We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motorcycle Friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been to the hot springs previously and planned a motorcycle trip here with my brother on the July 1 weekend. After riding all day, we covered nearly 600 km, we arrived and were given a great welcome. I asked where we should park our bikes and was directed to park them right in front of the lobby under the canopy where they would be protected! We were even given a bag of clean rags for wiping them down in the morning to remove the dew. Our room was comfortable and clean and handily located on the same floor as the access to the hot springs. Thick bathrobes provided in the room were great to wear to and from the springs. As usual, the springs were amazing and felt great after a long ride. We had supper in the restaurant and the food was outstanding. The service was attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: If you have had plenty of time viewing the spectacular scenery getting here, the rooms at the back w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Yes, the hot springs are surprisingly refreshing, even on a hot day. We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed the little "extras". It certainly is our pleasure to be a memorable part of your adventure. Thanks for taking a moment to share it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    119
    47
    24
    26
See reviews for
82
182
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love the pool at Ainsworth. The temperature of the pool is perfect, our kids love to play there. The cave; amazing! Clean and hot. Very well maintained. The only, seriously ONLY downside to this place is the restaurant. We went there after our third trip in 3 months to the pool, and oh my. I ordered the chicken quesadilla and it came to me with the bottom half of the tortilla completely swimming in grease. The tortilla was actually soggy. I had to eat it with a fork and knife. Not to mention that I could only stomach half of my meal. My husband ordered a cheeseburger and he said it was the dryest, most disgusting budget he's ever eaten. Unfortunately we both vomited after we left. Do not eat the food!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodbutgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to the hot springs and noted appreciation regarding the cleanliness of the facilities. The resort also takes pride in the quality and consistency of the food prepared in our kitchen. To ensure this, servers perform a quality check on every table and are trained in responding when such circumstances are brought to their attention. It is common for some people to experience nausea and/or light-headedness due to soaking in hot water and combined with a meal, this may have played a part in your discomfort. Please feel free to contact our GM with any issues or concerns @ 1-800-668-1171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to the Hot Springs to relax for our anniversary. We enjoy a quiet, clean room. Take the room with the lake view, yes, you also look at the parking lot, but, if you take the back rooms all you see is a wall of cliffs and greens sticking out of them. It is worth the money to wake to the magnificents of the hugh lake. The staff put rose petals on our bed and a cute towel 3 tiered cake. We soaked in the mineral water and ventured into the caves. It was steamy and unique. We enjoyed the staff and they were very helpful with anything we wanted or needed. Floyd, our waiter was a gem. We enjoyed the food and we were treated to a wonderful chocolate mousse after our anniversary dinner. We took the long way around from Montana to get to the hotel as we have never been in the area. But, opted to take the FREE ferry that runs close to every hour this time of year and loved it also. Went to Kaslo and hiked the river trail. Also found Fletcher Falls and they were raging.

Room Tip: Get lake view for sure.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curious2Whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We love to hear how the little extras added to you anniversary stay with us. It is so nice you were able to just relax and enjoy your getaway. All our staff get to appreciate your kind words. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ainsworth Hot Springs makes it really easy to enjoy the pools. Guests in the hotel get access to the hot springs before the public admissions at 11 am. It's quiet and soooo relaxing.
The patter of rain on the hot pool just adds to the effect.
Nothing beats a hot soak, a journey through the tunnel and a quick plunge in the frigid pool, followed by another lazy soak in the hot pool

The restaurant in the hotel is good, and not having to leave the building after the relaxing soak is a real bonus.

Room Tip: View of Kootenay Lake is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Each season brings another aspect of enjoyment to the hot springs experience. It can be magical after dark, especially on a clear night. Thanks for sharing your tip on the magnificent view of the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

From start I would like to mention that I am offering a review on the hot springs facilities and not on the hotel. I came here mainly to see the main attraction of the resort, which are the "caves". Just love them! I have ended up having a day pass for the pools at $17.00 (one dip costs $11.50). The staff at the hot springs is helpfull and knowledgeable.There is a "U" shape tunnel, called caves, that was carved by miners in the heyday of Ainsworth town. The water gushes from different parts of the tunnel, including cave ceiling at around 45C (114F) creating a natural steaming sauna. My favorite exercise is to walk the caves, soak good in the rich mineral water for a few minutes and then go out to the small cold pool for a quick dip at 4C (39F), That's a great vaccine for who can afford it. I feel so great after a few hot-cold dips. The main pool has water at 35C and offers great relaxation, while admiring views across Kootenay Lake. Ainsworth is totally special compared with the other hot springs in West Kooteney. Definitely recommend it! A last comment: use caution when entering a hot springs, as your health might not afford it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I agree wholeheartedly with the rejuvenating aspect of the hot springs. It is especially so when the moon is full. There's nothing else like it. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms are really nice and the view is fantastic. The hot springs are one of a kind with the caves. The restaurant has really great food and wonderful service. It's close to other places so day trips are easy and you can come back and soak up the hot springs. When you book a room you get free access to the hot springs.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your hot springs getaway! Thanks for posting a review. It's always our pleasure to hear that guests had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visit this resort any time I can, our preferred hot spring in the west.
Beautifull bedroom overlooking the lake.
Very interesting pools expecially the "hot" caves, very unique.
The restaurant has an excellent international menu, food and drinks prices are very reasonable and table service is impeccable.
Overall service is also very friendly.
If you stay at the hotel you have the privilege of using the pools at 08:30, to the general pubblic the pools open at 10:00; we like this very much, it gives us 1.5 hours of very quiet time.

Room Tip: Spend few more dollars and rent a view room on third floor, the room will be quiet, with a beaufull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Your visits are our pleasure. I'm so glad you have taken the time to review your experiences. Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
23.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing