We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic family ranch! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Bar Guest Ranch
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic family ranch! Loved it!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My son (13yr) and I spent 3 nights here on our way to Vancouver. It was our first ranch experience and it was truly a memorable experience.

Thank you to al the ranglers; Lucas, Joel, and Dale for making our horse riding experience something to remember. The horses are very well cared for and you can tell everyone is passionate on what they do.

The biggest surprise, which I was not expecting was the food! Elise, I wish you would open up a restaurant near my house. I will always remember your "pouding chomeur".

Finally, thank you to Brian and Amber the owners of Big Bar. We hope to see you again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaldman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBar_GuestRanch, Front Office Manager at Big Bar Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review after your visit with us this summer.
We're thrilled to hear you think our horses are well cared for as you're right, we do love what we do and we work hard to ensure they're taken care for properly!
I'll let Elyse know you enjoyed her cooking so much - she certainly made meal times an unexpected and delicious treat for us all summer, I'm so pleased to hear you felt the same.
Hopefully you'll make another trip to BBGR in the future, we'd love to see you and Noah again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    14
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
57
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

If you're looking for an authentic horse riding ranch experience then look no further than Big Bar Ranch. The family welcome and traditional western hospitality combined with beautiful scenery and knowledgable wranglers makes this place a must-visit for anyone seeking a true western ranch vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpacurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Canada where we spent two nights at Big Bar. After a really long drive it was a relief to be able to arrive at our lodge and well and truly wind down and relax on our lodge veranda and enjoy the view across the ranch and towards the private lake. Every staff member without fail made us feel welcome and baby Lilly is an absolute darling and will surely become the star of the ranch as she grows up as the business continues to evolve. The food was great throughout our stay, especially the breakfast (thank you Amber) which were the best we had on our road trip. Our lodge was basic but fulfilled its purpose and we didn't want for anything whilst we were there. We slept really well but that was probably all the fresh air we had! It was certainly an experience waking up to the sound of horses passing by the lodge and the cutest cows I've ever seen in the surrounding fields. I do think the addition of a couple of goats would be very popular...especially with Joel! ;-) We had a total of three horse rides and as an experienced and total beginner couple we were both made to feel extremely safe at all times in the hands of Chelsea the wrangler. If you are in the area staying at a ranch is an absolute must for a unique experience and I would recommend Big Bar to anyone. From the bottom of our hearts we thank everyone for making us feel welcome and wish the ranch continued success.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBar_GuestRanch, Front Office Manager at Big Bar Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review after your stay with us this year, we really appreciate and consider all feedback we receive.
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the fresh air and all of our wonderful animals, especially the worlds cutest cows (we'd have to agree!) - we've since gotten 7 more calves, so you'll have to come back to meet them!
I'm thrilled you felt safe during your rides and that Amber's breakfasts were the best you had on your journey - they certainly are something to wake up for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were on a motorhome trip through the Cariboo and asked if we could park for a night or two and take in a ride. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made us (and our 2 dogs) feel more than welcome. We got to park our RV in the horse pasture and enjoyed evenings and mornings with the sound of the herd calmly grazing around us. We didn't play any music…just sat quietly and listened to the wind in the trees, the bird song and the horses munching. It was surreal… we'll never forget it…absolutely the best place we have ever taken our motorhome. And our dogs loved having acres to run around in. We took a morning ride for 2 1/2 hours in the gorgeous countryside. The owners and staff treated us like family. We checked out the rooms and cabins even though we didn't use them. They were great. We'll definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed for one night in the middle of the week, and I was one among five other guests. The staff and the owners had just finished a very busy period and everyone was taking time to relax and take a day off. What this meant for me was that I got to hang out with the staff and the new owners and their brand-new baby. I even went for a ride with just two other guests and the wrangler, Chelsea. The horse, Blue, was amazing. So beautiful and friendly and comfortable too! The landscape is simply stunning and ride was so fun, we got to gallop a few times as well!

This place is truly a family run business and they make every single guest comes into their presence a part of their family as well. While I was there they had some friends stop in from a nearby ranch so I really got to enjoy the cowboy chatter and hear about all the horses and fascinating events the wranglers get to deal with on a daily basis.

This place offers a real down-home rustic experience especially with the cows and the donkey meandering around. Not to mention the livestock you might run into on the drive up the gravel road to the ranch. Overall this place is worth every single penny.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed last month in April, it was still chill, but the weather was nice for horsebacking and our children had blast! We stayed at cabin 4, it's old cabin, but we face beautiful frozen lake, the rooms were basic and clean. The stuffs were amazing and helpful,the meals were OK, but for the price point, I think it worth all the penny, I def. suggest the family who plan for budget and this is the range that whole family will enjoy.

The only thing is driving more then one hour on gravel road into the ranch, make sure you don't drive new car!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita_huang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the ranch during August 2013. It was our first time at a ranch with our young children, and it was an unforgettable and unique experience. The rooms are very basic but that is exactly how we expected them when visiting the website, You come here for the outdoor experience. The atmosphere is very warm and friendly. the horseriding, even for non experienced as we are, is super. Our children never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 500Sofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
22.4 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
110 reviews
4.0 mi away
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
22.3 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Nomad Motel
Nomad Motel
#1 of 5 in Clinton
48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Big Bar Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bar Guest Ranch

Property: Big Bar Guest Ranch
Address: 5960 Big Bar Road, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bar Guest Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all inclusive Guest Ranch located north west of Clinton, BC. Included in your package is your accommodations, three square meals and up to 5 hours of riding per day. You can either participate in two short rides in the morning and afternoon or take your lunch with you for an all day riding experience. Archery lessons provide an alternative activity to consider. Also included is access to our private lake with use of our canoes and peddle boats; as well as maps to our marked trails to enjoy either on foot or by mountain bike. Of course all the social areas are part of the package and you can feel free to play billiards or shuffle board in the lounge or simply hang out by the camp fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Big Bar Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bar Guest Ranch Hotel Clinton
Big Bar Guest Ranch Clinton, Cariboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing