We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an okay place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The pools close at 9 and there were little kids splashing and yelling most of the time. The bar and restaurant also close then and the resort is about 40 minutes from Nelson, not close to anything. The cave is great, but the pools are chlorinated and is like swimming in a public city pool. There is nothing to do after 9:30 but sit in a tiny room and watch bad Canadian television. I would recommend staying in Nelson and just making visit to the pools (they are open to the public after 9AM)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We enjoy our rural location and are certainly busy during the holiday season. Health and Safety regulations require chlorination, which is monitored to keep it at minimal levels. Public entry to the hot springs begins at 10am. Both the hot springs and restaurant are open every day of the year...and close at 9:30pm. There are few places, even in town, open late every night. That is one thing that locals and visitors alike can appreciate about small towns.
A wide range of television channels, including ABC-NBC-CBS-FOX-CNN etc as well as free wi-fi are available in all the guest rooms. It's always good to see guests taking the time to review their experience. Thank you for sharing yours. We look forward to a return visit to the Ainsworth Hot Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 386 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

After driving 14 hours to ainsworth hot spring, the pool and cave is amazing as expected but I would say the service is not correspond to the services offered in same star rating hotels.

Would recommend the staff should not be complainting to the customers that customers caused inconvenience to the staff themselves.

You are open for business and in customer services business! As a customer, I appreciate the staff doing their dual diligence to stay behind and do the cleaning work. Being said the staff clean the bathroom was doing her diligence and cleaned every part carefully. But I don't think it is good service to accuse the customer as we use the bathroom caused inconvenience to them, very rude.

Your pool closed at 9:30pm so be prepared that people will use the bathroom after that. Not because your staff want to go home ASAP so accuse that customer using the bathroom caused troubles! If you don't want people to use the bathroom after certain hour so put a sign. Say bathroom closed at 9:30pm for example.

Depite of one hassle on service side, the pool, room was clean. The entire hotel looks like a reconstruction on a existing motel, ground level have room door facing outdoor so feel like a motel, upper level rooms are greater choice, better view and some had nicer design.

It is a bit pricey to stay but try once in life is worth it. Food in 4th floor resturaunt is very nice, steak was very juicy and smoky.

Not all the rooms offer robes though.

Definitely would recommend traveller to try the cave. I hope the services can be improved so travellers could have great feelings on every aspect of the hotel, after all it is service business, in spite of lack of competition in this small town it is not a excuse that services can be overlooked.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anirotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. The cleaning process does involve strong chemicals that may be harmful if one is not wearing protective clothing. However, you are absolutely right to expect a high level of customer service. Our late cleaners have always been able to exercise good judgement with respect to guest services. The pool supervisor has been alerted to this report and has taken steps to resolve the matter.
We also appreciate the good comments regarding housekeeping and restaurant service. Thanks again for reviewing our property. We hope you will be back our way sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. The room was very nice, furnished with top quality appointments and it was very clean and quiet. Nice view of the lake too. We dined in the dining room and had a very nice dinner with excelent service. Breakfast the next morning was only so-so. I'd recommend going somewhere else for breakfast but I don't know what else is available in that area. The staff was always friendly and accomodating until I checked out the next morning. The elderly lady at the counter could not even manage a smile or to return my morning greetings. What really upsret me is that she was unable to even mutter the words "ThankYou" when I handed here well over three hundred bucks for my nights stay. Sheeesh!
Maybe that's the way tourists are treated in Canada, or, maybe she was having a bad day. I'd pull her off the front counter and have her out cleaning the pool instead of making guests feel unwelcome and unappreciated.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a deluxe room on the third floor. Nicer rooms and much quieter. The pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Attitude has nothing to do with age. We expect all our staff to be courteous and welcoming whether they are cleaning the pool or checking someone out at the front desk. I can only apologize for the lack of appropriate attention given you at check-out. If you would like to email us directly to info@hotnaturally.com we can investigate further. In the meantime, I can assure you that not all Canadians treat tourists in an unfriendly manner. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us improve our guest relations. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your experience has affected the impression of this property and Canadians as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Although the so called "resort" is undergoing a $1,000,000 renovation it is hard to notice. The redone rooms are 3 star at best. If you are not going 90% for the hot springs do not go. Some staff, one especially Mark in the restaurant are completely rude and condescending to the point he has no place in a customer service business. Other staff were friendly and knowledgable but it certainly hit and miss. To sum things up this is a hotel not worth half the price they charge. Ask yourself the purpose of you visit if it's anything but to visit a semi natural hot springs with limited hours of admittance book elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children under 18 they will not allow you to stay on the 3rd floor. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okanaganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

It is a great place to visit, whether you stay the night or just come for the hot springs. Star ratings are based on site inspections and accommodations at this property have received a 3.5 star rating. We do our best to offer a well-rounded getaway and welcome suggestions and constructive criticism. No one should be subjected to rude and condescending behaviour, no matter the situation. I believe this guest's issue was addressed by management at the time and I would invite any questions or concern be forwarded to info@hotnaturally.com where further comment can be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed one night at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort on our way back from a road trip to Alberta. This was the one stop I looked forward to the most and will say that the hot springs didn't disappoint us. My husband had never been in hot springs before and really, really enjoyed it. What I liked is the variety in the temperatures. The cave is very hot and humid, the section of the cave outside is still hot but the air is cool, the large pool is warm, and there is a cold dip as well. When we booked we chose the cheapest room, facing the back. The woman at the front desk asked if we had been there before because they had just undergone renovations. The room was very clean and comfortable. The fixtures in the bathroom were new as was the carpet. We ate at the restaurant both lunch and dinner. It is a bit pricy, but the food was good. For lunch we had chicken strips and fries and a chef salad. For dinner we had a steak and pork tenderloin. Both were very good. The server was very good, the only thing was that our meals did take some time to come. We wanted to go back into the hot springs after dinner, but didn't really have much time before they closed. We didn't expect to be in the dining room for 1 1/2 hours. The Ainsworth Onion Soup was excellent. If we are ever back in that area again, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, General Manager at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation. It sounds like you enjoyed your hot springs getaway and that makes us very happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort provides a wonderful get-away. We arrived here as our last stop on a 21 day road trip through the north central USA to Niagara Falls, ON and after visiting Ontario's Muskoka and Haliburton areas to see the very colourful autumn leaves, we returned through the northern route (Trans Canada Hwy 1) to Lethbridge, AB then Crowsnest (Hwy 3) to Fernie, BC and then Hwy 3A from Creston, BC north then taking the longest free ferry ride in the world to Balfour, BC and booking into Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort for our last night on the road. We selected basic Queen bed room on the 3rd floor with no view (you don't need a view when you are sleeping) but the views from the 4th floor restaurant and the pool area are breathtaking! The room was clean and functional and equipped with robes for when you want to head to the pool area where the hot caves and hot pools are also located. How invigorating after 21 days of driving 4 to 7 hours each day. The restaurant dining was superb and our server, Mark was excellent. We drank a lovely bottle of white wine and I had the BBQ back ribs which were delicious. Liz had Ainsworth chicken with stuffed spinach and she loved it. We retired to our room and slept in quiet comfort and in the morning went back to the dinning room for a delightful breakfast. Now we head for home with our happy memories of our trip and our evening at Ainsworth. We certainly recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dalenliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

It is really great that you chose to include Ainsworth Hot Springs on your itinerary. We have thoroughly enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed your stay. I am positive that chef and the restaurant team will be happy to know they have been acknowledged on this site. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to a return visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This spring is the nicest of the commercial style hot springs. The main attraction is the caves. The caves offer a unique experience and magnify how the calcium in the springs grows into interesting formations.

Skip the restaurant, our room was nothing special and there is a really annoying illuminated cheesy sign in the swimming pool, cycling through luncheon specials, to water temperature.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickInTofino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your top rating on the hot springs. We're all about the water at Ainsworth Hot Springs, clean, refreshing and hot naturally! Visit our website for more details on mineral content etc. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and try to offer something for all tastes and budget, both in the restaurant and accommodation. We will do our best to indulge any guest's special request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
141 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
24.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.3 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range: $120 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 40 newly renovated guest rooms, the Ktunaxa Grill, Nasookin Room, and a well-stocked Retail/Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing