We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop if you can...”
Review of Bear's Claw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear's Claw Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Bear Claw Lodge in Cache Creek on the way to Vancouver. Just a quick over-nighter. Are we glad we did. Sandy, one of the owners, couldn't have been more hospitable. We were looking for a room with a microwave but they were all taken. She said she would warm up our food. She did and gave us plates, napkins and utensils.
The rooms were made of huge logs. They were warm, very clean, with good beds and duvets.
I couldn't recommend this place enough. .

Room Tip: Loads of parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janematthews8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a note - we are happy to hear your stay was enjoyed!
We are more then happy to help accommodate requests :)

Hope to see you again!!

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stopped in @ Bear Claw lodge on our way to the coast at the end of January. We had an excellent sleep in a comfy bed. The gal at the front desk (owner's daughter) was very pleasant and helpful despite us getting there just as she was leaving for the night. Our room was great. And to top it off, in the morning we left without our pillows. Since we were on the start of our trip, and did not get back to them until a month later, they were verh helpful in getting them back to us. Will definitely stop by again. Great price for a great room! Thanks so much

Room Tip: Great spot to stay!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired19542012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are happy that you got to meet Shannon, and she was able to help you. Next time your in town, and running late do feel free to give us a call 1-150-457-9705 and we can wait up and keep a room for you.

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

stayed at the bear claw lodge last night when tired driving. The extremely noisy heater was so loud i preferred to sleep in the cold, secondly I got bitten horribly on my back neck and arms by bed bugs, and they revealed they were aware of the infestation the next morning. They did refund my money but it was of little consolation. I would not go back and I recommend you stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: go wlsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lundL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments - I can confirm that we have Never had bed bugs - and are quite concerned - since we do not recall this query being raised with us. In response to this, we have had the entire building checked - and no problems were found. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wow, I'm surprises this is ranked #8 of 8 hotels in this tiny town. We had a lovely stay when we pulled in from off the road in the evening. The restaurant had great food reasonably priced, and we stayed in the jacuzzi room (how wonderful after being on the road on motorcycles) for an extremely reasonable price. Sure, it's not brand new and there's no WiFi, but it was wonderful for the size of town and price and the people were great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!! We are happy to say we do now have WiFi - up to current times now.

Hope you visit us again

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room was pretty good value and it was clean and functional. It had a spartan loghouse pioneer aesthetic and a comfy chair would have been a nice addition. It took a while to check in as the single staff person working restaurant and reservations had her hands full, but she was pleasant. WiFi was not at all dependable.

The restaurant was a hoot. I had dinner and breakfast there. Its a nice looking place airy and log-housy, but I didn't think it was good value at all. I don't have much experience eating in cache creek. The Main course was tasty, but the side salad, at around six dollars was absurdly small. Breakfast though was even crazier. My more than eight dollar fruit salad (accompanied by two pieces of toast and spreads) contained precisely twenty pieces of fruit nearly half of which were wee grapes. Maybe fruit is rare in Cache Creek, but I thought 40 or so cents a morsel was on the steep side. (of course I forget myself there was also the toast).

I ordered a side of oatmeal for $4 and though it was a little bit more cooked than I would like, but it was actually a very generous portion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember09272017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stopped at the Bears Claw Lodge on a trip from PG->VAN. Great 'bang for the buck', clean room with wifi, flat screen TV, microwave, what more could you want. The only thing that would have made it more comfy would be an extra pillow or two. The adjoined restaurant served some good grub. I'd recommend this place to friends and family as a good place to stop to fill your stomach and get some sleep before hitting the road the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgringoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

stayed there overnight
heater was so noisy we could not sleep
went to the office to ask if we could change the room, but it was closed (at 11pm)
turned heater off, but it got so cold we couldn't sleep,
we we decided to browse internet but connection was so slow it took forever
to download pages.
so if you want warm and cozy place to stay or fast internet,
stay away from this one!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cache Creek hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#4 of 10 in Cache Creek
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
#6 of 10 in Cache Creek
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
0 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#8 of 10 in Cache Creek
87 reviews
0 mi away
Bonaparte Motel
Bonaparte Motel
#3 of 10 in Cache Creek
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Claw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Claw Lodge

Address: 1492 Cariboo Highway, Cache Creek, British Columbia V0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cache Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Price Range: $57 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear's Claw Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge & restaurant. The hotel has 15 comfortable, and clean rooms which cater to not only the highway traveler, but to families (Bunk bed rooms) and couples (Jacuzzi room). All rooms have outside plugs for winter parking.Situated on 2.5 acres the hotel offer loads of parking for guests trailers, motor homes and trucks. The open loft area is a perfect place to host a private dinner or meeting. The lodge offers FREE wifi to all guests in the rooms as well as the restaurant. The hotel is located close to the Cache Creek community park which has a wide array of sports fields and amazing pool in the summer. The restaurant offer homemade, Canadian cuisine in a beautiful vaulted, log cabin atmosphere. Our amazing Grizzly burger is famous for keeping travelers filled. The summer season, come enjoy the desert heat. Come and stay with us next time you are in town - we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bear's Claw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing