We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Summer Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the spacious luxury chalets. The beds were extremely comfortable and we were not bothered by the noise of the trains or the highway. We enjoyed the walk to the lake and the more adventurous went swimming. The chalet was well equipped though the kitchen was missing a cutting board. The first day we were there the weather was beautiful and it would have been nice to have been able to sit outside. We spent the evenings in front of the fire watching DVDs we had brought on the huge flat screen tv.

Room Tip: The extra money for the luxury chalet was well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to our chalet, my initial thought was that it was stunning. Then we opened the door and saw the open kitchen and sitting area in front of the full stone fireplace and thought "you've got to be kidding". As we found the double king beds and fell into them (incredibly comfortable) it was affirming that we'd had a great family vacation to the bc island; but to end with such a beautiful location in such a fabulous chalet - it couldn't have been better.

The location is perfect between Edmonton and nanaimo - almost exactly half way.
The accommodations are brilliant for a mountainous lodge and chalet ... For the people that have not liked this spot - are you kidding?? Best to stay in the concrete jungle and the four seasons.... This place was breathe-taking. Our family spent a couple hours after breakfast taking in the lake, walking and fishing and swimming- it was an absolute blast.
The staff were very friendly, the main lodge was warm and inviting ... Could almost manage living in blue river if it was at that chalet....

Very memorable, great value for the money, stunning locale and views and experiences.... One if not the highlights of our vacation. I would highly recommend this place for wary travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We did not find location terribly impressive, it is next to the highway in a somewhat isolated area.
Mountains view is nowhere as nice as Jasper. Public beach at Lake closeby was nice however.

Our ground floor apartment was spacious and nicely furbished but did not have any view, was quite dark in fact.
Superb bathroom, nice TV but no fridge. No breakfast.
Overall value for money not so great in our view.

Only a couple of restaurant closeby and the one linked to the lodge was average, and we had a long waiting time.
There are quite a few mosquitos in summer !

I'd guess experience is different in the winter.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank EricS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights (husband in a wheelchair plus 3 kids (14, 12 and 9). Lovely welcome and very impressed with our chalets. We had steam showers and jacuzzi baths in each chalet but couldn't work the steam shower out at all!! Very frustrating! It was extremely warm in chalets even with the air con(which has to be done by a member of staff) - so didn't sleep very well at all. It would be very useful if the chalet had a fridge and perhaps a microwave, as the closest place to get something to eat is over Highway 5! The food at restaurant is very good though. Also would be good to have a bench outside to sit on. The accessible chalet was good except for the shower and bath which were inaccessible to my husband!! Trains are extremely noisy. The paths around the site would benefit from being made level for wheelchairs etc. lovely lake for swimming with a slide that kids loved and a beach area. Also it would be good to have a torch in the place (in case of need!). We had a chalet that had interconnecting doors and the walls etc were quite thin,there was also a constant humming sound!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have a four person crew and we stayed in the Pipeline cabin. It is the BEST place we have ever stayed for work. Great rooms each with ensuite, decent kitchen facilities and a nice dining and living area.

Room Tip: Go for one of the chalets, they are great value compared to the lakeside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petiteTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review as I don't want this little secret gem to be revealed! We had to make a not so pleasant trip to Edmonton in June and a friend jokingly mentioned staying in Blue River as it is the half way point between Victoria and Edmonton. I decided to check it out a bit further and came across the website. Prices seemed more than reasonable for the amazing amenities listed and after the week my husband and I had, we needed the pick me up. I called to make reservations and the woman was amazing. Very friendly, helpful, and accommodating (we were also travelling with 2 dogs and 8 month old). Upon check in, we were again greeted by an incredibly friendly woman and were assured a nice peaceful stay. After being amazed by the scenic location of trees, mountains, and the river right near the lodges, we were floored by the gorgeous log cabin room we were in. Comfy giant king bed, wonderful jacuzzi tub, and the steam shower, we were in heaven! A walk around the property revealed some nice walking trails that led to a little lake and playground. We only wished we had the time to stretch out our stay longer. It was the perfect remedy for our weary souls. Oh, and the mention of some reviewers of the train, well yes, we could hear it but for us, it only added to our stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have known Mike Wiegele since 1965. He looked after hundreds of university students from Manitoba who came out to Banff to ski during the mid to late 1960's. We had the time of our lives. He organized our introductions to the mountains, all our lessons, lift tickets, meals, evening entertainments. Not one detail was overlooked; not one student was left out.

There was an effort to outdo anyone in the world for hospitality.

He tried to please "all the people, all the time." Now 47 years later, he can be found still doing the same. Outstanding accommodation, food, the world's best helicopter skiing in powder snow made by the gods. You feel his warmth, kindness, attention to detail, caring for your comfort and safety.

Back when I first met him, we were both young men. He had a plan for the next fifty years. Today, he has a plan for the next 50 years. He is not only providing outstanding hospitality today, but for his grandchildren and their children in 2065.

Would that all our corporate and government leaders could think and act so carefully and so far ahead for their clients and voters. Bravo Mike, keep up the good work! I'll meet you in the best office and vacation home in the world" Mike Wiegele's playground in the Canadian Mountains.

Room Tip: Every room is a masterpiece. They are all as good as it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blue River hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountain Lodge
Glacier Mountain Lodge
#3 of 4 in Blue River
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue River Motel
Blue River Motel
#2 of 4 in Blue River
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Inn Blue River
Sandman Inn Blue River
#1 of 1 in Blue River
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
No photo provided
Saddle Mountain Lodge
#2 of 3 in Blue River
2 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bone Creek Wilderness Retreat
0.6 mi away
Blue River Campground
Blue River Campground
#3 of 3 in Blue River
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing

Address: 1 Harrwood Drive, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Blue River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Hotel Class:4 star — Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Accommodations Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing resort is a summer retreat, beautifully situated on the shores of Eleanor Lake. It is a convenient overnight option, a peaceful weekend getaway or the perfect place to host your family retreat or function. Guests stay in one of 22 handcrafted log chalets that are nestled throughout the lush gardens and landscape of the resort. All Chalets come equipped with free WiFi, satellite TV, while our private and luxury chalets feature stone fireplace, kitchen, jacuzzi tub or steam shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing