We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountain House - A Surprise”

Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountain House - A Surprise”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A little known and much underestimated attraction. The videos presented were extremely interesting. The only disappointment was the lack of historical remnants- just the stone chimney remains.but the trails were good, especially our walk alongside the river. There is also a 'fort' for visiting children to play in/on.around, The staff were extremely enthusiastic and helpful. Toilet facilities were excellent for all. There is a small but adequate gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great History of the Fur Trade”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was an unexpected find in a off the beaten path location such as Rocky Mountain House. Not only very informative but a great walk through the woods along the river.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good displays”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There lots of interesting information and displays but trails are nice for walking but not much historical remenants to see

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Every Canadian should visit.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Rocky Mountain House may be a little off the beaten path, but a visit there is a must for Canadians who have any interest in our history. Until our visit we hadn't appreciated the significance of Rocky; and we were very impressed with the quality detailed presentations and the eagerness of the staff to make our visit enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good thing to do if you're in the area”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is probably the only thing to do in Rocky Mountain House (proper). But definitely well done and worth the visit. Set on the banks of the (Saskatchewan?) river, the current museum is actually in between the two original sites of the fur-trading forts (you can visit the site of one of them - basically only a chimney left - by foot once you're within the grounds).

You start out in the museum (admission was CHEAP - I think $9 for us two adults - total - as our kids aged 6 and under were free) and the kids could trade furs for actual goods (bracelets) as well as see/touch all the things the First Nations' peoples actually traded for (and touch real pelts). For younger kids there are period costumes too they can try on. There are several interactive displays for kids and a few cased-in displays. There's a tipi you can sit inside.

On the grounds there is a great mini-fort the kids can climb to the look-out posts, play within the walls (there's a tire swing and climbing structure), pretend to build a fire and at 2pm there is a puppet show all about David Thompson which is VERY well done (although I thought a bit of the language was too old for my kids - it was scripted that one puppet called the other puppet at "loser"). Then you can walk to the ruins of the fort and along the river.

Absolutely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CfromV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site also viewed

Rocky Mountain House, Clearwater County
Rocky Mountain House, Clearwater County
 
Rocky Mountain House, Clearwater County
Rocky Mountain House, Clearwater County
 

Been to Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing