We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, terrible hositng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto
14
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We found this place on internet, relatively cheap, based on pictures - clean and nice place. It appeared that THE ONLY advantage of the place was its nearness to Ainsworth hot springs.
The rest was awful: we slept under (looking like 10 years old) web in the bedroom. Spiders, bugs, moskitos. They charge for every breath you take and every move you make:
additional towel - 5 $, daily service - 5 $, cleaning in the kitchen - 5 $, microvawe rented for 5 $, additional child/baby - 6 $. Chairs are broken on the balkony. All dirty, furniture and building 150 years old and barely renovated. Feeling that sheets were not clean - we found hairs in there before got into that. Talking to them was not helpful.
Their rooms located in their yard - everything is thrown around, I cannot describe it, its must see, but must not let this so awful business to die - its not deserve to stay on. During our month travel we visited 12 hotels - this one was worst among all them, i think even worst among all i ever been to.
Strongly recommend to stay as far as you can from this.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidMotel, Proprietor at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2006

We were informed of your website and it's reviews by a few of our guests who recommended we read and respond to the negative comments posted as they were either not true or highly exaggerated.

As much as we would love to please each and every person that travels to Ainsworth, the odd time we will encounter travellers who have decided not to stay in Ainsworth before even checking in and will use any excuse to reneg on their reservations. Ainsworth is a very small, remote town of only 100+ residents boasting 1 expensive restaurant @ the resort hotel, 2 small motels, no other facilities or shops and situated in a forested setting. Flying and crawling insects are a reality here as you would expect in the wilderness but we take every measure to remove them and their webs regularily. Spiders are very industrious and can remake a web in a few hours so we even spray with a residual insect spray that is mean't to eliminate any crawling insect that crosses the sprayed area for up to 45 days. We also allow pets at our facility and ask our guests to clean up after their pets but admit that the Resident and Guest's dogs droppings can be overlooked until we do our daily property inspections.

We believe that the 2 negative reviews from Toronto (June 4 and June 7) are the same traveller, who could not have stayed in our units as they have provided false information on a few issues. For example: All our beds were replaced with quality Sears mattresses 2 years ago, as were all our carpets, with commercial grade materials. Our regular maintenance schedule this past year has included the addition of free satellite TV viewing, wireless internet access, new refrigerators in all kitchenettes and a new outdoor barbecue/picnic area next to the Gazebo/Hot tub. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodation with as many amenities as possible, at affordable rates. We are able to offer these additional savings because we do not offer daily maid service unless a guest requests and pays $5.00 for each day they require it. We DO provide the FREE change of garbages and towels each day as well as private balconies with FREE lake & mountain views from all units.

Since reading the negative reviews, we have asked our guests to visit this website and post their honest reviews of our facility. We realize that many readers will not believe our response and the best assurances they have, are the positive reviews posted by actual guests who have stayed in our facility. We urge you to revisit this site from time to time and hopefully encourage you to stay at The Mermaid Lodge & Motel because of the many positive reviews it has received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Mermaid Lodge & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 162 of 162 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Spokane, WA
13
Reviewed February 23, 2006

The Mermaid lodge wa awesome, its a great resonably priced place to stay. The family running the hotel are absolutley wonderfull, I would refer anyone to this place if they are on a budget and don't mind so much of what the rooms look like. They are very clean and big for what they are. We will be going back

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ephrata, Wa
17
Reviewed February 20, 2006

After finding this motel on the internet we expected much better. Based on the pictures of the Mermaid motel it looked great. On arriving reality set in very fast. This place was last remodeled in 1989 and looks like it hasn't been touched since. The furnature is old (1989?)and very worn out. Bathrooms have broken cabinet doors and are in poor repair. Kitchens have signs cautioning you to wash dishes and clean up or be charged $5 for "extra cleaning" time needed by housekeeper! Microwave oven was advertised, but turns out you have to "rent" them for $5 a day. (sorry, they were all rented out) Coffee pot was filthy, along with silverware, dishes and bottom of stove. Our complaints were met with a smile and wonderment that that could have happened, but no offer for reduced rate/refund. Standards met our "cockroach motel" level. outside sign cautioned cleaning up after pets, but resident dog had managed to leave a generous supply of droppings that had been ignored. This place is a dump and we would not stay there again. (note that maid service/clean towels would cost us $5 extra. Name of unit should be changed to KOA (keep on adding) due to penny pinching for basic services.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dunstus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidMotel, Manager at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
8.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
137 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
23.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
286 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wedgwood Retreat
Wedgwood Retreat
#1 of 3 in Crawford Bay
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Lodge & Motel

Address: 3622 North Street | P.O. Box 1333, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range: $88 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mermaid Lodge & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, newly renovated motel kitchenette units that will sleep 2-6 persons and modest, historical lodge units that will sleep 2-5 persons. All units have balconies with lake & mountain views and are conveniently located next door to the Ainsworth Hot Springs Pools and Cave. On-site outdoor BBQ and Jacuzzi/Hottub open year-round. Additional amenities include wireless Internet, satellite TV/Radio and complimentary pool towels. Don't want to drive here?? No problem, we can arrange shuttle service from Nelson Greyhound Bus Lines or Castlegar Airport to Ainsworth Hot Springs. You can also fly in to the new international airport in Cranbrook., B.C., Then rent a car for the scenic 3 hour drive to Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing