We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, rustic comfort”
Review of Seine Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seine Boat Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Alert Bay is a tiny island accessible via ferry off the coast of Northern Vancouver Island. It is a wondrous place, alive with culture, history and nature. There, you will a community of friendly people, living in benign isolation. It is home to the remarkable Namgis First Nation, who have lived in this area for thousands of years. It has a world-class museum, the Umista Cultural Center, a rustic, laid back feel and is the perfect jumping off point to the magnificent Broughton Archipelago, one of Canada's natural crown jewels

Until recently, it lacked great accommodation to match Alert Bay's other fabulous attributes. Friendly, crusty and fun old Colin Ritchie has changed all that with his delightful Seine Boat Inn. The Inn is built on stilts, right over the water, in an old, lovingly restored cannery building that hails back to the towns days as a major salmon fishing and processing center. Colin has been buying and restoring many of the old cannery row buildings on the waterfront, and painting them in cheerful, even riotous colours. He even bought three old British double decker buses that he plans to turn into a bus service. Only in Alert bay...

The Seine Boat Inn is superb. The views over the water, looking across to the mountains on Vancouver Island are great. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, with well equipped kitchenettes. I have been going to Alert Bay regularly for 12 years. It's never been this good. I was there last week. I'll be back next week and look forward to staying in room 104 or 105, with the zero edge, glass-lined balcony with comfy Muskoka chairs and the great beds.

See you soon, Colin.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 and 105 have fabulous views and arched ceilings with exposed fir beams.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElegantGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Seine Boat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Seine Boat Inn is a great place to stay in Alert Bay, an interesting coastal town. The rooms are bright, and designed with attention to detail. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the flowers on the decks are spectacular. Colin is an excellent host and we would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Seine Boat Inn

We spent two nights at the Seine Boat Inn in August and it was a magic experience.
The ruggedly sophisticated, charming and personable owner, Colin, created this inn with great imagination, care and know-how, converting an old cannery into a two story B&B whose rooms project out over the water, inviting the guest into an intimate experience of water and sky.
We stayed in the Kitgora room and felt enveloped in the intimate experience of the sights and sounds of water, ever-changing sky and clouds, leisurely observing Kingfishers, herons, bald eagles and the coming and going of the ferry.
In the evening, we watched the sunset from the comfortable deck which surrounds the inn, and at dawn we watched and listened to daybreak in slow motion, without even having to get out of bed.
Our room was simply but attractively furnished and included a kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, range, etc.
The bed was very comfortable, with excellent pillows, linens and bedding. Everything about the room was pleasing, functional and imaginatively done.
We also very much enjoyed Colin's welcoming and personable style and his desire to make his guests comfortable in every way.

Paul and Sophia

Room Tip: We loved the Kitgora room, but try for another room facing the water if Kitgora is not available. Th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

These self catering apartments are perfectly position to offer a great view and quiet retreat no matter which room you choose. You can see the care Colin has given to renovating this former cannery and from the flower filled planters to the comfortable linens and beds, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Everything you need (even a hair dryer) are there - rooms are spotless, bright and airy - and the bed very comfortable . We stayed in the Kitgora room - with it's private deck on the water and wall to wall windows, we woke up each morning to a beautiful view. Our host Colin was welcoming and had some great trips to ensure we enjoyed our trip as well as going above and beyond for us, Our daughter had called to arrange for flowers in our room for our anniversary and rather than upset her plans as there is no flower shop in Alert Bay, Colin simply picked an array of flowers from his own garden and arranged them in a beautiful bouquet that was waiting for us on our arrival. Thank you Colin- we hope to stay with you again soon - maybe the double decker bus will be up and running,

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the rooms with deck on the water - like the Kitgora - you won't re...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week. Colin the owner went out of his way to make our stay pleasant and memorable. The inn is over the water and has terrific views of the water and Vancouver Island. The rooms have a rustic theme and are very clean and comfortable. If you are planning on visiting Alert Bay, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end of the building have the best view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwilli8620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After kayaking and camping, the inn was a perfect compliment. Built over the water, its deck is a great place to enjoy the late afternoon sun and view. Colorful flowers line the railings. A bald eagle perches on a post in the water. The room was wonderful, both beautiful and comfortable. Planning to make some meals, little extras — salt & pepper, paper towels, dish soap — were greatly appreciated. Even did a load of laundry. A grocery store and restaurants are an easy walk. Along with Colin's hospitality, this is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staceyinbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We planned to stay one night, but after seeing the place, booked two! This is a BEAUTIFUL little spot in Alert Bay. Colin, the owner, was delightful, the accommodations were first class with wonderful little touches in the decor and the structure of the place. The view across the water was phenomenal and peaceful and really made our stay in Alert Bay wonderful. Everything is walkable from here. Thank you Colin, from David and Alysoun. We will be back.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms at the end of the building have an excellent and stunning water view. The others are lo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alysoun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alert Bay
4.8 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
6.8 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bayside Inn
The Bayside Inn
#3 of 4 in Alert Bay
15 reviews
5.9 mi away
Orca Lodge
Orca Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sointula
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seine Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seine Boat Inn

Address: 60 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range: $114 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seine Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seine Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing