We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No goats the day I was there :(” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Country Market

Old Country Market
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Coombs
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“No goats the day I was there :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Despite there being no sign of the goats, this place is still worth a visit. Lovely gift shops and a very impressive market featuring foods from all around the world. Lots of fun to browse the various shops, especially if the weather is a bit iffy - you can duck in and out of the shops based on whether it's raining or sunny.

The rooves of the shops are covered with green and growing grass, hence the goats which are put on the roof to keep the grass levels manageable. How they get them up there is anyone's guess.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    208
    77
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“And now for something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Crowded, crazy and eclectic, this store has something for everyone. Fresh bread, imported foods from almost every country in Europe, oddball gifts, cheap Chinese imports and a basic, down-to-earth restaurant that serves huge breakfasts, and down-home lunches. Try to visit on a weekday when the crowds are a little thinner, and make sure your wallet is stocked if you want the specialty, imported items - they're pricey but, at least in my experience, well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was shocked out of my shoes when I saw so many South African foods in this cozy market...needless to say I stocked up on my favourites. We did not have lunch here but the kids loved the icecream shop. We walked around and found the animal statues that created a perfect opportunity to do some photo shots with the kids and they just loved climbing on all the aminmals. We found some nice little stores and my fav was the old bookstore where we stocked up on some reading material for the kids. All in all this reminds me of home and small town life and the goats is just soooo cute :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Where are the goats?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was there on business and lucked out going Monday morning for breakfast. Stopped by on the weekend and way way way too crowded. I had great service Monday morning (quiet) but my salmon roll was a wee bit salty! staff was kind, the area very clean and loved the market (went shopping without the hordes). Excellent coffee bar in the same area - great choice of food and coffee. Wish so many people didn't know about you!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coombs, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the market is a wonderful experience for anyone, every year it's improved and upgraded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've lived in the area for almost 19 years now and The Old Country Market is still unique and special. The sod roof is the home for the 'Goats on the roof' and the market features 'stuff' imported from all over the world. The restaurant is cafeteria style - good homestyle food at reasonable prices in a great environment. Cuckoo's Restaurant in the complex is simply world class - a superior dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brutus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Country Market also viewed

Coombs, Vancouver Island
Coombs, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Old Country Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing