We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ainsworth Motel(Ainsworth Hot Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mermaid Lodge & Motel(Ainsworth Hot Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crawford Bay Inn(Crawford Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgwood Retreat(Crawford Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
145
144
56
24
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
144
56
24
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel guestshot springscold plungeplunge poolkootenay lakeour waiterbathing suitsgeneral publicspring poolgreat visitday passunique experiencegreat view of the lakemotorcycle tripnew ownersbritish columbiacave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 395 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

From start I would like to mention that I am offering a review on the hot springs facilities and not on the hotel. I came here mainly to see the main attraction of the resort, which are the "caves". Just love them! I have ended up having a day pass for the pools at $17.00 (one dip costs $11.50). The staff at the hot springs is helpfull and knowledgeable.There is a "U" shape tunnel, called caves, that was carved by miners in the heyday of Ainsworth town. The water gushes from different parts of the tunnel, including cave ceiling at around 45C (114F) creating a natural steaming sauna. My favorite exercise is to walk the caves, soak good in the rich mineral water for a few minutes and then go out to the small cold pool for a quick dip at 4C (39F), That's a great vaccine for who can afford it. I feel so great after a few hot-cold dips. The main pool has water at 35C and offers great relaxation, while admiring views across Kootenay Lake. Ainsworth is totally special compared with the other hot springs in West Kooteney. Definitely recommend it! A last comment: use caution when entering a hot springs, as your health might not afford it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with the rejuvenating aspect of the hot springs. It is especially so when the moon is full. There's nothing else like it. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms are really nice and the view is fantastic. The hot springs are one of a kind with the caves. The restaurant has really great food and wonderful service. It's close to other places so day trips are easy and you can come back and soak up the hot springs. When you book a room you get free access to the hot springs.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your hot springs getaway! Thanks for posting a review. It's always our pleasure to hear that guests had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visit this resort any time I can, our preferred hot spring in the west.
Beautifull bedroom overlooking the lake.
Very interesting pools expecially the "hot" caves, very unique.
The restaurant has an excellent international menu, food and drinks prices are very reasonable and table service is impeccable.
Overall service is also very friendly.
If you stay at the hotel you have the privilege of using the pools at 08:30, to the general pubblic the pools open at 10:00; we like this very much, it gives us 1.5 hours of very quiet time.

Room Tip: Spend few more dollars and rent a view room on third floor, the room will be quiet, with a beaufull view of the lake, same floor as the pool and souvenir shop and one floor below the restaurant; with bad weather you are always inside!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Your visits are our pleasure. I'm so glad you have taken the time to review your experiences. Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Did not sleep here but the springs are really cool with a sweet cave.the water was running out of a crevice and was very hot at the start and i think 104 temp at the pool.We ate here as well and had great food and lots of it.Driving was about half hour from Nelson and well worth the trip after a great day of skiing whitewater.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank millertravelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

That's great! Thanks very much for taking time to share your experience, and for being part of a "Fabulous February" at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well if you need a good soak then this is a great start. If ya have to stay the night dont bother paying more than you have too, it's not worth the money. The service in the hotel is a bit to be discovered. Havn't quit figured out exactly what their "Executive Chef" is all about. Fancy title at the most. Don't bother paying for the most expencive meals on there dinner menu. You can't take the best grilled cheese sandwich "chef" and expect him/her to then cook a very dated appy like escargot in some demi and red wine reduction or poached salmon fillet with whatever sauce. The escargot was like brown gravy for your fries with some wine added to it, then a whole can of ecargot with dried wild mushrooms all put into a pan, heated through then put into a soup bowl topped with last weeks cold, hard, puff pastry thrown on top. BRUTAL!!! This has to be one of the easiest appys to prepare and they over thought it and didn't come close to executing there way of thinking. Fresh salmon my [--]. I've cooked with fresh salmon, all different types wheather farmed or wild for over 15 years, and this was not fresh at all. You can take fresh salmon and over cook it and it would have been a far better piece of fish. This was pale, farmed, and frozen at the expence of you mouth, stomach and wallet. Never will I eat there again. Don't cook out of your realm, and just because they have a piece of paper saying thier a chef doesn't mean they can do the job.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your visit in September of last year. I agree that the Hot Springs are a good place to start. Our hotel guests usually enjoy the complimentary access. With seasonal room rates, the budget-minded may choose from standard to stylish accommodation. Clearly, the restaurant experience was not up to this writer's expectation.
Our menu is designed to appeal to many tastes with attention to the special dietary requirements of our guests'. Respectfully, it should be noted there was, and is no mention of the Wild BC Salmon being "fresh" right from the ocean. Kitchen hierarchy is important in a fast paced environment but the chef cannot be present for every meal served. That being said, it would have been more constructive to hear the complaint at the time, rather than several months after the fact. We are all about resolving issues as they arise and appreciate the opportunity to improve guest services. Since the writer claims he will never eat here again, the objective of this review is clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews