We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long waiting times”

Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whether you are staying with us, just passing through, or are a Shuswap resident, dining out at Jack Sam's Restaurant at the Quaaout Lodge is a great way to treat yourself to something special. Jack Sam's Restaurant is located just off the lobby with a beautiful view of Little Shuswap Lake. Our Executive Chef has designed menu selections to delight all and provides the fare expected at a world class hotel.uests will find delicacies on the seasonal dinner and catering menus which honour the First Nations traditions of the region such as Venison, Cedar Board Salmon Fillet, Buffalo or Elk Ragout, and our traditional "Chicken or Salmon" in Clay (48hrs notice required) to name just a few.By partnering with local producers, we are happy to offer our efforts towards a locally sourced menu in the spirit of the 100 Mile Diet. The 100 Mile Diet motivates individuals to eat only foods grown within 100 miles from their home. In partnership with Heartland Foods and Farm Tours Cooperative we have adapted our menu to offer delectable dishes prepared using fresh produce and meats from local farmers and growers in season. Join us in eating locally for a global change!
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had to wait 2 hours before we got served ( we had kids on the table too)! It was very frustrating.

1  Thank rrecrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear rrecrosio;

A 2 hour wait to get served is indeed a frustrating experience, especially when hungry children are involved. The experience you describe in your review is clearly not what we work very hard to provide in Jack Sam's Restaurant here at the Quaaout Lodge.

Our General Manager reviews all guest comments and feedback personally. At our regular meetings, the feedback we receive from our guests is used to identify the areas where we are successful in meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations, and those areas where we must make improvements.

The wait time for your meal is definitely a case where we failed. I hope that in addition to sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor, you took a moment to submit the comment card provided with your restaurant receipt so that we have been able to followup with you personally.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future, and show you the sort of wonderful dining experience that has made Jack Sam's Restaurant at the Quaaout Lodge one of the top picks for dining out in the Shuswap.

Best regards;

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

All meals are very well prepared, and the appetizers are delicious.
The meals are very well priced for the quality.

Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your praise... it is a pleasure to hear from our guests, and a joy when they share their experience with others here on TripAdvisor.

Kukstsemc! (thank you)

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

There is one restaurant on the property (this one), and they have a regular menu and a bar menu. After one overpriced regular meal, we learned to order from the bar menu. Great choices and pretty much half price from the regular menu. They have good breakfasts that are reasonably priced (the omelets are killer). Dinners were OK, but the food wasn’t memorable. I definitely would not travel to this place just for the food. I had the salmon linguine special during my first night and it was very plain, small portion, and very overpriced for what you get. However, given that there aren’t many food choices in the area, you are kinda stuck eating at the resort when you stay. Again, the food isn’t bad, but it’s fairly high priced for the quality and quantity. One recommendation is their local bread, called “banek” (sp?). It’s a Native-origin fried bread. Excellent, but not low cal!

Thank GianoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Jack Sam's Restaurant. Your feedback is valuable to us, and much appreciated. While we are considered one of the top dining options in the Shuswap region, we are always looking for opportunities to improve.

From your review, it is clear that while you enjoyed some of our offerings including the local specialty - bannock, there were aspects of our menu that did not meet the expectations that you are used to. While some of our guests say that they find our portions to be quite generous, visitors from the USA might find that portion sizes commonly found in Canada are indeed smaller than what they might be used to at home.

Our Executive Chef has been working with to develop new menus now being released in stages based on feedback from our guests, with a vision of offering selections to meet a range of tastes.

In setting our prices, we take into consideration a range of factors, and in surveying comparable offerings in our region, our prices are considered to provide good value.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed our lounge menu offerings, which it appears were better matched to your personal preferences.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards;

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I luv a good patio. This is one , that has the atmosphere. Trees. Water. Grass. Food is pretty good.
Service is good also. We share, so I never say the " portions " are too big, but they split the meals for us, so that's pretty nice. Ceaser salad was very good. Burger was very good. Soup was fabulous. Service very attentive. Luv the setting. The Bannock was a nice touch. Onion rings were very good too. Have not had desert yet !
I think its such a beautiful setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

The sunshine and warm weather has arrived here in the Shuswap, and we are pleased to have our guests enjoy the great outdoors here at the Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort. While Jack Sam's restaurant offers some wonderful views across Little Shuswap Lake and the surrounding mountains (and phenomenal sunsets!), the patio just makes it that much better when you enjoy the sunshine and sounds of birds while you dine.

We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy one of our delectable desserts. Look for some wonderful new menu selections this summer.

Kukstsemc (thank you)

Rhys Laug
Accmoodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent food and service! There is something for everyone. Some wild game, fish, pasta, great wines! And the best part! It's not all served in a pile! I hate it when my meal is in a pile or a tower...

Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Jack Sam's Restaurant here at the Quaaout Lodge. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and that the menu and presentation were to your liking.

We are looking forward to the coming release of our new Executive Chef's Summer 2013 menu in May. With extensive international fine dining experience, we have been seeing some exciting changes and preludes to what our guests will have the opportunity to experience during their visits, whether for one meal, or a multi-day stay at the resort.

Your feedback is appreciated.

Kukstsemc! (Thank you)

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant also viewed

Chase, British Columbia
Chase, British Columbia
 
Chase, British Columbia
Chase, British Columbia
 
Sorrento, British Columbia
Blind Bay, British Columbia
 

Been to Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing