We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are kidding right? Glacier Mountain Lodge rip-off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You are kidding right? Glacier Mountain Lodge rip-off”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We left Vancouver and arrived at Blue River, tired and hungry, it was around 9.30 at night, and we needed a bed. $115.00 says the man behind the counter!! "Yes", he says, breakfast is included.

With little option, we paid the outrageous price, and took our key. The room was old, the furniture mismatched, and looked like it had been donated to the hotel by an ex landlord hoping to dump his old furniture.

It was very hot last weekend and unfortunately the windows didn't open, so we spent a very rough night. Thankfully we were too tired and fell asleep. The next morning, we awoke, hungry and ready for breakfast. Breakfast was a self serve, of assorted croissant, fruit, packaged oatmeal, a coffee machine and hot water for tea. Not nice.

I would not recommend this 'lodge', which is really no more than a trumped up motel. These people know they have a captured clientele - If you reach Blue River and you have no where to stay late at night, they know you have little option and will pay what they ask.

By the way there is no restaurant on site, nor is it licenced. So if you have small children, like we did, bring your own food. The 'suggestion' that we pack our kids down the road for a bite to eat, at 10.00pm just didn't work for us. We went to bed hungry.

Room Tip: Pre-book your accommodation when you travel, plan ahead, don't get caught paying outrageous ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
52
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed several times when driving between Edmonton and Vancouver. It is right on the highway but is quiet and clean with good-sized rooms. They are pet-friendly. The continental self-service breakfast is good, but no other meals are available. You can get dinner at Tony's Grill, a 5 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sometimes driving mountain roads at night, while tired, and in bad weather, is a bad idea. The Glaciar Mountain Lodge is ideally located in Blue River, about mid way between Kelowna and Edmonton. Large but basic rooms - what you would expect. Continental breakfast included and tea and coffee available in the common room any time.

Pricey for what it is - but on the highway, convenient and right beside the gas station (there is a cheaper motel in town but I drove around for 10 minutes and failed to locate it....so turned back).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spudyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Traveling with a 7 mth old, we need a clean, safe hotel to stop in. This hotel is just that; perfectly half-way between yeg and yvr, it is a clean, comfortable hotel and has a great breakfast included in the price. Book early as it fills up quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We thought that a hotel in a small village on an interior BC highway would treat its visitors like a captive audience. We were wrong (thankfully)! The $140/night was totally in line with what should be expected. Rooms were clean, service was friendly, etc. I would stay again on the YEG - YVR drive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smivies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A motel-style place with terrific views. Blue River is only a small town with limited accommodation and Glacier Mountain Lodge suited our needs. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and warm and although the continental breakfast was basic there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Needed a bed and some supper on our travels to B.C.
It was recently renovated and did smell of paint, but still quite ugly.
It was comfortable enough, but there was no coffee pot in the room, you have to go down to the little common room. There was also some bagels and toast to get you on your way.
Overall, if you just need a bed in a good in between location, it fits the bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theboogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blue River hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Blue River
Sandman Inn Blue River
#1 of 1 in Blue River
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue River Campground
Blue River Campground
#2 of 3 in Blue River
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bone Creek Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
0.3 mi away
Blue River Motel
Blue River Motel
#3 of 4 in Blue River
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Mountain Lodge

Property: Glacier Mountain Lodge
Address: 849 Shell Road (Yellowhead Highway #5) | P.O. Box 27, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Blue River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glacier Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Mountain Lodge is a European-style mountain lodge nestled in the valley between the Monashee and Cariboo Mountains, bordering Wells Gray Provincial Park in Blue River, British Columbia, Canada. Special stay packages for snowmobile vacations are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing