We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at its Best...”

Woodfire Restaurant & Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: West Coast cusine fused with Mediterranean flavours in a menu centered around the wood fired oven & grill, give Woodfire its own distinctive style & flavour. Professional catering service personally tailored to suit your needs, offering unlimited culinary possibilities. Available for any event large or small.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food at its Best...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We are boaters and cruise to Gabriola Island, Silva Bay Marina, every second weekend in the summer. We have friends who have built a house on Gabriola and they introduced us to Woodfire Pizza & Pasta. Their pizza are above average... they are just awesome and so many to choose from. If you are vegetarian you have loads of choices. My husband decided to have something off the Main Menu instead of the Pizza last weekend. He was not disappointed. Whilst we both absolutely love the pizza's and we have sampled each and every flavour I must admit his pasta was to die for. Well done Woodfire, you have brought a GREAT restaurant to this beautiful Island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    35
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The best restaurant on the island without a doubt! I was there in Aug 2012 and was blown away with the quality of the food. I had a pizza that was baked in a woodstove and had the most fabulous flavour. I also had their cheesecake which was so fresh it must have been made that day. It had wonderful caramel sauce on it and weeks later I am still craving another slice. If you are visiting Nanaimo it is well worth a ferry ride to the island just to eat here. Beautiful professional decor, great service and mouth watering food. Yum!! Wish I didnt live in Ottawa so far away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Verna W”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent food, service and prices. Nothing tastes as good as fresh food cooked over an open wood flame fire.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Verna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited Gabriola in July 2012- Best pizza we ever tasted, definitely recommend it to those who visit the island. Our waitress was extremely friendly and gave us prompt service. Loved the decor and how clean the place was as well. Will be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceberg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food was nice, service was unbelievably terrible”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I made a reservation for my boyfriend and i for our anniversary and asked the lady if it was possible that we could get a nice seat, and they kindly took down my request. we took a 44$ ferry from Nanaimo just to go to this restaurant; it looked neat online! We arrive, and i really appreciate the ambiance and decor. After waiting for a very long time, we settle that i have a reservation. We are then told we will just have to wait in the lobby (as tables sit unoccupied,) because they don't want to overwhelm their kitchen with too many tickets... My boyfriend and i ask if we can just take our table and they can tell us when they are ready, and the woman agrees and seats us in a nice booth. Five minutes later a new woman appears at our table, and says without announcement, and in a raised voice "So i know it is your anniversary, but i will be putting you in another table, because there are just too many people to seat tonight." The entire restaurant was staring at us. it was embarrassing and unprofessional. had the server kindly said 'hey guys, il be your server tonight, would you mind if i moved you to another table? That way i can seat more people and serve you better.' We did not appreciate being treated as an inconvenience.
After we move, dropping what has just happened, We say we are ready to order. The server says for sure i will be right back, and disappears for almost 10 minutes before returning. After we order, a girl comes along with fa cassia bread and asks if we want a piece. We say definitely and i ask if it is house made, it looks delicious! She pauses and answers with " That's funny, i always get asked that and i always ask the kitchen but can never remember!" .. So no then.
The food was tasty, thank goodness. A heads up, they waaaay over-do their shredded basil on their pasta. And their home fries are great, if you love potato slices covered in seasoning ( i actually do, but he could hardly eat one piece!)

I apologize for the detail! But after spending 80$ for the experience, and being treated like an inconvenience since we walked in the door, i will not be going back to this place. Maybe if it wasn't for this one server, we would have been able to see past it. At least the other girls still smiled once in a while!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoaster654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodfire Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Woodfire Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing