoy nature. the lodge is under reno, so hopefully most guests get better service under normal circumstances.
Cobwebs in the chalets but otherwise great...the canoes are pretty low end but thankfully are included in the rent.
was disappointed to make such a long drive into the "wilderness" only to find numerous cabins on the lake. Guess a person needs to do more research for a wilderness retreat!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SagebrushCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews