We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had 2 wonderful nights here! Our room had a beautiful view and a comfy king size bed.We took full advantage of the hot tub and drank in the view!!Try the seafood chowder, its amazing.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    69
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
61
163
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge for a one night getaway. On arrival you can already feel yourself relaxing. The room was amazing, beautifully decorated but the main feature is the view. We enjoyed a nice time in their hot tub which overlooks the water. In the morning we took a nice run from the WCWL to the Scookumchuck Narrows (its a 10km roundtrip). We will definitely return its a little bit of zen in our busy lives. :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T00MuchFun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Wilderness Lodge. Although our room did not have a water view, it was very clean, cozy and updated. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it for breakfast. All of the staff were very helpful, friendly and cheerful; we even got to meet the unofficial lodge mascot - "Scout" - a gentle giant of a dog. Food was of high quality and very nicely presented; there is a small bar just off the dining room area and the adjoining deck had panoramic views of the water and surrounding islands. In good weather, you will want to be out there with your morning coffee or afternoon cocktail. The tranquility and natural beauty cannot be beat. There is no cell or WiFi so be prepared to disconnect and relax. (There is a computer in the lodge reception area if needed.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swages01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The dining area and lodge are situated in one of the most beautiful places in the world. The cliff side view is amazing! We would have loved to of had a waterfront room but they were all taken. The room itself was simple but comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Any stress you might have in your life melts away as you enter the resort. The peace and tranquility reaches into your very soul as you take in the viewscape from the dining room, your bedroom, in fact from every part of the resort. The fresh air helps to tire you during the day, preparing you for a relaxing night as you sink into the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Oh, and should it rain, bring a book, and you can read while listening to the rain fall.
.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Upon arrival we were shown to our ocean view suite; Wow, Wow, Wow.

The lodge is situated in amongst the most spectacular scenery and the views from the wilderness lodge will take your breath away. Our accommodation was spacious, clean and provided us with peace and tranquillity.

Eating here is a delight, the food is excellent and we were served by three fantastic staff members. Nothing is too much effort or trouble for any staff member. Thank You.

Whilst we stayed here, we did a 2 hour guided Kayak tour with Kathryn. As a water phobic I was nervous about my first Kayak adventure. Kathryn was outstanding in allaying my fears and then taking me out on the water for the most magical and amazing adventure.

Kathryn is a very passionate lady about her place of work, which shines through to you as a guest. Kathryn is a credit to the West Coast Wilderness lodge.

We have been following the lodge and its newest addition on Facebook and we were delighted to meet Paul the owner who showed us around. Paul has invested his heart into this lodge and his passion clearly shines through. They are currently planning to incorporate a spa and I look forward to returning to experience what sounds to be another piece of tranquillity.

I can only describe staying at this lodge as one of the ticks on my bucket list.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahandBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My daughter and son-in-law just got married here, and it was absolutely beautiful. I'm putting this in point form because I'm covering several subjects:
Rooms - rustic and spacious. The ocean-view rooms have an amazing view and their own balcony.(you will pay more for the view) The beds are amazing, everyone we talked to raved about them.
Food - not typical hotel food. The wedding dinner was excellent, we also had two buffet breakfasts and one other meal there, the meals very all delicious and fresh.
Location - on the Sunshine Coast, it requires a short ferry ride from Vancouver, and then at least an hour drive from Gibsons. Fantastic scenery, and Gibsons and Sechelt are both great places to visit on the way up.
Technology - no cell phone signal there, and we were told that the WiFi is iffy.
Staff - friendly service
Activities - beautiful hiking close by, and go down to the water to see all the starfish! We didn't have time to rent kayaks, but it's available.
Wedding - they will book the whole resort for you. The big deck is a beautiful spot for the ceremony, and the dining room overlooks the water. There's another (smaller) room downstairs for the reception/dance.
A great experience overall. We may go back again on a vacation.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying extra for the view rooms, they're awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeCeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
358 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
15.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Property: West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing