We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fast BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of That Bar-B-Q Place

That Bar-B-Q Place
Ranked #29 of 188 Restaurants in Sherwood Park
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are Sherwood Park's Original Bar-B-Q Smokehouse Restaurant serving down-home, southern comfort food. We are locally owned and operated and we are dedicated to perfecting the pit masters art of "low and slow" BBQ. Our smokers, affectionately named "Jake" and "Elwood", are fed nothing but seasoned B.C. Apple wood. The right combination of smoke and our own spice rub allows us to serve our meat "naked" or un-sauced so you can taste the authentic, "True Q" flavour, before slathering on one of our three homemade BBQ sauces. Many of our meats are smoked for up to 18 hours, so that means we're smokin' while yer sleepin'! Our homemade sides have the freshest ingredients, made daily. We serve Certified Angus Beef and top-grade Alberta protien, so you know it's good. Our casual dining atmosphere, traditional butcher's wax paper 'n all, means you get quick service, not fast food. Talk to us about catering your next event or just come on by to see what's Smokin'!
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fast BBQ”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Tasty Memphis style BBQ. This little fast food restaurant may not have the authentic earthy feel of a Memphis smokehouse but for Canadian BBQ you can do much worse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirmeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food Good value”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Read the previous reviews and had to try since it was just off my usual Saturday route. Service was fast and friendly. I met the owner and she gave us a tour after our meal. She was cheerful and very pleasant. I wanted to sample several dishes and this was possible with three sliders and a few ribs on the side. The brisket and pulled pork were excellent. My wife had the turkey and felt the same. I usually hate pulled pork because it is too dry and needs too much bbq sauce to choke it down. In this case the meat was still moist and delicious on its own. It was the best pulled pork I have ever had. The beans were especially good with visible chucks of brisket in it. I would go back for the beans if nothing else. I will certainly make it a regular stop on weekends. I am considering bying a whole brisket to take home for a dinner with several friends. It is hard to make smoked brisket that good at home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Food was served quickly. And there was lots of it (too much to finish). I had beans and coleslaw as sides - both were decent. The brisket was pretty good, and the ribs were delicious. It's a fast-food environment, but with very friendly service - it seems to be family run.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing spectacular.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

So as usual, it was Friday and we jumped on Trip Advisor to narrow our search for yet another new place to try. (It's a ritual with myself and the wife) Although at the time there were only 5 reviews, this place was held in high regards, so we figured we'd give it a shot.
Food was very good, I had a full rack of ribs, corn bread, baked beans. The wife got the pulled pork sandwich with potato salad. Both of us were satisfied with the portions and quality. The service is non existent, you get passed your plate over the counter and the rest is on you. This place is very small, and extremely contested. Bottom line, it's a great 'take out' spot, but if you're going out to sit down and try have a conversation or relax and enjoy a good meal, maybe this isn't a great choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBurke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely nothing else like it!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Really good meat and beans. Found the cornbread a bit dry and really would love the BBQ sauces if they were thickened up a bit instead runny like soup. But definitely will be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaika1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Bar-B-Q Place also viewed

Sherwood Park, Alberta
 
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Sherwood Park, Alberta
 

Been to That Bar-B-Q Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing