We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Canalta St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canalta St Paul
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel three times, and I have only had one good experience with their customer service. My first stay was on Dec 12, 2012. I came in around nine and the girl was very helpful. I was extremely tired and she had me in my room very quickly. She must have been working at this hotel for awhile because she answered all of my questions. I called down for an extra blanket, and she brought it to me right away. Great customer service! Sometime during the night, I woke up to a disturbance in the hall and called down to the front desk. There was no answer. The next two times I stayed there I was checked in by the same guy who seemed to think his phone was more important than serving me. On one of those nights I came down to ask for a wake-up call but there was no one at the desk. It was about eleven thirty. Finally after waiting about ten minutes, I realized that the lady was outside smoking. When she came in she looked so unprofessional!!! I think that this hotel would be great if the staff stayed off their phones and if they are going out to smoke they should leave a note. Also everyone should wear business attire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGeertsen, General Manager at Canalta St Paul, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Please accept my apologies on behalf of myself and my team here at the St.Paul Super 8. We always want your stay with us to be the best it can be. I appreciate and value your comments. All of the issues you have made me aware of will be addressed immediately. I hope when you return these problems will not occur again. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to inform me about your stay with us. We hope if you are back in our area you will give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me toll free at 1-866-866-0688 for all your reservation needs. I would be happy to help you. Take Care and we shall look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    117
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
91
27
11
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LAC LA BICHE
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Making the reservation was easy. The follow up was great. It was onvenient and I didn't have to call back to check or get confirmation; it was delivered to me. Smiles on arrival, a complimentary dinner. Friendly guests who are obviously accustomed to the good service and each other...frequent visitors I should think. Quiet, clean, comfortable, and friendly! What more could you ask for? It just felt good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank LACLABICHESUNRISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGeertsen, General Manager at Canalta St Paul, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Very much appreciated. I will share your review with my team so they can see that their hard work does pay off. I am also glad you were able to enjoy us on guest appreciation night. When you are sometimes staying at hotels people often get bored. It is a nice night to have dinner and mingle with other guests. Oddly enough you sometimes find that you and another guest may have a mutual acquaintance. How truly small the world we live in really is. Take Care and Have a Great Day. We shall look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It's alway's a great place to stay even though I'm getting tired after 43 year's on the road. There are area's that I do not appreciate to travel because of lack of great accomodation's like the Super 8 in St. Paul.They work hard to keep the place running like a 5 Star Motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGeertsen, General Manager at Canalta St Paul, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate and value your comments. We hope you have to continue travelling in our area for another 20 years. (Only because we think you and your wife are wonderful guests). We look forward to your return and it is always our pleasure to serve you. As discussed you probably won't be back before Christmas, so Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodland Motor Inn
Woodland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in St. Paul
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galaxy Motel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
St. Paul Lodge
St. Paul Lodge
#1 of 3 in St. Paul
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Kings Motel
The Kings Motel
#3 of 3 in St. Paul
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Canalta St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta St Paul

Property: Canalta St Paul
Address: 5008 43 St, St. Paul, Alberta T0A 3A2, Canada (Formerly Super 8 St. Paul)
Location: Canada > Alberta > St. Paul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta St Paul 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canalta St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. Paul Hotel St. Paul
Super Eight St. Paul
St. Paul Super 8
St. Paul Super Eight
Canalta St Paul St. Paul, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing