We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”
Review of Twin Beaches B&B

Twin Beaches B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gabriola Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Beaches B&B
Ranked #10 of 16 Gabriola Island B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Welcome”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited Gabriola as the last stage in a three week trip to Canada this summer.We had built the trip around a family wedding and wanted to see the Rockies ,Vancouver and Vancouver Island as well.Combine this with visiting friends along the way and we had a lot to fit in.We decided to spend our last 2 nights at Twin Beaches and were not dissapointed.Shaun and Jo were so wecoming ,helping us with our plans,meeting us from the ferry showing us around the island and even taking us out for the day on their lovely boat(a lovingly restored trawler) called Fraser!
Twin Beaches is a lovely house in the forest and a short walk from two very atmospheric beaches,where the sea carves the most amazing shapes in the rocks and its so peaceful!Our accomodation was far more spacious than we expected and everything was thought of for our stay.Our accomodation comprised a very comfortable double bedroom,shower room,kitchen and a lounge area leading out into the garden.All areas were clean and everything looked new.There was also a sofa bed in the lounge and bunks so it would be great for a family as well.
Jo and Shaun were great hosts and so friendly,dont miss Shauns workshop and gallery and the local artisan market!
Viv and Tony Triptree

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our hosts Shaun and Josephine have created a very welcoming and comfortable space for their guests. We thought we were getting a room (as is typical with B&Bs), but were happily surprised with our very own self-contained garden suite. We had our own kitchen, which was fully equipped with all the kitchen gadgets and appliances needed; our own living room with a widescreen TV, complete with a booklet containing a wide range of movies; wifi, the works! There was even a range in the living room so you can control your own heat.

We found it to be a very quiet, relaxing place and were able to move at our own pace. The hosts weren't set up to do a cooked breakfast, so we can't review that. They did, however, supply us amply with all kinds of breakfast food and beverages. We were quite fine with assembling our own breakfast anyway as we aren't exactly early morning risers.

Our host Shaun kindly picked us up from the ferry as we were on foot and gave us a lot of very insightful and helpful information about the island and the islanders.

If you're travelling with children, this B&B is able to accommodate them, and does so happily.

Twin Beaches earns its name by being within walking distance of the Twin Beaches. In fact, this B&B is surrounded on all sides by beaches, all of them a short walk away.

Before you go, be sure to have Shaun give you a tour of his gallery where he displays his handmade birdhouses. They are absolutely delightful!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin-Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Twin Beaches accommodation is a holiday suite that was very comfortable for two of us. It is an ideal place for small families.

The interaction with the genuinely friendly hosts made the stay even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was our first ever stay at a private home B&B and these people went above and beyond to make it a great experience. The accomodation was very comfortable, very clean, and very inviting. Shaun and Josephine are awesome hosts and make you feel at home immediately while still allowing the privacy to enjoy ourselves. The suite is very nicely laid out and lacks nothing in the way of ammenities. We were supplied with more than ample information about the area and local sites, restaurants and markets. The breakfasts were first class and have that extra family friendly atmosphere that you just can't get at a restaurant. We would definately recomend this great B&B to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a lovely time. Thanks to our hosts, Josephine and Shawn for making us feel welcome and providing so many fantastic tips to the sites on this wonderful island!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emily e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

You don't have to look any further if you are looking for a place to stay on beautiful Gabriola Island. We stayed for two nights in July (2011) before traveling to Vancouver for two more nights in the city. The suite was perfect for us: spacious, comfortable and nicely designed. There is a full kitchen and a private entrance so you can have complete privacy. Josephine and Shaun are very hospitable and welcomed us into their home. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. If you have children you will be more than pleased. Josephine gave our son extra attention and surprised him with toys at breakfast (he was 15 months at the time). The bunk beds are great for older children, too. The master bedroom was very comfortable. We felt right at home. Josephine and Shaun helped us figure out the ferry schedule upon our departure. They couldn't be more accommodating. We had a great time at Twin Beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdxbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Gabriola Island in June. Our two nights at the Twin Beaches B & B added to our get-away experience. The suite was very private and had everything that we needed for our stay. There were only two of us using the accommodation but it certainly would have worked well for up to five people. The location was ideal since it was close to two of the nicest beaches on Gabriola. Josephine created two wonderful breakfasts for us and was able to give us lots of information about the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 919Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twin Beaches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Beaches B&B

Property: Twin Beaches B&B
Address: 71 Decourcy Dr, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gabriola Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gabriola Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened, family run B&B catering for visitors to Gabriola Island. Our West Coast style home is surrounded by majestic trees, on a peaceful peninsula, and just 300 yards from two of the of the most beautiful beaches in the Gulf Islands. We particularly welcome families with children; your accommodation here is a clean, warm, self contained suite, with its own entrance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing