We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and relaxing”
Review of South Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant and relaxing”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were in the upgraded king room and it was a very comfortable quiet room with air conditioning, a small fridge and microwave. The staff had excellent public relations. We Would definitely recommend this place and especially this room to friends and would be a place we would stay at again if our travels took us that way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windyhilltrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
21
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel could use some refurbishing,hallway rugs worn and the rugs in our room could use a shampoo. Otherwise the room was clean, hot water for the shower, lots of towels and they were of decent quality, the hotel was quiet,lots of parking. The young gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner for the building seemed to be under stress as it was 30 degrees out,the second floor hallway was quite warm. The air conditioner cooled the room adequately but we had to turn it off at night as it was to noisy to sleep so the room did warm up. We would stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you Larry for taking the time to leave us a review. The current carpet has served us well and a plan is already in the works to replace it once this year's busy season winds down. I'm glad to hear that the A/C in your room was able to keep you cool over these last few record hot days. The A/C in the lobby, with all its big beautiful windows, has a harder time keeping up with that blazing sun. Next time you come this way, be sure to bring your swimsuit and enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We would for sure stay here again if in the area. We were booked in a different hotel to start as it was cheaper but we checked out ASAP after arriving due to cleanliness.

We then came here and oh my well worth the 36 dollars more!

The hot tub was nice and hot and we enjoyed a dip in the pool.

We were able to due all of our laundry in the guest laundry!

The beds were very compfy and the restaurant next door was great food for a great price.

Only down point which the hotel could not help is the power outrage and people got a little to excited and loud in the halls!

Oh and there was no hot water in the morning for the shower. But I think that had to do with the power outrage so can't complain!

Lives out stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Kirsty, thank you so much for your positive review. This town hadn't experienced a power outage like that in a long while and I was very impressed at how well the staff and the guests handled the situation. I went out the following day and bought a bunch of little flashlights so if it ever happens again, we can provide each room with a better light source, although we are very grateful to the kind man who shared his tea candles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our one night stay at the South Country Inn went without a hitch. The pull through parking worked great for our SUV and boat trailer, there was no issue with security of the boat and trailer. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the motel quiet so had a good sleep. Going to the office at 07:00 to get hot coffee was no issue , we could have got a coffee maker in the room if we wanted. Our stay was satisfactory

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyfusher120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is as bad as some of the hostels I stayed in in Australia.

The room was very poor - there was no closet - there was a piece of wood nailed to the wall as an extra wall and hangers.

There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room. My husband went downstairs to get us a coffee - the coffee was cold and I mean cold. Only powdered creamer.

So I went back to ask for a hot cup of coffee. I asked for more hot water and she went and filled the flask. I am guessing out of the tap. She knew it would be another cold cup of coffee and didn't even care enough to fill and boil a kettle.

There was no creamer left at this point and a choice of earl grey or cinnamon tea.

This place is awful and I wouldn't stay for free.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank British A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I remember the day referred to here. Our staff kept brewing fresh coffee for the guests and they kept getting reports that it was cold. Finally we figured out that the fuse element in our coffee maker/instant hot water machine needed replacing. We had a new one installed by the following morning. Also, our diverse selection of herbal, black and green teas is quite popular and we often run out of the more exciting flavors before a new shipment arrives. As for the closets here, like many other motels, our closets don't have doors, but they are wide enough to conveniently accommodate up to 20 hangers and most luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Bad weather prevented us from getting home. Your staff (Clara and 2 others) we awesome. Loved very clean room + we had a pet and room was not smelling of chemicals + we were treated very well. Thank you. Will refer. We appreciated everything: very hot water, fridge & microwave were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much Lenna for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were in Cardston for business meetings. When we got to the room it was dusty or not vacumed. The outdated pink and green furniture had cigarette burns. I had to sit on towels and wear shoes as I was afraid of catching something. Also had to put towel in bathtub to stand on as the tub was dirty.Cardston is an LDS town so I am guessing why there are No coffee pots in the rooms??? The staff was friendly ,.... the only positive thing I can say. The one expectation I have in a hotel is cleanliness and this DID NOT fit that criteria.

Room Tip: Next time we will try the Cobblestone Manor, we discovered it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CordonQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCountryInn, General Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I have to say we were all considerably surprised by this review. We don't remember hearing about any such concerns. Thank you for praising our friendly staff, but why didn't you mention any of this to them. We take great pride in our superior cleanliness and customer service. We would have happily serviced your room or moved you to a different one. In addition to the unlimited coffee available in the lobby, all you had to do was ask and we would have gladly brought a private coffee brewer to your room. I assure you, the experience you describe is not typical for South Country Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardston
0.4 mi away
The Outpost Motel
The Outpost Motel
#2 of 3 in Cardston
36 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
23 reviews
24.7 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Manor
Cobblestone Manor
#2 of 3 in Cardston
12 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
105 reviews
37.0 mi away
Century II Motel
Century II Motel
#3 of 5 in Fort Macleod
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Country Inn

Property: South Country Inn
Address: 404 Main Street, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Country Inn Hotel Cardston
South Country Hotel
Country Inn Cardston
Cardston Country Inn
South Country Inn Cardston, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing