We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name describes it all - it is the 'Best' Western Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stony Plain
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The name describes it all - it is the 'Best' Western Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were visiting for a family reunion. During the course of our 7 night stay, we stayed at 3 different hotels - the Hilton Garden Inn - West Edmonton, the Best Western - Stony Plain and the Hampton Inn - West Edmonton. This was by far our favorite of the 3. Certainly, you are paying more for being in West Edmonton and closer to the West Edmonton Mall.

Coming from the US, I thought the quoted price was high - especially for a Best Western because none of the Best Westerns that we've stayed in warranted the price. However, because the reunion took place in Stony Plain, we felt it was our only and 'best" choice. We were not disappointed and, in fact, were pleasantly surprised. Service was exemplary. The rooms were plush and comfortable that reminded me of an upscale boutique hotel. The rooms were painted in rich earthy tones. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice desk and work area.

The workout room was more than adequate. The complimentary breakfast was also top-notch. Although there were no cook to order items, they did serve some hot items which consisted of scrambled eggs and sausage/bacon. The usual continental fare and offers were very good and plentiful. They also had a waffle maker - they should invest in more than 1 because it is quite popular.

The pool and slide was a big hit with my 11 year old as well as the many adults.

We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiian Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    70
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
119
33
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here with the hubby and 3 kids for a family wedding.

Essentially new hotel with all of the nice touches and upgrades.

Great little pool and waterslide for the kids, excellent complimentary breakfast in the AM.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candpmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a great hotel and most of the staff are amazing. There was a booking issue with a few of our rooms (we were bumped out of the King Suites because a wedding that booked Three months after us took priority!) There were 6 issue that eventually were resolved but it did detract from the overall enjoyment of the hotel, Though the staff and manager work their best to correct all the issues.

Room Tip: King Suites are worth the extra, and pets cost an extra $25 Per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a very nice Best Western hotel. There is an indoor heated pool with waterslide. It's a wonderful place to stay with a family. It's by far the nicest hotel in Stony Plain, Alberta. The breakfast is good and the staff is attentive. My husband stays here on business all the time and they constantly upgrade him to a suite. This hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants, pharmacy/drug store, etc.... I did not have a car here during the day and was happy to be able to walk to nearby shops/restaurants. There is also a great walking/running trail close to the hotel. This hotel has a new feel and the rooms are well appointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same--same linens/bedding. There are suite upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Huge suites, great waterside for kids. Disappointed we couldn't use the hot tub as someone had left a not-so-nice surprise in it. Breakfast not available at 6am, as advertised. Filled out guest survey on line, but did receive response.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamadagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Great hotel, very large rooms, excellent pool, free internet. The pillows on the beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever come across. My wife and I did not get much sleep both nights we were there. Great place to stay, just bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Wow! This place was an extremely pleasant surprise. The rooms are large and have a fridge, microwave, sink and large counter space. The beds are very good and there are nice touches like robes and free slippers. The kids LOVED the water slide, hot tub and steam room. Breakfast was excellent and the service was incredibly friendly. One of the nicest stays we have ever enjoyed for an overnight hockey tournament!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralABFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Plain
0.1 mi away
Ramada Stony Plain Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Spruce Grove
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Stony Plain
Travelodge Stony Plain
#2 of 4 in Stony Plain
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Spruce Grove
Travelodge Spruce Grove
#1 of 2 in Spruce Grove
323 reviews
13.8 mi away
Courtyard Edmonton West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
698 reviews
21.5 mi away
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites
Address: 3101 43 Ave, Stony Plain, Alberta T7Z 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Stony Plain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stony Plain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunrise Inn And Suites
Best Western Sunrise Hotel Stony Plain
Best Western Sunrise Inn & Suites Stony Plain, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing