We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear's Claw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear's Claw Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wow, I'm surprises this is ranked #8 of 8 hotels in this tiny town. We had a lovely stay when we pulled in from off the road in the evening. The restaurant had great food reasonably priced, and we stayed in the jacuzzi room (how wonderful after being on the road on motorcycles) for an extremely reasonable price. Sure, it's not brand new and there's no WiFi, but it was wonderful for the size of town and price and the people were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!! We are happy to say we do now have WiFi - up to current times now.

Hope you visit us again

Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
24
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room was pretty good value and it was clean and functional. It had a spartan loghouse pioneer aesthetic and a comfy chair would have been a nice addition. It took a while to check in as the single staff person working restaurant and reservations had her hands full, but she was pleasant. WiFi was not at all dependable.

The restaurant was a hoot. I had dinner and breakfast there. Its a nice looking place airy and log-housy, but I didn't think it was good value at all. I don't have much experience eating in cache creek. The Main course was tasty, but the side salad, at around six dollars was absurdly small. Breakfast though was even crazier. My more than eight dollar fruit salad (accompanied by two pieces of toast and spreads) contained precisely twenty pieces of fruit nearly half of which were wee grapes. Maybe fruit is rare in Cache Creek, but I thought 40 or so cents a morsel was on the steep side. (of course I forget myself there was also the toast).

I ordered a side of oatmeal for $4 and though it was a little bit more cooked than I would like, but it was actually a very generous portion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stopped at the Bears Claw Lodge on a trip from PG->VAN. Great 'bang for the buck', clean room with wifi, flat screen TV, microwave, what more could you want. The only thing that would have made it more comfy would be an extra pillow or two. The adjoined restaurant served some good grub. I'd recommend this place to friends and family as a good place to stop to fill your stomach and get some sleep before hitting the road the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgringoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

stayed there overnight
heater was so noisy we could not sleep
went to the office to ask if we could change the room, but it was closed (at 11pm)
turned heater off, but it got so cold we couldn't sleep,
we we decided to browse internet but connection was so slow it took forever
to download pages.
so if you want warm and cozy place to stay or fast internet,
stay away from this one!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cache Creek hotels

Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I've had occasion to stop here a few times while passing through over the last few months when hungry, and have been very pleased with the selection and quality of the food, the value of which is often hard to find between Prince George and Vancouver. When we needed a place to stop overnight, we naturally picked Bear's Claw Lodge because we also wanted a good dinner followed by a good breakfast! The accommodations followed the same high quality as the food, with very pleasing decor.
We haven't stayed at a lot of places along the Caribou Corridor, but I think you could do a lot worse! Oh, and no sign of bed bugs, but then I don't have a kid that plays hockey, either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfsierra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Was travelling with my son for a hockey tournament. This hotel is a log building (i will never again stay in a log hotel of any kind!) Long story short, there was absolutely no indication whatsoever that there were any issues at this hotel. In all honesty, the room was fine, it was clean & had character. The service was just fine at the front desk and the restaurant. No complaints at all. Until the next afternoon when my son couldn't stop scratching. By the time we got home he was completely covered in red bites, and the just kept popping up! Took him to the doctor the next day & sure enough...bed bugs! I have never had any experience with bed bugs, so needless to say I was completely disgusted. As we had slept in seperate beds (2 doubles) somehow i lucked out, not a bite on me. I was so upset that i had to have my husband call the hotel to advise them of the problem. The lady was very polite, apology and all that, but no offer of a refund, instead offered us a free lunch next time we were in town!!! Unbelievable. To top it off, she truly didn't sound surprised at all, just said she'd call the pest control that day. Ugh!
*As a sidenote-first thing the doctor asked was if the bedframe was made of wood...which it was, but it was flat, so i can only assume that it was the log walls that gave the little critters somewhere to hide. When i mentioned it was a log building he just nodded his head & said 'that would do it!". So beware!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybean055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I went to Cache Creek so that I could perform a wedding on the Saturday. We received excellent service at the hotel with a lovely very helpful maid who kept our room in good shape and well stocked with what was necessary. The highlight of service was in the restaurant. Our waitress was Jessica. She was awesome. She was so friendly and helpful that we wanted everyone to know that these ladies in the restaurant were terrific. Kudos to them all!
Rev. Roy & Elvia Hubbeard

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cache Creek
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#2 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
#6 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#4 of 10 in Cache Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#5 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Claw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Claw Lodge

Property: Bear's Claw Lodge
Address: 1492 Cariboo Highway, Cache Creek, British Columbia V0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cache Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear's Claw Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge & restaurant. The hotel has 15 comfortable, and clean rooms which cater to not only the highway traveler, but to families (Bunk bed rooms) and couples (Jacuzzi room). All rooms have outside plugs for winter parking.Situated on 2.5 acres the hotel offer loads of parking for guests trailers, motor homes and trucks. The open loft area is a perfect place to host a private dinner or meeting. The lodge offers FREE wifi to all guests in the rooms as well as the restaurant. The hotel is located close to the Cache Creek community park which has a wide array of sports fields and amazing pool in the summer. The restaurant offer homemade, Canadian cuisine in a beautiful vaulted, log cabin atmosphere. Our amazing Grizzly burger is famous for keeping travelers filled. The summer season, come enjoy the desert heat. Come and stay with us next time you are in town - we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bear's Claw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing