We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop in a quaint village.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cariboo Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Sidney, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stop in a quaint village.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great stopover between Vancouver and Prince George. Rooms were super clean, had fridge, coffee maker and a patio to sit at. The pub had great food and atmosphere. It was the perfect place to wind down. Friendly staff. Made our stay in such a cute little village that much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
46
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive, all of the staff seem to be really proud of the place. The food is really good, the rooms are clean. I highly recommend this nice hotel. I will stay here again. I went in the bar to watch the hockey playoff game and they turned up the volume without being asked. The price is reasonable for the service you get.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank oldsalt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Cariboo Lodge in Clinton, BC, is a perfect rest stop between Vancouver and Williams Lake. The white towels and sheets alone are among the cleanest I've seen and are enough to warrant a great recommendation to all discerning travelers. The restaurant on site is also excellent though has limited hours so do check upon booking to make sure they're on when you need them.
Date of stay: May 18, 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times going to and from Vancouver. The motel is very clean and comfortable. It is basic but pleasant and beats any other facilities in nearby communities. Staff are friendly and they allow dogs if you book ahead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northof54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Treated like a member of the family. Food was excellent, order desert, and rooms were comfortable and clean. Loved it and will be back soon. Value here is unsurpassed. Gem in the midst of a bunch of stones, great stuff here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IPEH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I needed a room for one night while in Clinton and chose the Cariboo Lodge based on reviews.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we were able to get into our room at noon. Although the room wasn't quite ready, they accommodated us based on our need to be somewhere by 1pm. I thought this was exceptional, bigger chains are not as accommodating. (or charge extra for the privilege)

The room itself was a good size and had been thoroughly cleaned. There were the usual conveniences, and plenty of towels, bedding etc. The one thing that I did notice was an odor...a bit like wet dog. We opened the door and aired it out and it was somewhat better.

The beds....oh my. It may vary from room to room, but our bed was hard and very uncomfortable. It was difficult to sleep and I tossed and turned most of the night.

The outside area is beautiful. The lodge itself is a "log cabin" that houses the lobby, a restaurant and a pub. I was up at 7:30am and there was already someone outside raking leaves and sweeping. Each room has it's own entrance and a table and chairs outside.

Our room was very quiet except when patrons of the pub were laughing and talking loudly in the outside smoking area. (the area and the rooms face one another) The rooms are set back from the main hwy. so we didn't hear any traffic noise.

The restaurant is awesome! We had 6 for breakfast, home cooking at it's best, and the bill including tax was $71.00! Good, hot and plentiful.

The pub was open and airy, and reflected years past. Everyone looked to be enjoying themselves.

I wish I could give this motel a higher review, the staff are that friendly and accommodating, but the hard beds and odor put me off a little.

Room Tip: There are two floors, make sure you get the first floor if you have mobility concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here 1 night. It was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. Nice clean room - clean carpets, bathroom, bedding, crisp snow white towels, extra pillows, good coffee maker, nice little fridge. I keep talking about how clean it was because this is hard to find once you leave Vancouver and are heading to Quesnel, B.C.. I usually stay in Cache Creek but this place is well worth the extra 30 minute drive to Clinton & I'd definitely stay here again.

WiFi is an addtional $5 but the connection is good so it's worth it. There's a restaurant on site and a pub. We didn't eat at either. We stayed in room 124 & it was very nice. As anyone who is familiar with these parts knows, you're not going to get "fancy". This place is not fancy but it is clean, quiet and safe and has everything you could possibly need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
22.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#2 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bear's Claw Lodge
Bear's Claw Lodge
#7 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
20.6 mi away
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
0.1 mi away
Nomad Motel
Nomad Motel
#1 of 5 in Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariboo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariboo Lodge Resort

Property: Cariboo Lodge Resort
Address: 1414 Cariboo Highway, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cariboo Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cariboo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariboo Hotel Clinton
Cariboo Lodge Resort Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing