We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“works for me”
Review of Canalta St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canalta St Paul
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Paul
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“works for me”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have avoided staying in St. Paul for a number of years. I stayed at the Super 8 years ago and remember that it was fine but was worried that it may have declined over the years. I was pleasently surprised. Check in was smooth, they had fresh cookies (I love those) and popcorn was on as well. The room was good - four great pillows on each bed - a little overkill for one person - but cozy! Breackfast was good as well with lots of choice. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Canalta St Paul, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for the nice review. At the Super 8 in St. Paul we are always happy and delighted when we can surprise one of our guests with our hospitality. We hope to see you again. Call me toll free at 1-866-866-0688 for any future reservations you may need to make, I would be happy to help you.



Cindy Geertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    115
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
89
26
11
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

A standard Super 8 experience. Clean premises and free continental breakfast. Fast check-in and check-out service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Canalta St Paul, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to submit a response on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback, please know that we pride ourselves in having excellent customer service and providing each guest with a very comfortable stay. Thank you for choosing the Super 8 in St.Paul we look forward to your return. Please call us toll free at 1-866-866-0688 for any future reservations you may require, we would be happy to help you.

Kindest Regards,

Cindy Geertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

First time at a Super 8 that I can remember. If I’ve stayed at one before it was at least 20 years ago on a road trip across the US. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I don’t stay in too many fancy hotels, but since I do spend about 120 nights per year in hotels, so I have lots of opinions and expectations. The king room was very big, it had a ½ fridge, desk, flat screen TV, two side chairs and a small coffee table. The room was clean and comfortable. The only downsides of the room, a very very small bathroom. You had to shut the door every time you went in otherwise you could not use it. And the heater worked but was a little clunky, it warmed the room but it took a while if you turned it off during the day. Granted it was about 15-20 F. Rooms had wired internet and the lobby wireless, but if you were in the right room you got the wireless (I was in 304) and it worked. There was also hot breakfast. Waffles, oatmeal, toast tea and coffee. It was nice but after 4 days got a little boring, but not their fault.

When I go back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The pool/hot tub/waterslide was lots of fun and the water warm. rooms are cozy/clean and breakfast with lots of variety. One of the better super 8 hotels.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank merseydote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Because the Manager WAS the bad service.

We stayed here for a wedding... we booked months in advance because it is a small town, only to get there and find out our non-smoking rooms were given away. The clerk was rude... no apologies for their mix-up, and when we asked to speak with the Manager... she replied... "that would be me".

Over priced for a town with nothing to offer.

  • Liked — Newer
  • Disliked — Level of Professionalism from Manager was non-existent
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodullz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Good pool and waterslide the rooms were alright.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mitchell001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodland Motor Inn
Woodland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in St. Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galaxy Motel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Kings Motel
The Kings Motel
#3 of 3 in St. Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Paul Lodge
St. Paul Lodge
#1 of 3 in St. Paul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Canalta St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta St Paul

Property: Canalta St Paul
Address: 5008 43 St, St. Paul, Alberta T0A 3A2, Canada (Formerly Super 8 St. Paul)
Location: Canada > Alberta > St. Paul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta St Paul 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canalta St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. Paul Hotel St. Paul
Super Eight St. Paul
St. Paul Super 8
St. Paul Super Eight
Canalta St Paul St. Paul, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing