We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even Better Second Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Even Better Second Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited Ainsworth several years ago and have wanted to return ever since. So made it a point on way home from Seattle to go again. The lobby has had an amazing re-do and looks really nice. Room seemed to have been updated too. The bath now had a walk-in shower with glass wall and a "rain downpour" style shower head. The pools were a little busy in the afternoons but the "sweet spot" times to avoid crowds seemed to be Noon to 1pm and again at 5pm. In between and after 7pm it was very crowded. An amazing number of young couples with babies in the main (99°F) pool. Cave was as good as we remembered - very hot and steamy. Finally got to take a flashlight in and explore the hot waterfall in the back and the other nook with a dark hole. Hotel guests get passes to the pool & cave and free towels and they put your clothed bag in a numbered cubby hole for safe keeping. Very efficient. Pool area is for guests only from 8:30am to 10am.

The restaurant was still amazing and service was excellent. The food was well prepared and tastey.

Hotel staff was excellent and friendly. At check out early in the morning the lady there was awesome and got us out of there in time (barely) to make the 6:30am ferry even though we had gotten up later than expected.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sequim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It sounds like you've found a way to get the most out of your visit to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort. Thanks for your most excellent review! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    119
    47
    24
    26
See reviews for
82
182
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This summer my boyfriend surprised me by getting the nicest suit available. I didn't want to leave the big soaker tub or the huge bed. It was good he spoiled me because when the public is allowed in the springs it's hard to even find a spot in the caves. In the mornings they offered it only for hotel guest and it was pretty good. Wish they had an hour before close at night just for us guest.

We went for dinner the service was amazing, the younger girl working on August 22nd around 7pm was great. She was friendly asked us about our trip, gave suggestions for things around the springs to do, knew the menu well and offered wine suggestions. Was even understanding when I didn't like the garlic bread... Could use some improvement...maybe cheese or garlic spread. It was just toast with spices on it. My steak was good and he enjoyed his salmon. The onion soup was our favourite.

The women at checkout was also helpful had trouble with my card and she helped me work through it.

Room Tip: No fitness centre.. Designer suit was good. A bottle of wine would had made it top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
What a nice surprise. It's great to hear about the things that made your stay especially memorable. It is equally great to hear some of the points that may have added even more to your visit. Thanks so much for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My hubby and I decided to check out the Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Resort this past weekend and we were very pleased that we did! Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the front desk attendant, and given a room on the ADULTS ONLY floor ( 3rd floor). The room was very spacious, with a fantastic bathroom ( I told my husband that I wanted to bring home the awesome deep bath tub :) and a very comfortable bed. The outside window may have been facing a bank, but the room was sooooo quiet, it was hard to believe that anyone else was staying in the hotel! We ate at the restaurant in the resort and had excellent meals there! Huge kudos to John our server for dinner who gave impeccable service and great menu suggestions and to the front desk attendant Patricia who was very friendly. Of course, the main reason why we stayed was because of the hot springs, and of course, they were lovely. Can't wait to stay there again in the near future!

Room Tip: Third floor if you are traveling without kids (which we were :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PussycatBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
What an engaging review! You have captured the feeling that we strive to provide for all our guests. Your personalized story is much appreciated. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardston, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Ainsworth, we have been to other Hot Springs!!!The hotel was Perfect!!! Very clean, great bed,amazing bath tub , the deepest tub I have ever seen!!!The restaurant was excellent, very good food, very friendly staff,good menu!!The Hot springs were really fantastic, good water temperature,the caves were fun and the cold plunge was great!!!the changing room were very clean and organized for storing clothing,no lockers and money involved, a plastic bag stores your belongings!! The hot springs are included in your accommodation if you stay at the hotel, this sure is a savings!!I will be telling my friends about this place for sure!! We will return next year!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovely903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sweet! It's wonderful to receive such a lively review from a first time visitor. We certainly look forward to your return. Thanks for taking a moment to share with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Good spot to stay and enjoy hot springs especially caves.. rooms are modern a little small.. Hot springs staff are excellent .. Check-in efficient .. Acess to hot springs is convienent ... Caves add to the mineral waters experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Excellent! Thanks very much for taking the time to post a comment. Your feedback is important to us. We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We booked the Premium view and it did not disappoint! The ladies at the check-in were most helpful, recommending that we book our dinner reservations right away to ensure a table. There are robes in the room to make getting to the pool convenient. They have a check in for your robes, shoes and room keys so there is no worry about leaving things around the pools. The caves are super cool (well, hot actually). The other nice feature is that they have a residents only time in the pool from 8:30 to 9:30 so it's much quieter and less crowded. Very nice. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Book the premium room for the view and proximity to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairladi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
....music to our ears! We love it when our guests say they will come back again....so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for posting on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a beautiful resort & location!! First off we had a room facing the back of the property which was totally fine. Very nice, renovated with the most comfortable bed, spotless clean, beautiful bathroom. The reason for being there: the hotsprings & the caves - WOW. What a relaxing holiday and staying at the resort includes a pass for the hotsprings for your entire stay (checkin to checkout) plus robes. Had breakfast at the restaurant ... smoked salmon eggs benny - delicious ! The rooms are a bit pricey ($154) but considering we were able to use the hot springs at our leisure was a bonus. Would go back, for sure !!

Room Tip: The hotsprings/caves are located off the 3rd floor so very convenient to stay on this floor. Also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipflop22Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Awesome! What a lovely review of your experience. Thanks so much for taking the time to post it. We certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
23.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing