We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Eagle may not fly but it certainly has a good walk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This Eagle may not fly but it certainly has a good walk.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

i have stayed here at least three times in the last 20 years and I am glad that the Walking Eagle has been upgraded. I also like that this is not a chain hotel, so hurray for the little guys indeed.
The quality of the restaurant was OK, I understand where we are but for the options for vegetarians was minimal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaFryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
16
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The first thing I found out about this hotel is that dogs are allowed if you pay an extra 10 dollars a night charge. Other than that, the Walking Eagle Inn is definitely good value for the money. The only real quibble I had was that the whirlpool jets in the hot tub were broken. Also, my mom loved the steam sauna. If we were in the area we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Traveling to Moose Jaw Sask. we spent a few days in Jasper and found the Walking Eagle Inn a decent & affordable place to stay, the full bacon & eggs breakfast was a bonus, will recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyBCturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good value, decent room. Great last minute service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have an excellent stay at the Walking Eagle Inn. It is no-frills but very nice. The amenities were good and the bed was very comfortable. We ate two meals in their restaurant (including a full breakfast which was included in the hotel price) and both were very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I found ourselves cutting our Rocky Mountain camping trip short due to a sudden and unexpected change in the weather. It was after midnight when we rolled into Rocky Mountain House and pulled into the parking lot of the Walking Eagle Inn. We were greeted by a polite and helpful desk clerk at that late hour. Within no time, we had ourselves our rooms at a very affordable price. The rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast the next day was a perfect way to cap off the experience. I would recommend the Walking Eagle Inn to anyone traveling hwy 11 looking for a reasonable, safe and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke2011_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We got rained out while tenting in the foothills. Stopped in at this motel with an odd layout, as the main office is located away from the units. However, very reasonable rate, large clean room, and hot breakfast served in the morning. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocky Mountain House hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain House Inn & Suites
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hous...
#1 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Inn Express
Rocky Inn Express
#2 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarack Motor Inn
Tamarack Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
#7 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chinook Inn
Chinook Inn
#5 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#7 of 8 in Rocky Mountain House
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge

Property: Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
Address: Hwy 11 4915 - 45 St, Rocky Mountain House, Alberta T4T 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Clearwater County > Rocky Mountain House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rocky Mountain House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge Rocky Mountain House, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing