We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views but course is tough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furry Creek Golf and Country Club

Furry Creek Golf and Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Furry Creek, considered BC's most scenic golf course, delivers an unforgettable experience with its breathtaking beauty, dramatic play and first-class facilities. This par 72, 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Muir Graves and built in 1993 offers panoramic ocean views and encounters with abundant wildlife.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing views but course is tough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Furry Creek has some of the most spectacular views you will ever see, the scenery from a number of tees/greens is simply stunning. Now for the golfing experience...I am a weekend golfer and this course is way beyond my ability level. I lost a dozen golf balls and was reduced to playing my 6 iron off many tees or the loss count would have been higher. There are some really challenging holes that are fair, but there are an equal number that are plain impossible for a hacker like me. If you are a low handicap/scratch golfer this course is likely a blast but if you are a 15 or higher be prepared for a long frustrating round (bring your camera and take pictures of the group - you will remember the scenery and forget the 110/125 on your score card).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Poco4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    7
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Awful excuse for a golf course bordering on the absurd! Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Recently played this debacle as part of our rota of courses on one of our yearly golf trips. A number of descriptors come to mind when thinking of this course and none are good. A number of fairways on long par 4s and par 5s with fairways about 30 yards wide with thick forest on either side! Ludicrous! You have to hit 5 and 6 irons off a majority of the tees including par 5s, which in my opinion is not enjoyable. Most of the greens are small as well with many Swales and crazy breaks in them. A number of holes have ridiculous elevation changes both down and up. GPS in carts didn't function properly and it is easily the worst layout of a golf course I have ever seen with numerous criss crosses over the same couple of bridges throughout the round and distances that seemed like half mile between some holes and tee boxes. Easily the most annoying and just plain stupid golf course I have ever played and I have played many. Save your money and head straight to Whistler to play Nicklaus North, Whistler GC, Chateau Whistler or Big Sky. This place is a joke! The most gimmicky and ridiculous golf course in Canada! Given the difficulty level, crazy layout and absurd elevation changes it takes an eternity to play too. We took almost 6 hours and the course did not appear to be even close to full.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Quebec
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spectacular views on a great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I golfed Furry Creek on June 4th. This course is noting short of spectacular. It has great views and was in fantastic shape. It's not an easy course but if you keep it straight you will do alright. The drive to the course from Vancouver was equally breathtaking as you go along the ocean. I reccomend trhis course to anyone looking for a scenic place to play a round.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but not a regular course.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

First off, when you stand on the first tee, you get a view that is spectacular. The first tee off is from a high perch, and a 3 wood will get you to a good second shot.

This course has some great views, and if you are a non local, it's something to see. There are several holes with the great back drop of the ocean and islands.

The only draw backs is that you are on a mountain, so some holes are stupid. Like a par five dogleg left where after your first shot you have to lay up because your third shot is a straight up 100 foot cliff shot that is tough to hit.

Their signature hole is a par three lisland green which is my favorite in Vancouver. Tough hole, but the view is impressive.

Service, they are on the ball. They really treat you like a resort course. Friendly, and make you feel welcomed.

Price, for the views its excellent. You can get some good deals if you foot the website for bookings.

Just don't play the course after a week of rain, as the ball will plug and it's tougher to play.

Helpful?
Thank TrentP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Fantastic golf on the side of a mountain with scenic views. Very challenging but you will have a great day of golf

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank food4u22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furry Creek Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing