We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guanranteed no return visitors stay here. Badly Need Service Training !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Guanranteed no return visitors stay here. Badly Need Service Training !!”
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Let's start with the good.
It's a fabulous location, it's beautiful - but what resort in this part of the country is not.
The rooms are decent, fairly new, have charm, beautiful views and decent amenities.
Usual nice resort stuff.

The bad - The service- the costs.
Bring your wallet... they pinch you for everything you got. I'm surprised they don't charge for parking in the forest.
The staff for the most part - not all - is unfriendly, rude and simply uncaring.

Activities - Cash not an option - Bring your AMEX. The items listed on the daily activities list include $700 per person plane rides, $400 2 hr boat rides, $60 Kayak rentals and nothing for free or reasonable charge. (These are not exact costs... but you get the idea - it's not even relatively reasonable)
$3 for a drop of coffee with no creme, and for sure no smiles.
Complimentary coffee in room - but only Decaf - no standard stuff found anywhere.
We did not even eat there or look at the menu, as I would rather drive for 1 hr to eat somewhere else than give them anymore of my $ for the service I got.

No phones in the room and no cellular service. - Now to make calls - bring your Visa or MC to the front desk and use the $10 shared phone to call an operator and fend for yourself.
As I was looking to make a LD call I saw a phone on the reception desk that was sitting there, thinking maybe it was for guest use as the instructions on the communal phone were confusing at best, I took the liberty to pick it up and make a call. I was rudely int erupted during my call as the girl got back to the front desk and told me - This is a PRIVATE phone, please get off. I quickly wrapped up my call and was asked - Who will be paying for this call. I had a bit of a confusing dialog with her that made no sense and simply told her i'm sure they could trace the call and cost and send me an invoice and left the front desk area a little confused as to how a place like this could treat PAYING GOOD MONEY GUESTS as crappy as i was just treated. - Like a 5 year old in a candy store.
Free internet - yeahhhh - Wait - it's a $10 a month dial line that loads 1 page per 5 mins. Not surprising.
Come on now, how much is even a flat no limit long distance plan now a days - $50 ?

I did not mind the price we paid for the rooms. ($200+ a night), but come on with the pinching of my pockets.

Advise to the management - Buy some $150 bikes and let the visitors use them. - That would be a simple alternative to expensive activities.
Canoes ? - Kayaks - Boat - it's a minimal investment that would have huge upside on how much "fun" can be had at reasonable costs.
Get some phones in the rooms, or an alternative to your desk side loaner.
Hey - maybe even the phone company could install you a free pay phone outside..

Complimentary coffee ? - Wait, you would be losing over $1000 in annual revenue.

In sum, it's a beautiful spot, relatively reasonable rates, but the sour taste left in your mouth from the penny pinching and snobby staff makes you realize that likely ANY resort in that area could succeed.
It's obvious that enough first time travelers keep this place afloat, as i doubt anyone would rather return than take their shot at another one of the many beautiful places around there.
- Not a kid friendly place - again, unless you have an AMEX on file.

Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank concordia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    66
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
150
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our hopes were high and the website was amazing. From the moment we arrived till our departure both the staff the management and the restaurant treated us in a rude manner. The food was mediocre at best and very over priced. The service was slow and clearly understaffed. Its a shame that such a gorgeous place has people who don't take the time to really make the experience special. Just because this lodge is so far out there doesn't mean that they should operate at sub standard levels without the same review.I felt inclined to review because I checked the site before booking and found it to be misleading and quite the opposite of the truth. Hopefully I can save some others the disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank waste0ftime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We spent two nights here on our honeymoon. It really is very remote, which is special, though the individual lodges all seem to face on to the access roads / footpaths which mean that people are walking / driving past all day long and this somewhat spoils the privacy of the location. The restaurant is good, but incredibly expensive. we stayed in seven places in British Vancouver and this was the highest priced restaurant...which would have been fine if there had been another option, but the only other restaurant is in a little pub down the road that was packed to bursting when we tried to go there for a meal.

The scenery is wonderful and there is a pile of wildlife surrounding the lodge. A couple of km from the front door we came across a black bear loitering on the side of the road, having breakfast we watched seals play in the inlet and there is a stack of birdlife - bring your binoculers. We also went for a night time kayak with a guide which was magic - phospheresence all over the place which was superb.

The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable, but we had to keep the blinds closed when we were in the room as it was bang on the access road, which was a shame. I believe the ocean view rooms might be better in this respect.

I think this place will keep evolving and if they can sort out the price of the restaurant (or provide a basic kitchen so people have a choice) this would be a huge plus point.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9april9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The setting is beautiful - mountains, trees, flowers, gazing out on the water below. Folks in our party enjoyed the guided kayak tour and hiking to the rapids, and except for one unfriendly waiter the staff was friendly just seemingly way over worked and understaffed. It took a very long time for dinner to be served and a couple dinners weren't cooked. One person didn't want to wait any longer so ate what was possible, the other sent it back for another half hour wait. Returning to our rooms after dinner we discovered there was no water and upon waking the next morning that was still the situation. No one from the lodge took the time to go to rooms and notify the guests of what was going on and in fact the only person around in the morning was a person working in the kitchen who said it would probably be back in an hour and it was too early to call someone in to deal with the problem.. When we checked out later in the day we received profuse apologies by a person at the front desk but no offers of compensation or discount. This is supposed to be a luxury resort lodge and prices itself accordingly - total failure in that regard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This is a very, very good hotel in a lovely setting, overlooking the waterways and islands of the sunshine coast. Our room was an ocean view suite - 500 sq feet, a great view and a large balcony (three times larger than those at the Wickanninish Inn, by way of context).

It's not luxurious: no marble bathrooms or anything (no telephones in the rooms, no air conditioning, either - not that the latter mattered as the breeze through the fly screened windows was fine), but it is very, very comfortable.

In terms of public areas, there's a huge dining hall in reclaimed wood, in the log cabin style, a huge outdoor deck, a hot tub, a huge and comfortable guest lounge.

The various events on offer - kayaking or sightseeing in a zodiac, mainly - were really excellent. I'd strongly suggest you go on the phosphorescence kayaking trip, as that was really special.

What stops this being a truly great place is the staffing. Maybe they are cutting back as so many other hotels are right now, but the restaurant service was incredibly slow (think two and a half hours for dinner), albeit delivered with sincerity and enthusiasm. The food was better than you would get at home, but not absolutely top notch.

Even with this drawback, it's worth visiting this place, as they have the blend of space, location, activities and atmosphere just right.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at West Coast Wilderness Lodge. This is a fantastic property with views that you cannot imagine. At breakfast we had a Bald Eagle fly past our table (twice)!. Our ocean view suite looked right out to the inlets and was well worth the price. The food was good, however a more diverse or changing menu would be better. the staff (especially Paul, Tara and Patrick). There are several little villages closeby to explore. YOU MUST go on the Princess Luisa tour (zodiac) Paul is the owner and is very interesting because of his knowledge of the area and the nature that abounds. Treat yourself to a few days of R & R and Nature along the beautiful BC Sunshine Coast!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge this summer, with my two girlfriends. We were looking for a relaxing vacation that got us out of the city but still allowed luxury. The lodge offered everything we needed, its location in a romote town in the wilderness, was surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery British Columbia has to offer. Our Rooms were fabulous, considering it is located in the woods the rooms were astounding. Beautiful hardwood floors, the beds were soft and inviting, the whole room captured the essence of summer and its relaxing atmosphere.
While we were there we dined at the restaurant for three dinners and two breakfasts. The dinners were amazing and the staff were inviting and friendly. By the end of the trip we knew all the wait staff and they treated us with utmost care and respect. I recommend any seafood dish off of teh menu, they are all fresh and perfectly prepared. The breakfasts were elaborate and delicous, or simple and satisfying. The menu offered a wide variety of food depending on how you feel.
We loved the location with its lakes and trails we really felt we adevntured into the wild, but still had an excellent sleep at night. The Lodge is a fabulous place to stay with a friendly and effecient staff who are filled with knowledge about activities, food wine and how to have a great time. We all truly enjoyed our stay and we are looking to make another trip this summer.

  • Liked — The location, staff and food
  • Disliked — the drive out there, i get car sick
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LouiseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
316 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
128 reviews
15.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Property: West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing