We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to a return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Bar Guest Ranch
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to a return.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 day get away with my daughter at Big Bar Ranch. I have been dreaming about going to a 'dude' ranch for a number of years and this experience was everything I wanted. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. We were quickly part of the family. Even the dogs (all 4) welcomed us. It was a lovely experience the first evening to walk along a road through the pasture and the horses. Some even came to say hello, though the alpaca, Rocky, stayed on his job of protecting the herd.

I was impressed with their dedication to comfort and safety. My daughter had never ridden and I had not ridden for over 30 years. We were given horses that suited each of us and very soon were comfortable in the saddle. The trails are great and we saw beautiful views and wildlife on our rides.

The meals were well above expectation; Chris' carrot cake was amazing! The family style dining was a good way to get to know new people, both staff and guests.

The beds were wonderful and the silence at night awesome - only the odd coyote to be heard.

The ranch is under new management since November and it was a pleasure to be among young, keen people who are excited about what they can make of the wonderful facility. If I was 30 years younger I would be looking for a job there.

Thanks and good luck guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
57
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had just a great time at Big Bar. I have no idea what other guest ranches are like but Big Bar was exactly what we were looking for: comfortable, but unpretentious; friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Everyone at the ranch, from management to hands, made us feel very welcome and riding was a pleasure for these non-riders. Food is mainstream, very tasty and satisfying.

Big Bar is under new management since last fall. A few small kinks remain to be worked out, like some missing amenities here and there. It might be a bit challenging to pass the time in bad weather as there is a games/recreation room but it needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kippendavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the ranch for a couple days and had a great time and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in one of the teepee's and had the best sleep. The food was awesome and my husband especially enjoyed the chef's surprise omelet! The people there were warm and friendly and made you feel welcome. The scenery during the horse back riding was wonderful and the wranglers were great and informative during the whole tour. They showed you the correct way to ride that made it enjoyable for all. We wished that we could have stayed longer and will be definitely be returning in the future. There is not only horseback riding, but you can also canoe, fish, try archery, hike the trails or just relax in the sun. The new owners Bryan and Amber are doing a great job, keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family just returned from our adventure to Big Bar Guest Ranch. From the moment we pulled up and were greeted by the owners, Bryan and Amber, we felt apart of the family. The drive up is absolutely breath taking, and that is just an appetizer to the spectacular scenery you will take in during your stay at Big Bar. There are countless breathtaking views available all over the property.
All the staff are so welcoming and friendly. The food alone is worth the drive. Chris the chef, is a GENIUS, and bonus, he shares his recipes! The setting of the ranch is vast, and open. Our cabin was private, and spacious. The kids (2 and 5) LOVED the loft style of the cabin. They are not old enough to ride yet, but had tons of activities to keep them busy. We all fell in love with this piece of paradise immediately. One of our favorite memories is sitting around the campfire, listening to Bryan on the guitar, and watching the beauty of mother nature entertain us with 3 separate thunder storms off in the distance. The rolling hills are perfect for riding, and the wild flowers sprinkled all throughout the trails seem like a gift from heaven. This place is full of history, and has so much character. The structures have the charm of a true horse ranch, yet the touch of modern design on the inside.
As guests, we all felt very cared about and everyone was going the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect, and memorable.
If you are looking for a unique family adventure, I highly recommend the Big Bar Guest Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Enjoyed every minute with the guys and girls. We stayed in the teepees for one night whilst travellinG BC. Comfortable and functional, and all we needed. We had a fire in the teepee and slowly drifted off - recommended. The animals were tons of fun; Charlie, Blaze, the little cows, and the rest of their gang. We rode out with Chris for 2 hrs+ on Bailey and Kirby, a great pair to spend time with.

An awesome experience with cool people, a beautiful environment, awesome animals, and not forgetting the great food.

Thanks to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London_Scotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I were touring BC in May so didn't have much time to really enjoy the ranch experience but desperately wanted to fit it in. Big Bar was a great choice, and their 24 hour package made it very easy for us to arrive in time for lunch, have an afternoon ride, relax and walk around, evening dinner, breakfast, then back on the road. Meals were all served at the main house where you have the chance to sit and chat with the owners, wranglers and other guests over tasty home made hearty dinners. We were due to stay in a Tipi, but as it was early in the season and the wash block wasn't ready, we were upgraded to a log cabin which was lovely (wood burning stove, catering facilities etc.) and just a short stroll across the ranch to the main house and paddock.

Amber and Brian were fantastic hosts, and provided a warm welcome along with their friendly dogs. If only we could have stayed for a couple more days...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our family just returned to Big Bar for our spring adventure (we held our company Christmas party here last December). We stayed in a private, log cabin which had an amazing view and a beautiful front portch. You can choose between one of 4 log cabins, one larger cabin (with 6 bedrooms) or the main lodge. You can also tent or stay in one of the tee-pees. The food was excellent (I'll be working a little harder to lose the extra pounds!). The horses and riding was great (especially seeing a Mama Bear and her two cubs). Big Bar has lots of other activies that you can take advantage of such as canoeing on the small lake, fishing, or relaxing in a paddle boat. There is also archery and during the appropriate season hunting, snowmobiling and cross country trails. Our adult children had a great time and so did our grandchildren. It is idea for a romantic get-a-way, a soft-adventure trip or a family reunion type of vacation. You can choose your own package - with riding, without riding, with meals, without meals - you get the picture. Lots of flexibility. The new owners are young, eager, enthusiastic and totally make you feel at home.

Room Tip: If you like privacy, choose cabin #2. Close enough to the main lodge, but totally private with a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svQuickStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
22.6 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
110 reviews
4.7 mi away
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
22.6 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Nomad Motel
Nomad Motel
#1 of 5 in Clinton
48 reviews
91.8 mi away
Wells Gray Guest Ranch
Wells Gray Guest Ranch
#14 of 16 in Clearwater
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bar Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bar Guest Ranch

Property: Big Bar Guest Ranch
Address: 5960 Big Bar Road, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bar Guest Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all inclusive Guest Ranch located north west of Clinton, BC. Included in your package is your accommodations, three square meals and up to 5 hours of riding per day. You can either participate in two short rides in the morning and afternoon or take your lunch with you for an all day riding experience. Archery lessons provide an alternative activity to consider. Also included is access to our private lake with use of our canoes and peddle boats; as well as maps to our marked trails to enjoy either on foot or by mountain bike. Of course all the social areas are part of the package and you can feel free to play billiards or shuffle board in the lounge or simply hang out by the camp fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Big Bar Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bar Guest Ranch Hotel Clinton
Big Bar Guest Ranch Clinton, Cariboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing