We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizzas”

Woodfire Restaurant & Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: West Coast cusine fused with Mediterranean flavours in a menu centered around the wood fired oven & grill, give Woodfire its own distinctive style & flavour. Professional catering service personally tailored to suit your needs, offering unlimited culinary possibilities. Available for any event large or small.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing pizzas”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A fantastic restaurant. Great service and a range of interesting pizzas. Dined with friends and we all agreed they were possibly the best pizzas we'd ever tasted.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank she57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
So nice to hear...thank you. We use Caputo flour imported from Italy for our pizzas. They have been making this flour for decades and it really makes a delicious crust. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    34
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza heaven”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Arguably the best pizza on Vancouver Island is on Gabriola Island. Thin crust, local ingredients creatively arranged, and a fabulous staff combine for a great night out. It really is worth the ferry trip. We make the trip from Nanaimo at least once a month.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spiinyynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and for the lovely compliments. We really appreciate you taking the journey over to dine at our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Rare to find a hidden gem, but we did. A day trip to Gabriola Island and the best pizza I have ever tasted.!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you very much. Really glad you enjoyed the pizzas so much and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share that with others on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable surroundings, tasty food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The menu here is quite diverse and everything we tried was good. Their house salad, in particular, is really delicious. Good pizzas that stood up cold 2 days later.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you so much. It's really nice to have thees compliments to pass on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Lovely ambiance and fantastic food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I came to the Woodfire with a group of friends and had a marvellous evening. The restaurant is beautiful, the food superb and the service warm and accommodating. My partner and I have different tastes and were pleased to discover that we could share a customized pizza that left each of us very satisfied. We'll be back again!

Carol G

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Woodfire Restaurant & Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Great to hear such a positive reveiw and thank you for taking the time to wrirte. Yes we love to be able to accomodate everyones tastes so there is never a problem customising a pizza...thank you for informing others of this option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodfire Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Woodfire Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing