We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stay in a Remote Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue River Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue River Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Stay in a Remote Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a room with a kitchenette and it had all the necessary dishes, pots, etc. to make our own meals. The unit we were in was on ground level and had a queen bed in a small separate bedroom with a door on it. Overall, the amenities were all there and were quite acceptable for such a small remote location. The only negative aspect was that the carpets were very dirty and needed cleaning. We used our foam bed topper to soften the bed. The motel was full to capacity by six o’clock. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
29
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a great place to stop over when traveling Edmonton to Vancouver! It was a hot day and we got in mid-afternoon, which turned out to be perfect. There is a beautiful little lake in town with beach-side picnic tables (great swimming set-up, too, although we didn't swim this trip). We shopped at the general store and took advantage of the spotless kitchenette in our room for dinner, which also helped make for a relaxing break in the trip. Our suite was very clean, with everything in great repair. Although there was no air conditioning, both the living area and bedroom were equipped with good fans. Beds were very comfy. The hotel provided a discount coupon for a nearby restaurant, which we used at breakfast. You'll be amazed by the value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a great stopover place when enroute. My room was small but still managed to contain a good size table & chairs, a fridge (much appreciated), a stove/oven and a microwave. The bed was new and extremely comfortable. No bath but as a shower person, that was not a problem. There is no air conditioning but the ceiling fan and windows on both sides of the room managed to keep the temperature inside quite comfortable (and this on one of the hottest days of the year). There is a little wear and tear evident and the carpets could use a good shampoo but everything else looked clean. Also, I'm not a big fan of bedspreads....heaven only knows how often they are cleaned so I just removed it completely. The staff are extremely pleasant. I did hear the trains at night but they are far enough away that you aren't jolted out of your sleep. All in all, this place is fantastic value for money if you just want a bed on your to or from somewhere. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 101 has a pop machine right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klahanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We needed a place to stay one night on our way from Kelowna to Edmonton so we booked a room at this motel. It was perfect! Clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and full bathroom (apparently there are smaller units with no bath) so it was more than we needed. The price was excellent as well. We will stay there again if we are ever travelling the same route again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank China_Kimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice little motel! We stayed in a two bedroom ground floor unit. It was clean and looks as though recent reno's have taken place. There was a little dish of mints on the kitchen table...nice touch. Clean, quiet, and comfy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheGoFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very nice bed, very noisy train and I like the window open.
Great location in the back of town and so comfy and clean.
Full kitchen is uncexpected treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Motel staff are very friendly, the rooms are really clean and bright, the price is very reasonable.
The cleaning staff are always more than willing to help you is you need any extras.
It is awesome to pull into a motel, check in and unload your vehicle with no hassles. The
Motel grounds are nicely done with flowers, lawn and picnic tables. Plus laundry facilities!
A full functional kitchen to make something to eat and unwind.

I would definitely recommend this Motel to friends and family and would rate it 5 stars.

Sincerely,
Lori
Princeton,BC

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blue River hotels
0.3 mi away
Glacier Mountain Lodge
Glacier Mountain Lodge
#2 of 4 in Blue River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Blue River
Sandman Inn Blue River
#1 of 1 in Blue River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue River Campground
Blue River Campground
#2 of 2 in Blue River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bone Creek Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Motel

Property: Blue River Motel
Address: 791 Spruce Street, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Blue River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue River Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing