We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked people, wicked breakfast, next time I'm in Rocky I'm definately staying here again!”
Review of Rocky Inn Express

Rocky Inn Express
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Inn Express
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Super nice people, great comfortable rooms! My wife forgot her wallet under the bed and they called us right away and arranged for it to be delivered back to Edmonton! Spent the same on a terrible hotel the night before then another 30 for a breakfast that wasn't nearly as good as the free one here! Highly recommend staying here if you're in RMH!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illistninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Not sure if this is still owned by Holiday Inn Express, as that sign was not on the outside of building. This is an older motel w/ numerous businesses nearby, but it was VERY clean, staff very accomodating and the best complimentary breakfast we had in 9 days "on the road". There is no elevator, so not for everyone if stairs are an issue.
Early May this was very reasonable priced(probably higher during peak season) and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

As always with the Holiday Inn Express, this establishment met our expectations as all of the Holiday Inn Expresses' that we have travelled to have been. The room was very clean. For those who are wanting a nice convenient location, just off of Hwy 11, then consider this location. This location also has a hot breakfast bar. It includes a regular continential breakfast, as well as eggs, bacon, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This hotel has everything you need (except a pool or fitness centre) and our rooms were less than $100. Rooms are pleasant and well equipped, front desk staff was helpful and friendly, complimentary hot drinks and fruit are available any time in the lobby, rooms come with hot breakfast. We didn't miss the pool - there are other family friendly attractions in RMH (there is mini golf one block from the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This property is truly the "ugly duckling" for those seeking the normal standards of Holiday Inn Express. Definitely an old roadside motel that has been brushed up but not anywhere near the usual standard issue HIE. The property is stuck on the end of a non descript strip mall, it is two stories high, with one super cramped enclosed stair case and no elevator from the lobby area. All 40 rooms are the same, 2 beds in each, with fridge, microwave and older style TV. Cleanliness and service from staff are great. However, the building itself is old, carpets galore, big thick heavy chairs in a cramped breakfast bar area. The staff working front desk are also running the laundry and keeping the breakfast bar restocked....talk about multi-tasking. They certainly earn their pay at this property. Do not expect a large welcoming lobby, no pool or waterslide, no outside play structures, no grounds to speak of. The guest rooms are on the small side and are not sound proof. Thankfully, you can run the bathroom fan all night to create the necessary white noise to drown out all the other sounds. The road leaving here up to the Columbia Ice Fields is breathtaking and well worth including in your trip. The nearby namesake National Historic Site is also worthy of a visit. Competitors have built brand new standard issue Best Western and Super 8's a kilometer down the road....these are the standard issue properties that one would expect....I really do not know why Holiday Inn Express has put their name on a property which is so far removed from what their brand represents.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREQNTTRVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel this week and I was disappointed. I have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one is not typical. It is a two story older building that looks like it has been made into a HI Express. It has been redecorated but is still an old hotel. It has all the main features but....
The lobby and breakfast area are all in one and very small. When we checked in the lobby was smoky smelling. The internet was sporadic and we had problems with the phone and the TV. My co worker was woke up by her alarm, she thought - turned it off and then it went off again, so she unplugged it. Then it went off a third time. At this point she realized she was hearing her neighbours alarm.
If I have to stay in Rocky again, I will try one of the newer hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Staff was wonderful, bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on and the breakfast was better than I ever expected - bacon, eggs, cinnamon buns and lots more. The Holiday Inn Rocky Mountain House was a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midge_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocky Mountain House hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain House Inn & Suites
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hous...
#1 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarack Motor Inn
Tamarack Motor Inn
#4 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
Canalta Rocky Mountain House
#5 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
Walking Eagle Inn & Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chinook Inn
Chinook Inn
#6 of 7 in Rocky Mountain House
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#8 of 9 in Rocky Mountain House
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Inn Express

Address: 4715 45th Street, Rocky Mountain House, Alberta T0M 1T0, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rocky Mountain House)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Clearwater County > Rocky Mountain House
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rocky Mountain House
Price Range: $64 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROCKY INN EXPRESS, Rocky Mountain House is nestled at the foot of the Canadian Rocky Mountains and serves as your gateway to scenic adventures year-round. Your entire family will enjoy staying at our hotel in Rocky Mountain House; where you can enjoy a blend of great value and a convenient location. You can spend the day boating or skiing on Crimson Lake, visit the nearby Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site, or take advantage of the many biking and hiking trails near our hotel's location in Rocky Mountain House. Smart business travellers stay with us because other Rocky Mountain House hotels can't compete with our great value and terrific location. You can stay productive with our copy, fax and print services. You'll have fast access to local businesses and Companies when you choose our Rocky Mountain House accommodation. Each morning you can enjoy our continental breakfast that includes fresh fruit, cereal, toast, bagels and more. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rocky Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Inn Express Hotel Rocky Mountain House
Holiday Inn Rocky Mountain House
Rocky Mountain House Holiday Inn
Rocky Inn Express Rocky Mountain House, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing