We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, no real complaints until...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff was awesome and very helpful. Room was fine but definitely needs new carpet. Happy with everything until I was woken up at 830 am by cleaning staff gossiping and vacuuming the hall right outside the room. What gives!? A little overpriced too. Still a fine stay but not perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very comfortable probably the best of the budgethotels/cheap rooms that we stayed in on this trip. The Wi-Fi worked great in the reception but our very nice room was in a dead spot and didn't work. Lovely helpful girl on the desk tried everything but to no avail. She even whistled up a microwave for our room so we could cook for ourselves[we were bored with restaurant food]. Breakfast in the morning was fine and filling but there wasn't any choice apart from the ''fry-up'' As the last overnight stop on our way back to Edmonton from Jasper it suited just fine.

Room Tip: If you need Wi-Fi check that you are not in the ''dead'' spot before accepting the r...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidpeters158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Walking Eagle is clean and welcoming, with a restaurant and liquor store attached. The wine was cold, the food was good, and the beds were comfortable. What more could you want for an overnight stay on the way to the Rockies? It was also very good value.

Room Tip: A room away from the highway is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_and_Kathy_Winc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights and it was fine for what it was. Clean, great location (on the side of highway but we had a car so easy to get everywhere and it was quiet considering). We visited the area because we went to the annual rodeo (awesome) but otherwise there is not much to do in the area so probably just a passing through place. Staff great, food acceptable and the restaurant was always busy with locals so great people watching and some real cowboys :) . Free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatfeastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well, the Inn was really worth the price. Friendliness of the staff, the complimentary breakfast were superb. Unfortunately Rocky Mountain House is not more than a stop-over. Compared to other towns closer to the mountains it has not much to offer. If not for the flood, tourists wouldn't stay in the area.

But this has nothing to do with the Inn, which is really great and we can really recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed there on the 26th of June as my regular hotel was full but think It will be my regular hotel when I'm in Rocky Mountain House. The decor might be a little dated but everything was clean and well lit. For $114 I had a separate bedroom with 2 beds, a full kitchenette (with a nice looking modern stovetop), a small dining table and a couch. A hot breakfast at Grillers was included and since a breakfast in Alberta will run you at least $10 you may as well take that off the cost of the room. Two complimentary bottles of water were on top of all that and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilbolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have always stayed at other hotels in Rocky Mountain House and had supper at the Walking Eagle. It is an older hotel but the staff is amazing and the rooms were nice and clean. We had two rooms, one was a handicapped room. When we found there was no shower chair for the handicapped room they went out right away and purchased one. They also brought a microwave into our room so we could heat up the snacks we brought. Would we stay here again? You bet. It is so hard to find customer service like that!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocky Mountain House hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocky Inn Express
Rocky Inn Express
#2 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain House Inn & Suites
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hous...
#1 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarack Motor Inn
Tamarack Motor Inn
#4 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
#6 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chinook Inn
Chinook Inn
#5 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#8 of 9 in Rocky Mountain House
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge

Address: Hwy 11 4915 - 45 St, Rocky Mountain House, Alberta T4T 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Clearwater County > Rocky Mountain House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rocky Mountain House
Price Range: $83 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge Rocky Mountain House, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing