We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chef and staff”
Review of Huckleberry's Cafe

Huckleberry's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Wetaskiwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great chef and staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The chef comes up with great new dishes each month. The owner is friendly and present. Usually see him milling about.
Wait staff is amazing. We come at least once a month. This is where we bring visitors from out of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice family dining experience”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went out with our newborn daughter for their specialty prime rib on the advice/recommendation of a friend.

We got there a bit past the rush hour and were seated right away. The server was very pleasant and offered us a drink for starters. Ordered a Caesar and wife ordered a light beer, both were excellent The menu selection was well rounded so we started with there most popular appetizer " cashew chicken " . The portion was small equivalent to one chicken tender for $11.95 so I wouldn't recommend it. We ordered smallest and largest prime rib portions ... Food came out fast and was very tender but lacked flavor! I also tried the dill pickle soup which I liked bit wife didnt care for.

We were full but took a piece of strawberry cheesecake to go which was yummy!

Overall the experience was very good and price of 115$ (including the gratuity) was a bit on the high side, all things considered. We would go back & try this establishment again but we'd probably opt for a steak or chicken dish instead ... Our server was attentive but not a nuisance just the right mix

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nineinchtongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMROSE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hearty Western Hospitality”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you want a taste of home style cooking in a friendly atmosphere, then try Huckleberry's in Wetaskiwin, Alberta. It's tucked away off the beaten track - just west of Highway 2A in the SW corner of the city - but well worth the search. Our staff from work have had Christmas suppers there and we have frequently suggested Huckleberry's to friends just passing through. The bison on the menu is great and of course you have to try the pie!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAROLD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You HAVE to try the Huckleberry Pie! To die for!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food at this establishment is quite consitently good. There are days that they have the odd off day, as do most establishments... but generally, it is a place not to miss. I love the fact that they also have a corral out front for your horses, so even if you are pulling in with the horse trailer, and want to let the horses out for a bot to water and feed, it is possible. Also great to ride to, and stop for dinner as well. Make sure to save room for the huckleberry pie though, it will not disappoint!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I won't be back”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We moved to Wetaskiwin a year ago and in which time we have been to Huckleberry's 3 times. All 3 times have been terrible. While the last time was better than the first 2, it doesn't say much. Three strikes your out - I won't be back.

- watered down coke and ice tea
- greasy potatoe skins
- could not substitue pasta sauses
- I can make better garlic toast at home
- when entre came looked like it had been sitting under a heat lamp too long
- for the price of the desert the small portion was laughable

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's Cafe also viewed

 
Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Wetaskiwin, Alberta
 

Been to Huckleberry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing