We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Find - Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shady Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowser
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I spent four days over our 30th anniversary in one of the two water front cottages. The room is small but had everything we needed and we even fixed a four course seafood meal in the small kitchen area. Room was well maintained, clean and the place is nice and quiet. The owner was a delight, very friendly, reminding me of great out-of-the-way places we have stayed in other countries. We highly recommend this place for a special, quiet, peaceful and friendly stay. We launched our canoe off the rocky beach with ease. Tip - make sure you go buy scallops from Qualicum Scallops that is nearby and raises them off the resort. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are more private and great for a couple if you don't need a lot of space. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessTsunami, Manager at Shady Shores Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

You made my season!!! I had so much fun out at the bonfire on that star lit night. I hope that you return for another fun filled vacation. Live, Love, Laugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

On August 17-20 ,2013, my girlfriend and I decided to take a much needed rest up island. Absolutely nothing in the way of a cabin or cottage retreat on the ocean was available except for 2places at "Shady Shores Resort"in Bowser near Qualicum Beach on Vancouver Island. Since we are 2 friends we wanted a room with 2 beds and the only place available was the "honeymoon suite"After some joking we decided to take it .After having second thoughts we called and tried to cancel but the owner said that was not possible because she needed 30 DAYS notice! We paid via credit card and ventured up . The so called suite was small with a tiny "patio"with 2 dirty chairs. The furnishings were old, worn out and the bed, although clean, was covered in a disgusting old quilt. The first thing I did was check for bedbugs, that's how creepy this place was. None found.The tiny bathroom had a new toilet,s ink and very small old shower we refused to use.The tv was old and cracked and the "decor" consisted of dusty dried floral arrangement.The whole place screamed"VALUE VILLAGE!!!" Which wouldn't have been so bad IF WE WERE NOT PAYING $263 per nite in total of $790 !!!!!!!! For 3 nights! We ended up spending the first night there due to exhaustion but not until we arranged to leave ASAP in the AM. We were able to get into THE OLD HOUSE HOTEL AND SPA for half the cost of this DUMP! Needless to say the"Proprietor" was about "on par" with her so called resort!I tried to politely explain that what she was selling was way overpriced.In short order she raised her voice and told me to get out and promptly slammed the door on my face. This was one person who is short on manners and professionalism. Of course no money was returned. Scum comes to mind!!!!!! Beware!!!!

Room Tip: READ ALL REVIEWS FIRST! See the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessTsunami, Manager at Shady Shores Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Although it is rare that we come upon those whom will stoop to these levels to obtain free accommodations, it is blatantly clear with terms such as "value village, scum" Where these people are coming from. "you know they're out there you just hope they are not breeding"!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We absolutely love the Bowser area and were really excited to stay at the Shady Shores Resort. It's a 'hobby' of ours to stay at Resorts all over Vancouver Island, so we were happy to try somewhere new. The resort was very accommodating of our schedule, and overall the visit was very nice with beautiful scenery. It was too cold to go out on the water, unfortunately, but that is definitely something that we would have wanted to do if we'd stayed during a warmer season. The only things that could be improved on was the kitchenware (we couldn't even use the can opener and it all seemed pretty old) and the lack of kitchen supplies (usually in cabins such as this there will be some coffee/cooking spices/basics in the cupboards) - neither of these things are deal breakers, but good to know in advance. There was a bit of a stench when we first arrived, but we found out later that there was a clam that a previous guest must have put on the shelf and the cleaners missed haha. This is the perfect sort of place to stay with a family or large group because there is lots of space and lots you can do outside!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank van_Juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

3 girlfriends and I just spent the November long weekend at the Shady Shores and had a wonderful relaxing time while there. Although the weather was stormy, it was so cool to see AND hear the waves crashing onto the shore. The hot tub is located perfectly so we could take in the ambiance of the beautiful shoreline and because it is undercover, the rain did not deter us from enjoying it for a few hours with our plastic cups filled with wine! The owner was most attentive and helpful. Our rooms were comfortable and cozy. This place is unassuming and the perfect place for a getaway with the girls OR a significant someone. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Recently stayed a night at the Shady Shores Beach Resort, 'Beach Log Cabin'. Overall the property is fairly nice, but its clear the owners have given no attention to detail or the importance of hospitality. Besides signs posted absolutely everywhere telling you what you cannot do, the place has a cold feeling (that may have been from the fact that the owner was too cheap to turn the furnace on for us). In addition the 'rule book' displayed on the kitchen table makes one feel like they are crossing an international boarder or something along those lines as it lacks any sort of 'welcome' or 'thank you', and threatens financial penalties at the end of absolutely every sentence. If the property wasn't in such a beautiful location there is no doubt in my mind that this operation would be out of business. Compared to every other condo or house i have every rented, the operation of this place was a joke!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 365mustacheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessTsunami, Manager at Shady Shores Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

It is unfortunate that we have to list requirements to follow in our home, but it is more unfortunate that there are those whom believe that with their rental they are provided the allowance to disrespect our property. Thus the list has been made, and continues with new additions, as common sense and respect is tested time after time. Some of our guests are not privy to septic treatment plants and how they become disfunctional with the addition of feminine hygene products ect. And then there are those whom are unaware how tides work and choose to leave the watercraft on the beach. Others believe that the hot tub is a bathtub, and the propane fire pit can roast marshmallows. Because this is a private home, we do not have the ability to guide our uninformed guests prior to these subsequent acts, therefore we just continue to make additions to the list. As for the comment on the furnace....we ALWAYS stoke the wood stove long before our guests arrive during the cold months. The Home is warm and cozy before their arrival, unless of course they show up early. There are thermostats located in each and every room should our guest require additional heat, and only a touch of the switch, and WALA electric heat is provided. Or if the guest is uncomfortable in any way, they can contact the office at any time, so we can look after any concern immediately. Or of course they can be uncomfortable for their stay and go home and write about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

From September 7 – 10, we enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of Shady Shores. We were in Cabin #6 which is directly adjacent to the beach. Through the front window we watched sunrise creep over the horizon, salmon jumping, a heron, seals frolicking, a cruise ship or two off in the distance and the purple and pink skies at sunset. We did a little touring and visited the wacky woods, the market at Coombs, Little Qualicum Falls Park and Cathedral Grove (MacMillan Park). All of these places are within easy driving distance. One of the coolest things was watching the salmon jump. According to Carolina, our host, the salmon were waiting for rain so they could swim upstream. They were quite numerous and jumped continuously very close to shore. The water would also appear to “boil” when they swam in circles in large groups. Although we did not see any, Carolina told us killer whales sometimes make an appearance too.

We appreciated the book containing specific guidelines for disposal of garbage, etc. Although not intentional, without guidelines the environment can easily become contaminated.

When on holiday, everyone is looking for something different. Our stay at Shady Shores was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent a week here late in August 2012. Shady Shores is a beautiful, small and somewhat secluded beach resort. The units appear almost new, with an extremely well appointed with a fully equipped kitchen, two good-sized bedrooms and a small living room with a pull out sofa. We started with just three of us and it was roomy and comfortable. When the rest of the family showed up (3 more) with two in each room and the sofabed, we still didn't feel cramped.

The shoreline is spectacular (fishing literally jumping out of the water 100 feet away from us) and we were able to have a beach bonfire each time (something that we haven't been able to enjoy elsewhere). The kids even roasted marshmallows and other guests joined us.

During the day I could sit on the lawnchairs and watch my kids play on the beach without a worry. My son (who is autistic) was treated with respect and was able to do his own thing. WE travel frequently and I never found a more accepting attitude and respect elsewhere.

Shopping locally was a treat with fresh food and local meat. Local people were incredibly friendly and helpful. We shopped in Parksville as well and enjoyed the family adventure center with mini-golf and bumper boats (less than 1/2 hour away from the resort)

The owner Carole was friendly and outgoing. Wish I had more time off to spend here. I hope to come back soon (maybe in the fall). Extremely reasonable rates ... I paid twice as much to rent a TRAILER and spot in Penticton for a week! this is by far the more civilized way to "camp".

Kudos to Carole and Shady Shores. We will return

Room Tip: They are all good - all face the seashore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowser
16.6 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
250 reviews
23.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
955 reviews
19.1 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
247 reviews
9.6 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#5 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
129 reviews
17.0 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Shores Beach Resort

Address: 6695 Island Hwy W | British Columbia, Bowser, British Columbia V0R 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Bowser
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowser
Price Range: $124 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shady Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddle along the tranquil shores on the east coast of Vancouver Island. Relax in our oceanfront hot tub while watching the eagles soar and cruise ships passing by. Gather around a beach bonfire. Enjoy clams/oysters picked from our beach. Hike on trails through pristine local forests. Enjoy a round of golf at one of the sixteen golf courses within an hours drive. Centrally located for day trips to many points of interest on Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Shady Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Shores Beach Hotel Bowser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing