We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Motel”
Review of Ainsworth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ainsworth Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Charming Motel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ainsworth Motel is located beautifully close to the famous Ainsworth Hot Springs, overlooking the scenic Kootenay Lake. My wife and I have stayed here for a couple of nights during the May long weekend. We have booked the unit 6 with a queen size bed, kichinette and a commanding view over the lake. Our stay was great, enjoying a spotless room, a large bathroom and all the other facilities that made us happy. A very heartfelt thank-you goes to Glen and Elaine, the owner of Ainsworth Motel, who make us feel valued and appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My 2 children and I stayed here and I would like to say that it was a great experience not only is the Owners amazilnly friendly and accomidating the view was beautiful! We stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed longer :)) I would recommend this place to my family and friends, we will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great little motel, felt very much like home and the owners could not have been nicer. With free WiFi, a BBQ and close to the hot spring (we even got towels so we didn't have to rent them up there for $8 a piece) we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theozH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Ainsworth Motel in Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia sits about 300 yards from the resort that offers the finest hot springs pools I have ever experienced. For about $10, you can enter and submerge into a hot pool (about 104 degrees) and walkinto a horseshoe shaped natural cave to steam a bit. There is a warm pool down below (bath temperature) that is quite large and shallow, designed for children and for adults who wish to hang out and have long talks, or just close their eyes and relax. In addition, there is a chilly pool for cooling off (about
40 degrees).

The resort is nice enough, very expensive, and the meals in the dining room are okay, but not anywhere near 4 star quality. Rather, go up 3 miles to JB's Pub for either cod or halibut fish & chips, then best I've had, including my stays in England and Scotland. And ask at the Motel for directions to the small restaurant in nearby Kaslo for breakfast and/or lunch. Kaslo was recently named the most beautiful city in British Columbia, and that is saying a lot when you consider all of those islands on its west coast.

The Motel has a deck where one can sit back and look across Lake Kootenay to the Canadian Rockies. What a wondrous place to vacation. Or -- to settle down and live there.

Room Tip: Room #7 is a corner two adjoining rooms for four adults or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a great experience. Was welcomed and given tips by the wonderful owner throughout our stay. The place was very comfortable and clean. I loved having the kitchenette, fridge and we were even able to use the bbq. Its about a 2 minute walk to the Hot Springs and I couldn't have asked for a better place to relax. Had a wonderful view of the lake and was able to walk down towards the water. We had no problems finding it and it was a beautiful drive from Spokane.Great place to stay on a budget!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahM174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

You are greeted by a very warm & friendly couple. The view of the lake is beautiful and the rooms are cozy. Just a short walk up the road to the hot springs, which are always lovely. The rooms come with all you need for a kitchenette. I brought a cooler and that is all :) There is a lovely deck and grassy area with a BBQ that you are welcome to use, how great is that! This is a place I will stay again! Thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

For bicyclists doing the Selkirk Loop "super side trip" up to from Creston to Kaslo/New Denver, staying at this motel was a perfect experience. A world class view across a 90 mile long lake up into snowy high country. A safe low traffic road with good pavement to ride on. Nice room with kitchenettes, a restaurant, and hot springs a short walk away . The owners see to your needs as a bicyclist with a concern for your property. Selkirk Loop bicycle map is on the web. The super side trip is is titled "North Kootenay Lake and Silvery Slocan Lake". It should be on the touring cyclist's "Bucket List". Ainsworth Motel is est 40 miles to New Denver and 62 miles to Creston passing through an artist community and ferry ride. DO IT and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.8 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
131 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
680 reviews
22.6 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#10 of 10 in Nelson
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Motel

Property: Ainsworth Motel
Address: 3595 Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We won the 2016 Travellers Choice Award for Canada under the Budget category. We are still working hard at making updates. 8 beds were replaced last spring with top of the line memory foam and gel beds. Have 3 select rooms that are pet friendly. Beautiful Historic Ainsworth Hot Springs, BC, Canada, just a 2 minute walk to the relaxing naturally hot pools. Ainsworth Motel offers a unique country setting with clean, quiet and comfortable rooms at lowest prices in town! We have queen bed rooms with kitchenette units, Queen and Double bed with kitchenettes, as well as a large fully furnished family unit(sleeps up to 6-8) with complete kitchen facilities & separate bedroom, all with a breathtaking view of beautiful Kootenay Lake and its surrounding mountains. We offer complimentary coffee, tea, makeup wipes, shampoo/conditioner, soap, microwave, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, a front deck and lawn area complete with 2 BBQ's and picnic tables all at an affordable price. Family friendly with lawn games, books and board games to entertain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hotel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing