We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bannock bread I've had”

Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whether you are staying with us, just passing through, or are a Shuswap resident, dining out at Jack Sam's Restaurant at the Quaaout Lodge is a great way to treat yourself to something special. Jack Sam's Restaurant is located just off the lobby with a beautiful view of Little Shuswap Lake. Our Executive Chef has designed menu selections to delight all and provides the fare expected at a world class hotel.uests will find delicacies on the seasonal dinner and catering menus which honour the First Nations traditions of the region such as Venison, Cedar Board Salmon Fillet, Buffalo or Elk Ragout, and our traditional "Chicken or Salmon" in Clay (48hrs notice required) to name just a few.By partnering with local producers, we are happy to offer our efforts towards a locally sourced menu in the spirit of the 100 Mile Diet. The 100 Mile Diet motivates individuals to eat only foods grown within 100 miles from their home. In partnership with Heartland Foods and Farm Tours Cooperative we have adapted our menu to offer delectable dishes prepared using fresh produce and meats from local farmers and growers in season. Join us in eating locally for a global change!
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were visiting friends and took them to dinner at Jack Sam's.

We'd been out all day and foolishly did not make reservations. The young lady at the desk initially said that they were full but then she told us to wait and she would see what she could do. She came back a few minutes later. They opened another section of the restaurant and we had a beautiful window seat. Considering how busy the restaurant was the service was very good. We were never rushed but we instead had a nice relaxing meal with our good friends. We had appetizers of the salmon kabobs and bannock bread bruschetta. Both were excellent. The salmon was nice and moist and was on top of a nice fruity sauce. For entrees my husband and I both had the spareribs. It had a wonderful glaze on it and was a pleasant change from barbecue ribs. Our friends had the cedar planked salmon and short ribs. The bannock bread that is served with the meals is truly addictive.

It was a great evening. We've eaten here before and will continue to do so when we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysLaug, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for returning to enjoy our hospitality here at Jack Sam's at the Quaaout Lodge. We greatly appreciate the feedback we receive from all of our guests, which we really take to heart when we look to make improvements, and to reward those members of our staff who go that extra mile. Such a positive review from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor is an extra special compliment - Kukstemec! (Secwepemc for "thank you")

We have been working diligently to improve our food service, and are seeing the results in the many positive reviews we have seen here on TripAdvisor this year.

We look forward to your next visit... the bannock is always on!

Kukstemec!

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is our first time vacationing in the area. We were returning from a day trip in Kamloops and very hungry. We noticed the highway signs for 'The Talking Rock' golf course with a picture of their dining room on the signage. The directions were very easy to follow and we pulled up to a beautiful lodge.
Upon entering the lodge/restaurant we were asked if we had reservations, even though we obviously did not we were seated right by the window with a lovely view. After the most pleasant young waitress took our order, she returned with a basket of warm bannock. That was just the begining of a truly perfect meal. My husband had the Elk Ragout, I could not count how many times he mentioned how good it was.
If ever you are in the area (or hungry and driving down the highway) this is truly an experience you do not want to miss. There are great choices on the menu, the food is outstanding, the waitresses although young are REALLY GOOD. If we had one issue, we wish you were closer to our home :)
Thank-You for an unexpected lovely dinner.
Wayne and Dianna Jones

1  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysLaug, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are happy that you stopped by!

When you are traveling down the highway, the easy thing is to grab a quick bite at along the fast food strip in each town or city you pass through. When you take a chance and take a a short 5 minute detour off the highway you just might be rewarded with something extra special. Whether you are just passing through our area, or come to stay here at the Quaaout Lodge, golf Talking Rock, or experience some pampering at the Le7Ke Spa, we encourage you to join us in our lakeview Jack Sam'd Dining Room for a memorable dining experience.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are passing through our area, or perhaps next time you will have a little more time to enjoy the rest of our resort.

Kukstemec (Thank you)

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I love this place -- this is where I chose to go for my birthday dinner this year, and it was fabulous, as always. We were given a beautiful window table with a view of the lake, and the salmon was excellent, but to be honest it's the bannock (fried bread) that keeps me coming back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysLaug, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Kukstemc! (Thank you)

We appreciate you choosing to celebrate your birthday with us, and taking the time to share your wonderful experience with other TripAdvisor users considering Jack Sam's Dining Room at the Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort.

Warm regards;

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A good selection of burgers and other foods all complemented with salad or soup. Try the elk burgers!! You will not be disappointed.

Thank Mamlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysLaug, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

It is wonderful to receive such a great review from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor such as yourself. Our Food & Beverage team take great care in planning our menus to offer selections and special that appeal to a range of tastes, and incorporating aspects of our Secwepemc First Nation heritage including salmon, elk, bison, venison, and our very popular bannock.

Kukstemc!
(Thank you)

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Kendall must think her customers are stupid.
After making a reservation for outside we are told when we arrive that there is a private party there.
Ok, this stuff happens, low and behold, all night no private party shows up!
We then ask to be seated by the window and Kendall says they are all reserved.
Guess what happens? One couple is seated for 8 window tables!
Luckily our waitress was very good, BUT Kendall ruined our evening. Thanks Kendall and I hope your boss reads this

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon100_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysLaug, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

It is good to hear that your server was very good, however it is troubling to hear about your unfortunate experience with regards to your reservation and seating.

We do encourage our patrons to make advance reservations in our restaurant to help us plan seatings to ensure a pleasant and timely dining experience. With that said, from time to time we do have occasions where a group may arrive unannounced, or makes alternate plans without notifying us, leaving reserved tables unused.

Without knowing the exact particulars of your experience, it is difficult to address your particular complaint. While a public form such as this is not appropriate for discussing the performance of individual employees, I invite you to contact our General Manager Stephan Wittmer in confidence with more precise details of yor experience so that he may take steps to avoid this sort of disappointment in the future.

Sincerely;

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant also viewed

Chase, British Columbia
Chase, British Columbia
 
Chase, British Columbia
Chase, British Columbia
 
Chase, British Columbia
Chase, British Columbia
 

Been to Quaaout Lodge - Jack Sam's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing