We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Bad Signage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel, Bad Signage”
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Considering the price I paid, this is a good hotel. Everything looks new, everything works well. Rooms and lobby are spacious. People don't get in your way. The decorations are upscale and it doesn't look like whoever built this place was looking to cut corners - the mark of a good hotel. But finding this place is not fun. I've never stayed at this brand before, and I didn't know that that wave sign was the brand trademark, so it didn't help me at all that the wave (without a name) was hanging high on the Hotel. I wish they'd put some road signs up or something.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritOfOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    30
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
25
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights in May because I was attending a conference in the city.
My arrival presented the worst hotel customer service I have experienced and I was very disappointed.
I arrived late (about 1:00am due to a late flight) and despite my room being guaranteed for late arrival the desk guy tried to tell me I hadn't booked a room (although i was holding a confirmation sheet). I was sooo tired because I had travelled west and he was just acting like an [--] for 20 minutes pretending he didn't have a room. Eventually I went to leave and he told me he could give me a room.
The room was awful as can be. AWFUL.
First off it was smoking... second it was dirty... there was dirty toilet paper stuck to the wall. The bed was terrible... a foam sheet I suspect.. and naturally everything was badly out of date.
The next day I asked to be switched to a newly renovated and the difference was night and day... I got a clean, nice, huge room with a comfortable bed and a great view.
I'll still never stay here again but if you are ask for the new rooms....

  • Liked — the new rooms were ok
  • Disliked — the service....the older rooms were dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jac2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEEH-Management, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2008
We regret and apologize to the guest for his inconvenience at check-in. It is worthwhile to point out that, since his stay in May 2008, the Hotel and all of its rooms have been renovated, the property is under entirely new management, and consequently has upgraded its brand to Coast Hotels and Resorts, which represents a higher standard of rooms and of service than what this hotel previously was - a Best Western. We are confident that, had the guest stayed with us since the overhaul of this Hotel, he would have had no cause for complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sherwood Park hotels

Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2008

They call Edmonton the 'second city' of Alberta, but I don't come here unless I really have to. There is nothing to do in this city, but there's a lot of money, so it gets put into oddball projects. This hotel is a good example. It's next door to the physical petroleum industry (not just the corporate types), but it looks nothing like the refineries next door. Somebody put a lot of money into the lobby and chandeliers, but it looks like most of the guests are oilfield service types. Well, at least it's a large new hotel, not like the cookie-cutter Hampton and Holiday Inns that are spring up like mushrooms anywhere in Canada or USA where there is a little extra money in the economy. The staff seems to be mostly foreign (and not Mexican), but foreigners are always courteous. I like their rooms, they are very large. The Hotel is still new, so it has not been worn out, but some things are so grand and ornate that I think a Russian or an Arab must have built it. Anyway, nothing really to complain about. The Hotel is efficient and inexpensive (at least by Calgary standards).

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — What is outside the Hotel - Edmonton.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PetroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherwood Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/Sherwood Park
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sherwood Park Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Sherwood Park/Edmonton Area
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sherwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2100 Premier Way, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 2G4, Canada (Formerly Coast Edmonton East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Sherwood Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coast Edmonton East
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Sherwood Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing