We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wontons good, the rest average”
Review of Hui's Wontons

Hui's Wontons
Ranked #133 of 192 Restaurants in Sherwood Park
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wontons good, the rest average”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had a fairly big takeout order, so sampled a few things: war wonton, rice, chicken and veggies, ginger beef, tenderloin beef, cantonese chow mein. Price was alright. The wonton soup was really good. Obviously this is the specialty. If I went back, it would be for the soup, and maybe to try some of the fried wontons they sell since wontons appear to be the highlight. Everything else was average, at best. No special flavours coming through at all. Disappointed with the tenderloin beef dish because it was the most expensive, and I expected nice soft beef. The beef was tough and chewy.
Nothing really compels me to go back unless I just craved wontons alone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WellWellTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sibenik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, good decor, authentic taste. Fairly expensive though.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

As you might expect the wontons are good. We tried several dishes and they didn't disappoint at all.

The atmosphere was quiet enough to hold a conversation, rather than a loud beer-hall type affair that most restaurants seem to be nowadays.

The only thing that has set me off from making the place my first choice for entertaining people is the price. Dinner for two, without drinks, was $50, which consisted of simple things like wontons and dumplings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inquisitor_am_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice now and each time the food was great. Only one disappointment though. The service is lousy. The staff are great but you wait a long time for them to take your order and a very long time to have your table cleaned and to receive your bill. Need some improvement there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Hui" loved it”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we decided to try this restaurant based on favourable online reviews. I have to say that the whole family was impressed. the "dinner for 4" was almost enough for 2 meals for us, but it was the quality and taste that most impressed us the most. the salt and pepper prawns were huge, meaty and tasty; the ginger beef not tough (as it most often is). the hot and sour soup was the best that I've had in a long while.... thick and full of flavour. when I picked up the order, we got a coupon and bag of candies (because it was Chinese New Year's). We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Ricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, welcoming owners!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant is a very welcome addition to dining in Sherwood Park. Great atmosphere, and the beautiful wall mural draws you in........ The owner gives helpful suggestions in choosing the menu, and the dishes are plentiful and very tasty. As noted in reviews posted elsewhere, the wonton soup is not to be missed! There is no MSG used in cooking, and dishes arrive in good time, but you are not rushed. Just the most lovely flavours used for the green tea blend. Our party of six was made to feel very valued as customers, and the ladies were gifted with the most elegant bags of tea upon leaving...... how charming is that??

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hui's Wontons also viewed

Sherwood Park, Alberta
Sherwood Park, Alberta
 
Sherwood Park, Alberta
 
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Sherwood Park, Alberta
 

Been to Hui's Wontons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing