We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We really loved our stay here. For the price it represents excellent value and is definitely a cut above the average motel. Clinton is such a beautiful place and the Cariboo Lodge had a wonderful atmosphere - we could tell it was a real hub in town, with locals coming by to pick up their take away pizza! Our room was extremely spacious, the bathroom and shower were excellent and everything was spotlessly clean. Service was good, especially the lovely lady who served our (completely delicious) breakfast. The only slight negative was our meal in the pub, which was a little disappointing, even though the pub itself was very nice. One of the nicest things about this place is the display of old photos in the lobby and dining room, which shows the history of lodging on the site - very interesting and nicely done. We would definitely stay here again, and I would describe the Cariboo Lodge as a real little gem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

Clinton was the right place for an overnight stay on this late summer road trip, and the Cariboo Lodge choice was based on previous reviews. The front desk person was really friendly and welcoming, our room was spotlessly clean and the setting very nice. We enjoyed a couple of hours of sitting on the outdoor deck reading in the sunshine. The accommodation here is basic and simple within a generously sized room. It's about time, though, to update the mattresses as they were past their best before date. And, if you have any sensitivities to perfumy odors, watch out, because they clearly believe that using Bounce in the laundry is a good idea. But overall it was a good place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dougi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Quality furnishings. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Friendly staff. May be a bit pricey for the location but worth the peace of mind of a good night's sleep. Generous toiletries and fluffy white towels. Would recommend to anyone travelling north.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Myself, wife and son stayed at the Cariboo Lodge for more than a week as part of a large group that rented the entire lodge. The property is excellent for what it is meant to be. The owner (Darla) and the rest of the staff looked after us incredibly well, and were always helpful when anything was needed. "Lodge" is reasonable, but "Resort" is pushing it, as there is no pool or other resort-like ammenities. However, the food was great (awesome Texas-size prime rib special stands out in my mind). There is a two story motel-style accommodation in the back, as well as several rooms built into the log lodge. The website did not seem to mention it, but there is wireless internet, although it was a bit weak in the room we were in. For a family, there is a one bedroom "suite" with a kitchenette, which was great for us (a double bed and two singles). However, the only bathroom is off the bedroom. There is also a pub with some decent draft, and best of all an excellent and free foosball table. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: For a family staying a few days ask for the 1 Bedroom with kitchette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for one night while traveling across BC from Clearwater/Wells Gray to Whistler. There was not much else along the way so we called ahead and booked two rooms. We each got our own double bed which was perfect for traveling with teens! Everything was very clean and spacious. Our rooms were in the historic building which has a log cabin type wall along the front. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast as there was not much else around and the food was good . . .not great but definitely good. We got coffee from a surprisingly hip coffee place next door. . . can't remember the name but you can't miss it . . .very Starbucks-like but in the middle of this very small town in the middle of nowhere. We are from a very urban area in the United States so this was a fun, small town stopover for us.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the historic building with log cabin walls . . . no stairs to climb and close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a stopover for one night. After a post-work 4 hour drive, we found ourselves at the Cariboo Lodge in beautiful downtown Clinton, BC. We got there after 10PM, so like others we had to go to the pub, which is not a big issue unless you are a hardcore puritan, which we are not.

The room was exceptionally clean according to my wife's standards which of course far exceed levels of cleanliness needed for surgery rooms. Bed was comfy, and the room included a hair dryer, fridge, and very good shampoo, soap, etc. ( I know some people care about these things). There was an air conditioner but it looked like it was recently installed and the only thing needed was a new receptacle.

Checkout was painless the next day as I was served promptly and with respect. It is always refreshing to be treated like you are staying at the Vancouver Airport Fairmont even though you are staying at a small hotel. I also observed that there was one staff person sweeping and cleaning the parking lot and the front of the building. Obviously they care about the appearance of the building and the care of their customers.

I will be back and if you need a clean place to stay, this is it!

Room Tip: Phone and book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PG_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

had a stop over here on way from Vancouver island to Jasper, recomended on here by a member of T/A, arrived about 8pm checked in and down for dinner, great place the lady running check in and the restaurant was fantastic , food was great and plenty of it, the rooms are in a 2 storey block behind the bar /restaurant ,plenty of parking, room was as we expected nothing fancy but just what was needed for a stop over, it was clean and had everthing for this, we would recomend this to anyone traveling that way,

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
22.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#4 of 10 in Cache Creek
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
72 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bear's Claw Lodge
Bear's Claw Lodge
#5 of 10 in Cache Creek
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
22.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
21 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#8 of 10 in Cache Creek
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariboo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariboo Lodge Resort

Address: 1414 Cariboo Highway, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range: $56 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cariboo Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cariboo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariboo Hotel Clinton
Cariboo Lodge Resort Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing