We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love”

Evelyn's Memory Lane Cafe
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in High River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: 1950's style diner. Daily changing menu, Hand crafted Ice Cream, Pies, Bakery, Fresh Food every Day, Vegetarian, Vegan available
Restaurant details
Description: 1950's style diner. Daily changing menu, Hand crafted Ice Cream, Pies, Bakery, Fresh Food every Day, Vegetarian, Vegan available
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What's not to love”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Evelyn's while on our vacation. We popped in for a quick lunch and had just that.
The decor is like stepping back in time, with a cute toy train set circling the top of the perimeter of the restaurant.
The menu is short and sweet, and include daily specials. My boyfriend tried the ham and cheese on white bread. I had the special; avocado, mango, chicken wrap. Together we split a strawberry milkshake. Our meals were good, simple home cooked food.


We would revisit Evelyn's in a heartbeat. Maybe to try some of their baked goods which looked absolutely delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High River
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evelyn's Memory Lane Cafe”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My 4 year old grandson loved the ice cream cone, looking at the train, car pictures and choosing 3 tunes from the booth juke box. Cinnamon bun for Nana was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fenlwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home cooking in a diner”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Daily specials, amazing desserts and homemade ice cream. Whether it be a ham and cheese sandwich on homemade bread or a quinoa salad with beets and fresh greens, the food here is delicious! This place gets very busy so get there early. Take out is very popular and there is an outdoor eating area beside the cafe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dargood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fonzie Would Approve!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I do wish I still had my poodle skirt! This is a funky, folksy place to have a nice old fashioned lunch. Like your Mother used to make! Of course we're not talking 'haute cuisine' here, we're talking a 'little town lunch'. Desserts are like Gram used to make. If you are full after a lovely lunch DO take a dessert home for after dinner. If you like bread pudding, it is divine, as are all the splendid pies. Don't miss it. If you have kids they'll be intrigued by the train that runs high above your head all around the place. Cute. Obviously hands-on and love inspired. Don't miss it if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EME57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful 50's Diner!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food is always amazing here and you can't beat the prices! Lot's of specials everyday as well as their regular menu which is fantastic. Also a wide array of desserts, including ice cream, which are very hard to resist. Then you have the wonderful decor of a 50's diner complete with a juke box. What's not to love!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evelyn's Memory Lane Cafe also viewed

High River, Alberta
High River, Alberta
 
High River, Alberta
High River, Alberta
 

Been to Evelyn's Memory Lane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing