We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second rate”
Review of Bear's Claw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear's Claw Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second rate”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This lodge looks very nice from the outside, being constructed of huge logs. The room I stayed in had adequate air conditioning, which was its saving grace. There was no chair or table, hair dryer or coffee. No refrigerator. The main room had a jetted tub next to the bed in spite of a shower in the bathroom. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank rons333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Prairie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night while visiting family. Our room was small, but cozy so we didn't mind. Staff were very friendly. Reasonable room rate, clean and comfortable. Had an excellent meal at the restaurant. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Log building , motel style ,not fancy, good showers , mosquitoes , lots of parking, food is good there , service a bit slow with new staff , menu a bit limited, ok for one night. Motel is close to downtown and major roads.

Room Tip: Not a big selection of rooms , furthest from highway are best , on a major truck route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My family had booked our room using a internet booking service - and were happy to see that the pics matched the actual room. We stayed in a room with a beautiful log bunk bed. The room was clean and comfortable for us all. The staff were very nice and inviting. We dined at the restaurant and the food was very home style and good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

When looking for pet-friendly accommodations, sometimes one can't be too picky. The Bear's Claw Lodge was a nice place to stay for the night. It was appropriately priced, considering that the rooms were a bit tight and lacking a table and chair. Amenities did include a microwave, refrigerator, and Wi-Fi, which were appreciated. The service was friendly at both the motel and restaurant, and we enjoyed a nice meal after traveling all day. The pillows were a bit thin (I bring my own, just in case). When we inquired about ice during our meal, we were kindly given some from the restaurant. The hosts seemed very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BReall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were disappointed with some things that were lacking.
We has a little wait to register as the staff were busy cleaning the lobby.
We also had a long wait when we went to make inquiries and were unable to get Sandy after ringing the bell several times. Eventually Hollie helped with our queries.
This hotel was in a place that didn't have much going for it and seemed to charge more than the neighbouring motels with less facilities.
It would have been good to have coffee/ tea making facilities or a microwave in the room.
We had read that the rooms were spotless but we didn't think so as there were hairs around that didn't belong to us!
Previous reviews had stated that the hosts were friendly but we din' find this to be true as we barely saw them.
The room was small and decor was dark.
On the plus side, it was good to have a fridge and free WiFi.
We did not eat at the cafe as we weren't too impressed with the menu.
I don't think we would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Cache Creek isn't the best place to stop the night: a series of tired looking motels and gas stations by the highway. The Bear's Claw Lodge is the best-looking alternative, and it offers a lobby and lounge area. Our room was clean, pleasant, but small and dark. No coffee-making facilities, and thin pillows and a sagging mattress. On the plus side, the quilt on the bed and general decor were a cut above a motel. Staff erratic: took some time to find anyone to check us in, but staff very friendly and helpful when we asked for water. I'm not sure if there's a better alternative on Cache Creek, and it might be best to give the town itself a miss...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cache Creek
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#3 of 10 in Cache Creek
104 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
#6 of 10 in Cache Creek
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
0.0 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#7 of 10 in Cache Creek
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Claw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Claw Lodge

Property: Bear's Claw Lodge
Address: 1492 Cariboo Highway, Cache Creek, British Columbia V0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cache Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear's Claw Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge & restaurant. The hotel has 15 comfortable, and clean rooms which cater to not only the highway traveler, but to families (Bunk bed rooms) and couples (Jacuzzi room). All rooms have outside plugs for winter parking.Situated on 2.5 acres the hotel offer loads of parking for guests trailers, motor homes and trucks. The open loft area is a perfect place to host a private dinner or meeting. The lodge offers FREE wifi to all guests in the rooms as well as the restaurant. The hotel is located close to the Cache Creek community park which has a wide array of sports fields and amazing pool in the summer. The restaurant offer homemade, Canadian cuisine in a beautiful vaulted, log cabin atmosphere. Our amazing Grizzly burger is famous for keeping travelers filled. The summer season, come enjoy the desert heat. Come and stay with us next time you are in town - we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bear's Claw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing