We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot springs are lovely but resort is a bit disappointing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot springs are lovely but resort is a bit disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We both enjoyed the pools. The caves were lovely and the view of the lake was beautiful. The hotel however wasn't thrilling. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was very dated however and I kept thinking that they could have something really great if only it wasn't straight out of 1982. The dining room also wasn't thrilling. The food was good but not great and the prices were quite high. We had breakfast of granola and an omelet and paid $30. Also, this is not a hotel for young people. By that I mean if you are under 40 you will be the youngest person there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
It sounds like you enjoyed your visit, overall. That's what we like to hear from guests. With the completion of a million dollar renovation just this year, it was our intention to offer our guests the latest in design, decor, a/c and heating units, security room doors with keyless entry, a 24/7 uninterrupted power source able to sustain the whole resort in the event of a power outage, clean water to drink and bath in and much more. It is interesting to hear that not everyone appreciates the hard work and money that has gone into such a project as this. Room photos are shown on this site as well as our own website where one can make their own decision.
We thank you for your visit and sharing your own thoughts on decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    119
    47
    24
    26
See reviews for
82
183
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

In our 10 or so years of visiting British Columbia and the Kootenay Region we always go to Ainsworth Hot Springs both for the pools and the restaurant.
Cost of entry to the springs is not particularly cheap and so I would urge you to arrive early to make the most of your day - a family of 4 ticket is around c$50.
This year we went again and it did not let us down - the pools and caves were wonderful and we had a fantastic time with our children simply relaxing and taking in the beautiful scenery.
After our time in the pool we visited the restaurant and whilst it is not exactly dining on a budget the food was great. The service though was even better and our server was supremely attentive and helpful.
As the title of the review suggests Ainsworth Hot Springs is a consistently great place to visit set in a spectacular landscape.
Incidentally, we have not stayed in the hotel itself and so cannot pass comment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldscapetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
...so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hot springs. It is really helpful to get such feedback. Thank you for taking time to post your review, and for including us on your itinerary for a return visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My sisters and I met and ventured to Ainsworth for a couple of days recently to visit another sister. We stayed right next door to our sisters house at Ainsworth Hotsprings Hotel. What a great Hotel !! the staff are so friendly , helpful and FUN!! WE met so many of the front reception staff and found not even one, to be unfriendly. It was a wonderful experience.
The rooms are very clean and our view of the lake was spectacular. BUT the BED!! ..I haven't had a great sleep like that in any hotel I've been in for a very long time. The rooms are quiet and tastefully decorated and the cleaning staff friendly and helpful. All in all , we had such a great stay.
The hotpools and caves were a big hit, everything so clean and again, friendly helpful staff.
Kudos to you all..

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor lake side, which is the same floor as the pool and caves and was extrem...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty_L0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Your visit was a treat for us! Thank you for sharing your photos as well. Your comments will be shared and appreciated by all. Thanks so much for posting your review on this site. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed one night at Ainsworth Hot Springs as it was quite a pricey overnight trip!!! $200 for the night (which included the use of the pools that night until... only 9PM... (rather early considering there is NOTHING else to do when you're in the area) and again starting at 8:30AM. We love hot springs, so we couldn't pass up the visit to the pools which was great... It's kind of disturbing to see a baby's diaper leaking as she is walking away from the pool though,.. makes you wonder how much leaked into the pool, when every adult is required to have a "soap shower" before entering the pool... Other than this, We quite enjoyed the pools, We were in them for over 2 hours in the evening, but they were a little too warm to stay in without passing out in the morning. The rooms were clean, (which was a relief after the stay we'd had the night before in a dingey Motel room). Dinner was expensive... the wine smelled funny.. (tasted ok..) But I'd suggest just having your own wine in your room... our server was very attentive and provided excellent service!

Room Tip: We paid an extra $10 or $20 for a lakeview, which was probably worth it because when I peaked into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Keeping the hot springs water fresh includes a 9-10 hour cleaning procedure which takes place four times a week during the late evening and early morning hours, hence the closing time of 9:30pm. The water is chlorinated, per Canadian Health Regulations, to insure the health and safety of guests. Chlorine content is checked several times daily and regulated to maintain an acceptable level. There's a continuous flow, so the water quality is quite good all the time.
We are happy that you had a good time and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My first thought being from the kooteneys and with family living in kaslo was to stop in and have a nice vacation passing through. After deciding to eat I thought it would be good to get a room. This is when I had the misfortune of dealing with perhaps the most snide, rude and otherwise unpleasant front desk employee I have ever come across. It was at this point I decided a room was out of the question. I rented a room for half the price and with friendly people at the ainsworth motel. After getting that settled I rushed back to dinner with my wife and young daughter. I had the scallops and they were quite tasty, my wife had some mozza creation that was lacking in presentation and taste. When dinner came I had ordered a 30 dollar steak with added prawns and pepper corn sauce. The prawns and sauce were a $16 dollar extra cost. My wife had breaded pork medallions, after 3 bites of steak and 2 prawns which were horribly overcooked, along with the steak and the veggies that where rattles and raw I had enough. I told the server that we would be leaving and when I went to pay for the apps which we ate she had charged me for the entire meal which still sat on the table untouched and was told there was nothing she could do. I tipped her for doing a good job and left quite upset. My wife had all of 2 bites of her food and was too disgusted to consider eating it. Despite all of this and in the sort of making the best of a bad situation we decided to swim. The pool was nice and the caves where neat however the disturbing amount of spider webs nests and dead bugs hanging from every inch of the walkway was somewhat of a put off but we enjoyed the swim. After leaving I went back to ask if there was a store nearby and was told that at the ungodly hour of 8:45pm I wouldn't find anything open and was told that I am in the kootenays and that it should be expected. Now being from the kootneys and living here my entire life I was somewhat surprised to be hearing this explained to me in such a condescending rude manner. As for the dinner bill i have to wait until sometime tomorrow as the manager was unavailable. I wouldn't bother with the hotsprings myself and will certainly never be recommending this particular resort unless it is to say avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank franksarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad you found the pool and caves neat, enjoyed your swim and tipped your server in the restaurant for doing a good job. An issue with a meal can and should be taken up with chef at the time, an option which was offered and refused. It is quite probable this guest's complaint could have been settled right then. Our manager does have an open-door policy, but it's not open 24/7. This unfortunate series of complaints has been well-documented and reviewed by management with further recommendations for dealing with difficult situations. We honestly try to do our best to offer great customer service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ate dinner here before enjoying some relaxing down time in the actual Hot Spring. The waiter was FANTASTIC, actually we were so happy to finally receive good service. We sat right over the pool and it was lovely. The spring was very crowded but also so nice and relaxing. The cave was a great experience and especially for a reasonable price. Thanks!!

Room Tip: We stayed across the way at Ainsworth guesthouse, was beautiful and cheaper than the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Your visit was certainly our pleasure! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

a tad expensive, but if you use the hotsprings both days it actually works out to a great value. restaurant is top notch. no complaints on anything and they had the best shower during my trip :-)
hot springs, restaurant, perfect view is all in the same building.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
'bout sums it up! Love that you took the time to give us your thoughts. We will surely look forward to your next visit. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
24.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing