We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views to relax into”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights enjoying the sunshine and rain, tidal flows, and wildlife viewing from our lovely deck. The king bedroom felt very new and comfortable with a soft love seat to sink into and a high bed with nice pillows and comforter to snuggle under. We did block the east window with an extra pillow so we could sleep in a bit later on our second night. We did a package with tour up Princess Louisa Inlet and had breakfast and dinner coupons. We highly recommend the boat launch for the magical scenery. You can ask the kitchen to prepare a lunch then make use of the picnic tables at the provincial park by the waterfall. Do take your own binoculars to enjoy the view in your room.
Minor dissatisfaction with the shower as there is no shelf nor soap dish so we ended up with the soap and shampoo on the edge and floor. Also the shower is really tight. I did discover the rain shower head could be adjusted which allowed me to be in there without being in a downpour the whole time on the second day. The big bathtub looked nice - if only it had a handheld shower - I'd be super happy.
As dinners were included we ate here too. Breakfast offerings were big plates with lots of food. We never got close to finishing. The yogurt and granola was delicious! As was the special omlet. We enjoyed the steak dinner. It would have been nice to have some nightly specials as the menu was a bit short on options. Nice desserts. No draft beers yet but they said once it gets busier they will have. Please consider the wonderful beer from Townsite Brewing in Powell River as an alternative to the macro brews you have.
We didn't make use of the spa. Perhaps next time.

Room Tip: Guessing the best would be upstairs 601 or 603 full views on the ends of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM_Borowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

My cousin just got married here and we were fortunate to be able to attend the wedding. It was quite possibly the most beautiful wedding I have been to - not because it was terribly fancy or lavish - but rather, because the WCWL has a splendid setting, a kitchen that knows how to cook, rooms that are cozy and wonderful (especially the beds), and a plenty of activities to keep a big, active family content.

Stay at this hotel if you want peace, quiet, beauty, a sense of place and a sense of luxury without a lot of "la-ti-da". It feels as though you are at the end of the earth here (in the most wonderful way) and boy was it nice to experience this. The view from the main lodge is sublime, the zodiac boat rides are a rush, kayaking here is super and looking at the tide pools is memorable beyond memorable. We even hiked with our kids on the Skoocumchuck Rapids trail and were gifted with the sight of seals surfing in the rapids - a joy to see nature in action.

We travel a lot, we stay in lots of places, this is a very special place, very private and peaceful. One could write a book in the peace here or just have a day or two away from the madding crowds of the busier world. Even the forest view rooms are nice and cozy. You simply can't go wrong here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The suites are bigger if you need stretch out space. The rooms that face the water have amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you truly want an escape from the hustle and bustle, this place is for you. Only 1-1/2 hours from Langdale ferry, this seaside resort truly has the best view of the Sechelt Inlet. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The Inlets Restaurant staff were friendly and accommodating. The restaurant overlooks the spectacular views of ocean and the mountains.
It would be nice if the rooms had WiFi, but there is access in the restaurant. You will be transported to the past, as there is no cell phone coverage there either....totally relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had dinner at the inlets resteraunt previously and decided it would be a great place to stay and was not disappointed.
Took the in laws there for a 3 night stay, on arrival was upgraded to ocean view as it was slack season. Views from balcony stunning and probably worth the price alone.
Bed huge and very comfortable standard of housekeeping etc very good.
Views from patio whilst dinning exceptional and standard of meals etc very good.
Special note must be made of the following staff who were exceptional whilst we were there. And I apologise for not remembering their names.
The young lady waitressing on the evening who was very good as well as the the young French guy doing the morning shift who again was very good. Finally Catherine who checked us in and took us canoeing who was very patient with us and my in laws.

Room Tip: Ocean/inlet views worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked the West Coast Wilderness Lodge for our wedding site unseen and our faith was pleasantly rewarded! We could not have picked a better venue or had a better staff to work with on our special day.

Besides the gorgeous views and wonderful rooms, the team that works there is spectacular. George was our saving grace the entire time. His humor and sincerity helped keep us calm and you can tell he absolutely loves his job. He made sure everything was perfect for our wedding, even though one of my biggest fears (rain) happened just before everything was about to begin. Everyone rallied together to prop up umbrellas and cover chairs to keep our guests and wedding party dry.

The food was amazing and fresh, and having the entire lodge to ourselves made our party feel even more intimate and cozy. We had the side deck for our welcome BBQ and could not have asked for a better meal and atmosphere to have our first night all together. We recognized some of the staff from our first visit to the lodge, and everything really does have a family feel to it.

Another perfect example of the staff's passion for making everyone happy: We had a fire in the fire pit the night before our wedding, and it started to rain. Out of nowhere, one of the bartenders drove up and lugged over a giant (and heavy!) umbrella to help keep everyone dry. It definitely made our night, and helped keep the party going!

The activities the lodge provides are amazing as well. We kayaked with Kathryn on our first visit and it was a surreal experience. This time around we did a zodiac tour of Princess Louisa Inlet with Paul and saw some of the most beautiful scenery we have ever seen.

We both felt like everyone there was part of the wedding, and we are so happy they will be part of our memories. We could not be happier with our choice to get married here and share this experience with our friends and family.

Room Tip: It is completely worth it to splurge for an ocean view suite! Waking up to the peaceful view first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for our friends wedding and were really surprised about the area and how gorgeous it is. The Lodge has a great view of the Inlet and the deck is just amazing. There is also a area down at the water with a huge fire pit for smores and parties.

The service there is outstanding, everyone tried their best to accommodate everyone's needs and there were enough people around that weekend to take care off. :-) The weather wasn't as nice and they really did their best to keep everyone dry as best as they could. The Lodge is really a great place for parties and weddings, there is the restaurant upstairs and a party room on the lower floor.

We had one of the simpler rooms, which had a balcony and a small bathroom with shower and a forest view. The accommodations are cabin style and with 4 rooms per "house" and I would say it is rustic chic? :-) The rooms were on the smaller side, but spacious enough I guess for everyone to move around. The TV is older and we had some issues getting it to work, but the front desk was super nice and sent someone out to help us with that. WiFi was only available at the lodge's main room and the computer didn't work that weekend. Otherwise, there is free coffee in the room, a kettle to boil tea and a small fridge.

We really liked it and would consider coming back again another time for more hiking and outdoor adventures.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I spent 3 days on the Sunshine Coast with my parents. After hiking the Skookumchuck Narrows in Egmont we ended up on the wonderful deck of the West Coast Wilderness Lodge! Paul is a great host and the food is amazing! We had salmon with rice and different fruits - just perfect! The location is breathtaking and staff is very friendly! Paul showed us some of his rooms and I would love to stay there for a weekend... Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katlrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
413 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
141 reviews
15 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range: $139 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing