We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knights Inn Barriere
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barriere
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Some drawbacks, but for the money it's a steal.

Paid $62 a night going through Wyndham website.
http://www.knightsinn.com/hotels/british-columbia/barriere/knights-inn-barriere/hotel-overview

2 floors

This is a hotel - NOT a motel.

New tile in the hallways

Some rooms are pet friendly - we had two labs (emailed in advance and got the ok)

Whole building is non-smoking. When we entered the room it had a bit of smokey smell - I think the AC until was pulling it in from outside.

Back of the building has a firepit and some kids playground stuff. Made for a good area for dog walking.

Hotel room was small, had two double beds, small 70's fridge, TV with dresser and a chair - no table.

TV had a huge number of channels through digital cable.

Washroom was fine - toilet was was slow and clogged "a bit" once but no biggie.

I'd stay here again if I didn't have the dogs with me. We ended up on the 2nd floor and with the pooches, that was a challenge. I prefer a motel when the pups are in tow.

Pub and Armour Resturant are attached to the building - didn't get to try the pub but the Armour Restaurant is average but the prices were VERY, VERY good. Sides - Texas toast (2 thick pieces) for $2.50, $1 for an egg, $1.50 for coffee. I had four poached eggs, four slices of thick toast and a coffee for $10.50! My mother asked for scrambled eggs two days in a row and both times the eggs were overcooked. Before the second breakfast it was mentioned and the eggs were marginally better but still overcooked.

Hotel staff were great - both front desk on check-in and housekeeping. The waitress in the morning in the restaurant didn't seem to care much. Mentioned to her about the eggs and she didn't seem to care. She said she say something to the kitchen. After the overcooked scrambled eggs again - I said something again about them being overcooked. She said 'oh, ok' - and that was it. We went elsewhere for the next morning's breaky. Station House is good down the street - walking distance from the hotel too.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a 1st floor as it's cooler than the 2nd floor rooms. AC was getting a workout w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed the night as we passed through to Saskatchewan. It was low cost and the rooms were comfortable - comfy beds but rooms are small, especially for a family of 4. There is a bar that was loud so we questioned our stay but upstairs and behind 2 doors we didn't hear a sound. Front clerk seemed friendly and polite when we arrived; however, a guest came from his room with questions regarding the television, she explained how to operate it but as soon as he left she had rude comments towards him which I found was rude and unprofessional. Would we stay there again? Yes, but only when passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnChipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was small, it had two double bed, no room to walk around but it was clean. Service was good, friendly. Will stay there again but only for one ngiht while passing though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Canadian_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed one night on our journey from Whistler to Jasper. From the pictures and price I had fairly limited expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was relatively small and simply furnished. The adjoining cafe/restaurant had a good menu and very reasonably priced for dinner and breakfast with very friendly staff and used by many locals dressed in full cowboy hats and boots! All in all, a great little road diner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

When I first booked this hotel I wasn't expecting much so it may have been my lowered expectations but I was very pleasantly surprised by this property. The service is top-notch, you feel welcome the moment you first encounter the staff. The facility is very clean and in better condition than the even the official pictures would indicate. The rooms weren't perfect, our TV was an old CRT and the remote control didn't work but we didn't care because we just watched shows on our laptop with the free WiFi anyways. The shower water temperature can change depending on what your neighbour is doing but other than that the place was just fine. The rooms aren't spacious but they're nice and a fridge in the room is very handy on a road trip. The ajoining bar had great drink specials - even the regular prices were very good. One odd thing is that they still use keys to get into room rather than keycards. We stayed twice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cow_manx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed overnight on our way to Jasper. Rooms were quite small and could have been cleaner (found someone else's bra beside the bed!). Lobby however was clean and inviting and staff was friendly. We had supper at the restaurant which turned out to be very good. Not sure if I would stay there again. I would probably try other motels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on canada day. july 1st 2011.It was very nice and clean.very good service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barriere
0.3 mi away
Monte Carlo Motel
Monte Carlo Motel
#1 of 3 in Barriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
19.8 mi away
Rivermount Motel
Rivermount Motel
#1 of 2 in Little Fort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dream Catcher Inn
Dream Catcher Inn
#3 of 17 in Valemount
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barriere

Property: Knights Inn Barriere
Address: 4347 Yellowhead Highway, Barriere, British Columbia V0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Barriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Barriere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knights Inn Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing