We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcome respite!”
Review of South Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great rate. Very clean. Nice bed and piles of pillows and towels. Staff was charming and helpful. Great experience.

Upon learning the tent campground we planned to stay at in Glacier National Park was closed for grizzly activity, we tried and failed to find a reasonable room outside St. Mary or Many Glacier. All the rooms in East Glacier were also booked. We looked at a map and decided our best shot was Cardston. What a great choice! Just a short 30 or so miles away and as a bonus we got to hit a nice bakery and grocery store before heading back to Glacier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVPFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for South Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was nice and clean, quiet A/C unit, and the rooms were in good shape. The front counter staff were efficient and helpful. This is my second stay here this year and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Cardston. I would have liked the beds to have been a little bit more firm.

Room Tip: As there is little traffic through Cardston in the night, there is no real need to select a room awa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Let us check in early with no extra fee.
Gave us AAA discount; 96 dollars before tax for a room with two queens.
Clean and comfortable room.
Pool and hot tub were well maintained.
They were friendly.
Good and FAST WiFi.
Great flat screen TV and show selection.

Room Tip: After wandering around town, we ate at Athens restaurant. One of the best in town.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nicely kept facilities. Great response when I asked for more towels - there were three adults in our group, and we wanted more towels because we used the hot tub, too. The pool and hot tub were immaculately clean.

The restaurant next door (sharing the parking lot) is excellent. Right on main street.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank RoyalGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Motel is similar to the chains in layout and price. Nice, very well kept pool area right off the lobby. The entire motel and it's grounds were clean and well cared for. Queen beds are good. Room was large enough with ample space for all our "stuff". No in-room coffee but, the airpots in the lobby were always full - and hot. No breakfast either - in fact no breakfast to be found in town. We went on up the road to Ft MacLeod (not much there either).

Still, overall a decent stay. Looks like your best all around choice in Cardston. Oddly, I don't recall the price but, I know I felt that it was high for a motel with no amenities other than a pool but, I didn't leave there feeling terribly cheated either. Maybe because our hostess was so great with check in and she served as our personal Cardston concierge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were in the upgraded king room and it was a very comfortable quiet room with air conditioning, a small fridge and microwave. The staff had excellent public relations. We Would definitely recommend this place and especially this room to friends and would be a place we would stay at again if our travels took us that way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windyhilltrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel could use some refurbishing,hallway rugs worn and the rugs in our room could use a shampoo. Otherwise the room was clean, hot water for the shower, lots of towels and they were of decent quality, the hotel was quiet,lots of parking. The young gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner for the building seemed to be under stress as it was 30 degrees out,the second floor hallway was quite warm. The air conditioner cooled the room adequately but we had to turn it off at night as it was to noisy to sleep so the room did warm up. We would stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you Larry for taking the time to leave us a review. The current carpet has served us well and a plan is already in the works to replace it once this year's busy season winds down. I'm glad to hear that the A/C in your room was able to keep you cool over these last few record hot days. The A/C in the lobby, with all its big beautiful windows, has a harder time keeping up with that blazing sun. Next time you come this way, be sure to bring your swimsuit and enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardston
0.4 mi away
The Outpost Motel
The Outpost Motel
#2 of 3 in Cardston
46 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
26 reviews
24.8 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Manor
Cobblestone Manor
#2 of 3 in Cardston
13 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
108 reviews
24.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Country Inn

Address: 404 Main Street, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Price Range: $112 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Country Inn Hotel Cardston
South Country Hotel
Country Inn Cardston
Cardston Country Inn
South Country Inn Cardston, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing