We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe

Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Egmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Come and visit our seasonal destination bakery and cafe located on the trail to the Skookumchuck Narrows Provincial Park in Egmont, BC. We serve fresh baked goods, all created from scratch on-site, as well as a great selection of cold drinks, fresh-brewed iced tea, and freshly roasted organic coffee. We use local, organic ingredients whenever possible. Enjoy a sandwich on fresh-baked bread at the rail, fuel up your hike into the narrows, or treat yourself to our famous cinnamon buns after the hike.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Came up from Vancouver with the family, stopped in to grab a few cinnamon buns and coffee. Super friendly owners and great tasting treats. I highly recommend stopping in. The owner was very knowledgable and very friendly to talk to. Such a laid back place I could eat baked goods there all day long.....But then I'd be fat.

Thanks!

Mike
-Vancouver

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast sammiches in the forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Now called the Skookumchuck Bakeshop & under new management. You can't go wrong with this location, between the parking lot and the start of the trail to Skookumchuck narrows up in the trees in a beautiful natural setting with a little creek and everything. Their buns were tasty, their smoothies are smooth, and their breakfast sandwiches hit the spot after our walk in the woods. I hope they do well & expand - good luck!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm nothing special in the buns...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Dropped by while in Egmont and tried the Skookumchuck Cinnamon bun which was fairly highly priced for what you get and wasn't impressed. Had better and paid a lot less. Nice owners. Great location but please don't price gouge because you're the only bakery within some kilometres. I'll go back to a place with fair pricing again and again but only once or poor value experiences.


Helpful?
1 Thank moae111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skookumuffin, Owner at Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We are sorry that you were not impressed with the Skookum Cinnamon Bun. As new owners, with no previous baking experience, we are just learning the art of creating this famous cinnamon bun. We did have a few days where the buns were definitely not up to par earlier this season. Perhaps you were here one of those days, and for that we sincerely apologize. We assure you the buns are back to their optimum quality.

We have lowered many of the prices where possible, and have kept the price of the favorites the same as they have always been. Our prices do reflect the cost of operating in a remote location, and our commitment to providing high quality, local, fresh, and organic food as much as possible.

We do hope that you will return when you are in the area and give us another chance to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Trevor and Alanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Post Hike Treat (or before if you're so inclined)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I did the Skookumchuk Narrows hike in early July, as I was walking in to the trail I saw a couple sitting by a little bridge eating delicious cinnamon buns. As I looked up into the trees I saw the sign (a rusty old pickup with a surfboard on the roof) and further up a side path there sits the Green Rosette Bakery, a little treehouse bakery. The couple sitting on the bridge suggested one of the cinnamon buns was the perfect treat after my hike. I couldn't wait to finish the hike to go check out the bakery. The inside of the shop is beautifully finished, they have a couple different baked items to choose from, chilled drinks and wonderful Ethiopian coffee. I ordered a cinnamon bun with icing (lightly drizzled) and a coffee. There were also cheese rolls and spinach and feta rolls on offer. The fellow working the front of the shop was very friendly, the service was great. It was peaceful and relaxing sitting outside on the deck enjoying the forest surroundings. The cinnamon bun was so soft and cinnamony I had to get two to go to take home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Delicious cinnamon bun and hot chocolate. The view from the deck is stunning. Also perfectly located for a quick stop before or after your hike to skookumchuck.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Egmont, Sunshine Coast
Earls Cove, Sunshine Coast
 
Garden Bay, Sunshine Coast
Egmont, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing