We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refuse to go there again”
Review of Hungry Jack's

Hungry Jack's
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Enderby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Enderby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“refuse to go there again”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Don't know many lunch places that close before their state closing times. Was going to go there for lunch only to have the door shut in my face, even though it was not closing time!!
The few times they are open, the service is rude and forgettable. Decor is poor and shabby. Will never go there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank earthling67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry J, Owner at Hungry Jack's, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Sorry to hear that you missed us. I do believe the sign was turned to closed, and the out door sign had been brought in. We do not post defintive hours on our sign (they say 2ish during the week and 1:30ish on Saturdays) We do this so that we can close the doors when it is that time (ish) and we have no customers. Anyone in, is in, but anyone wishing to then eat is unfortunately too late. This is due the fact that, if you come in at 1:20pm on a Saturday afternoon...you will be nowhere near finished by 1:30. We would be serving you, making your food, waiting for you to eat, clearing, waiting for you to digest, waiting for you to pay, and before you know it...its 3pm. We have now been unable to begin our closing for over an hour due to the fact that you came late. Hungry Jacks is run by one couple. One. That means that at 6am, 6 days a week, 52 weeks of the year, one couple is getting ready to open. That same couple is still there at 3-4pm cleaning down and prepping for the next day. Thats approx 10 hours a day, 6 days a week. Thats 60 hours a week bare minimum (thats without the extra 4-5hrs at the end of a 10hr day once a week to get supplies from the wholesalers).
Now, when a long weekend comes along, and we have had one of the busiest days of the year, (by 11:30am I might add) and we make the tough decision to close 20mins early so that we can enjoy some time with our family and each other (and celebrate getting 2 whole days off in one week) does that really warrant a scathing review on Trip Advisor? Really?
Our decor could do with a little paint job and ok maybe the flooring needs to be replaced. But with the schedule already stated above, when do you suppose we do this, to be able to please you? I guess that would leave either A. work throught
the night or B. close. Due to the fact that we need to sleep, A is not a wise option. Option B however, would mean major loss of earnings, and at the price we put out our food, and the tiny profit margin that entails, I'm afraid that would leave us no alternative but to increase prices to our customers. So as the majority of our customers seem quite happy with the status quo.....I think we'll just leave it at that.
As for the service....We are of the opinion that everyone should be nice. We are nice to you, we expect nice in return. It doesn't matter if you got out of bed on the wrong side and slipped on your way to the bathroom....we will be nice to you, and you should be nice to us. If our 5:15am start to the day wasn't perfectly sweet, we still smile and are nice to our customers.
Many times everyday when we have flipped the sign to closed, pulled in the patio furniture, turned off the lights and are finally sitting to rest and eat, we have people come up to the door, read the closed sign, go to the patio door and come right on in. Heck, we've even had people turn the sign back around..or even undo the stacked patio furniture. We have people shout at us for closing! Can you imagine for just one second, how frustrating that is at the end of a long hard day....just because we weren't there to serve them at their convenience. So forgive us if we did not apologies profusely when you came into our restaurant (passed the closed sign) but we just wanted to take an early break.
Something else to consider when somewhere is closed unexpectedly...maybe, just maybe there is a damned good reason. You just don't know, after all even us mere service industry workers are also human.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Best breakfast as voted by many people in the Okanagan Valley. Wonderful omelettes. Owner very personable and friendly, great guy. Amazing prices. Not open for supper though. Open early.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkimery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry J, Owner at Hungry Jack's, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks and we are so glad you enjoyed us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value, homespun, 'kind of a joint' in a good way”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lots of good food for very reasonable price. Excellent value and tasty food, not gourmet, just good ole grub. Service is up and down, but it's not that kind of place, it's about cheap, good and reasonable food and tasty.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Promart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry J, Owner at Hungry Jack's, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks! We like to keep things simple and good and at a price for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jack has lost the edge”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Hungry Jacks has won a lot of deserving awards in the past, but that was then, this is now. Service at Jacks is severely lacking, they prefer to do the minimum amount and don't even check to make sure things are fine and inquire as to whether you need something else.
The food is still tasty though, but the menu remains the same.
Jack also shows a lot of arrogance, closing whenever he feels like it, closes during busy times in town while he goes on vacation etc, yet he expects the crowds to flock back when he returns. I am not surprised to find it less than half full at lunch time these days.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Price16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry J, Owner at Hungry Jack's, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you where not happy with us on your recent visit. During busy times we are not always able to return to ask if you require anything else. We do hope that if you are in need of something, or that if something is not to your liking that you would bring it to our attention. If not then we can only assume that everything is to your liking.
As far as showing arrogance in closing early and taking time off, we work to our posted hours. As a family run business we work a minimum of 60 hours a week to run our cafe. Although our hours are 7am - 2pm (ish) 6 days a week, many many more hours are involved in running a cafe during non operational time. Most days we work from 6am until 4pm, cleaning and preping. On the other days we are there until much later with purchasing and stocking. We choose our closing times to suit the productive times of our business.
We have taken 10 years of experience to know when is cost effective for us to open and close. This helps us to keep our costs down for the customers as we are not wasting revenue on staff etc. during quiet times. We also find it very important to be home for our children after school.
As to your issue with us taking vacations, we too are entitled to some time off. This is never taken lightly as we, like others whom are self employed do not get vacation pay. We have a family and this must come first. As with most families, we too enjoy spending time together. The fact that we run a cafe should not mean that this is not allowed. We do not "expect crowds to flock" we never have. We work hard to earn those customers and are completely aware that without them we have nothing. We do are utmost to offer good food, value, quality and service to each of our customers and strive to continue to do so. We are not a large franchised business that cares only about profits. We run our cafe with our heart and put our family and the families of our employees first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had Lunch here on Thursday with some collegues wow Excellent value for money, fresh Roast chicken (local) , Waitress was very freindly and made me feel special lol.
Coffee also local I recommend the roast chicken sandwich on Russian rye!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank feedme2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry J, Owner at Hungry Jack's, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Glad you noticed the local....we try to keep everything as local as we can. Our chickens are from Enderby (can't get much more local lol) and our coffee is the wonderful Cherry Hill Coffee in Kelowna...simply the best ;) Thanks and we really hope you get back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Jack's also viewed

Enderby, Okanagan Valley
 
Enderby, Okanagan Valley
Enderby, Okanagan Valley
 
Enderby, Okanagan Valley
Grindrod, British Columbia
 

Been to Hungry Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing