We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place needs a reno! Far from a resort. Very overpriced!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place needs a reno! Far from a resort. Very overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This place needs a reno, my room looks nothing like the panflet. I'm starring at green curtens, green carpet, and pink wall paper. The hotel resembles a cheap $40 motel, and I paid $150 for a night stay at this "resort" however it does include admission to the hot springs. Make sure to get a room "with a view" otherwise you will get a view of dirt and weeds.

Customer service is horrible, the front desk staff is bad, the lady smells like she was at a smoky pub all day and looks tired and seemed to have had a rough day.

As far as dinning, food is good but very overpriced $15-$25 for an entree and not much food for the price.

The pool was packed, change rooms are small and very rundown (like the rest of the "resort"). No snack bar at the pool either so bring a snack but don't get caught, I'm sure you will get kicked out if you are trying to feed your child. The caves are neat, water is hot and very relaxing, however the pools are so busy during the day, make sure to go early in the morning to get the experenice.

Overall, check out the springs, stay away from the "resort"

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buffalodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    119
    47
    24
    26
See reviews for
82
183
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

The staff, the pools and cave, the restaurant, the accomodation have been consistentaly great over the last few years that we have been there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_Traveler_3999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I were in Ainsworth for our first romantic getaway together and had booked at the Mermaid Lodge and Motel. Upon arriving, we were horrified with the state of the room and the "service", so we headed next door to the Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort.

Here, we were met with some of the best service I have ever received from a front desk. Lisa was so helpful giving us reccomendations on what to do and who to call about the Mermaid, and this was BEFORE we were guests at the resort. She was genuinely sympathetic and gave us some tips, without trying to sell us a room. We just loved her.

Once we got everything figured out, (and became local "celebrities" for the stay because of our situation) we were amazed to hear that a night at the Resort was just a couple of dollars over the price of the Mermaid, (even less due to the free admission to the hot springs) and booked for a night.

The rooms were just as portrayed in the pamphlets, simply gorgeous with white and gold accents. The hotel was spotless, and we were so relieved to finally be alone in a beautiful, stress-free room. We stayed in a standard Queen room, and decided that we would be booking for another night the minute we stepped foot in the room.

We used the hotsprings a total of four times, and had a fantastic time. I loved the restaurant, which was casual in the morning and more upscale in the evening. The morning waitress was hilarious and fun, while the evening waiter went out of his way to provide astounding service.

I felt like we were really treated like family, chatting with the owner and a few other employees. I'll never forget how the staff of the Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort came to our aid and saved our first vacation together.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

My wife and I were having a bad experience with the hotel next door and the Staff at the Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort really put an effort to put a smile back on our faces:) The price of the hotel was really worth it because we used the Hotsprings at least 4 times. There was a nice restaurant at the hotel; they offer breakfast in the morning which is rather inexpensive, and in the evening the atmosphere of the restaurant seemed to become more romantic and classy. Even though the price seemed to go up in the evening; the presentation, the service, and the food was spectacular.

There are also great little trails behind the hotel that lead up the mountain. The view up there is magnificant.

The area is very beautiful, and there are trendy little towns like Kaslo that offer some culture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veritas050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We've been to this resort (if you can call it that) four times now and this was the last time we will ever stay here. The front desk staff needs a SERIOUS review on how to treat repeat customers. They were unbelievably rude, that if there was a decent hotel down the street, that's where we would have gone instead. They wouldn't give us a free upgrade, (most hotels do so without hesitation when they've seen you've been there before) they insisted on PROVING I had a BCAA card in order to offer any discounts and in the morning at 11:20am (check out time was 11:00). THEY PHONED THE ROOM AND ASKED WHAT TIME WE WERE LEAVING!!! Honestly - have you EVER had that happen to you??? It wasn't like she asked, if we were staying another night, or if we enjoyed our stay blah blah and decided to extend our stay... nothing! unbelievable!!

Furthermore, it totally depends on what room you book - don't cheap out here, your back will pay the price. The really cheap rooms, have no view and have 50 year old beds. The beds are a joke! The deluxe rooms are not much better, but at least they have a foam cover on the 40 year old mattress so you don't slide into your partner in the middle of the night.

Other then that - the rooms ALL need a complete overhaul - they are a blast from the 80's. The hotel is all wood so it leaves very little to the imagination as to what your neighbours are doing at 1:30 in the morning... hint hint.. The rooms all have a small fridge - which is actually a good thing. The views from the expensive rooms are REALLY nice with a clear view of the mountain range. Ask to be on the 3rd floor if you can, so you don't hear anyone above. The restaurant isn't bad - never had dinner there, only breakfast, but it too needs an overhaul - both on staff and atmosphere.

Finally the pool / caves are the nicest part of this experience, however the main pool which is said to be heated to 96 degrees fails to come anywhere close because I started to shiver about 20mins in. The caves are really awesome and if you've never been, it's pretty neat to see.

Parking is free but probably not for long (once they figure out they can make a few extra bucks) and the room rate includes the admission to the springs for your entire stay, which at $150.00 / night for this dump - they should throw in breakfast as well.

You have to understand, I'm not bitter, I just happen to be a "service" person and I get grumpy they fail to meet such basic expectations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorka3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

I visit Canada from the UK every year to visit my sister and her family, and i always look forward to a few days at Ainsworth. Reading some of the other reviews, they must be staying at a completely different place. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, and comfortable. The staff are very friendly, the food is to die for. Staying at Ainsworth is always a pleasure, and i'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Salfordlad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
We love that you have taken the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

A great location looking out over the lake. The grounds include natural hot springs bubbling forth from a cave which you can wade into. Unfortunately this natural wonder has been channelled into a hideous blue re-lined pool and the cave is reinforced with concrete and rock cladding. Oh well, ignore the crowds and the human touch and let the waters soak away your stress.
The rooms are clean and tidy (to our relief after the faecal crusting reports on TripAdvisor) The beds comfortable and bathrooms old but tidy. The view of the lake is great. The restaurant has a good menu but I did not dine there.
This place is reasonable for a night stop-over, but it is not a resort or a place you can lounge around in the hot springs unless you enjoy broiling in a human soup for extended periods of time. Great location and views from the lake-side rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
23.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing